Google+

The Last of Us review

Astonishing
Back to Article

96 comments

  • neoghio89 - June 5, 2013 7:09 a.m.

    Looking forward to this!
  • injustice45 - June 5, 2013 7:31 a.m.

    Five Stars! Wow! This may be the Game of the Year right here!
  • BladedFalcon - June 5, 2013 7:31 a.m.

    ...Holy fuckballs! I was super excited about this game, I expected it to be fantastic, but that it's getting straight 10s across the board on the main sites I visit? that's fucking impressive! Not to mention that well, from the sound of it, it aces the most important things in a game to me: Story, Gameplay, and Atmosphere. Shit... now the wait to get it is going to be UNBEARABLE! Argh!
  • lilj805 - June 5, 2013 7:41 a.m.

    Day-one download for me!
  • taokaka - June 5, 2013 7:47 a.m.

    I was definitely going to get this but now I'm going to have to rush over to the store as soon as possible and preorder a copy.
  • Rhymenocerous - June 5, 2013 7:48 a.m.

    GREAT review. I'm genuinely excited for this game, and I haven't felt like this for quite some time. Also, does anyone else think this like a more "gamey" (I don't mean that derogatory at all) Walking Dead? Joel and Ellie's relationship is VERY similar to Lee Everett and Clementine, is it not?
  • BladedFalcon - June 5, 2013 8:02 a.m.

    Not necessarily. I mean, for one, Clem was what... 9-10 years old? Ellie is 14, and I think that DOES change the interaction with the kid a great deal. Because Clem retains more of an innocence and fright that a 14 year old would no longer have, she also is far more vulnerable, because up until the very end, Clem really wasn't capable of defending herself, understandably so. There's also the difference in context. Both Lee and Clem are survivors in a world that JUST went straight to hell. Both still are adapting and coping in their own way with the loss of the life they use to have. In contrast, Joel has been thoroughly changed after living the 20 years that have passed since hell broke loose, While Ellie seems to have grown up both accustomed BUT also sheltered from the full reality of the world around her. I can definitely see where you draw the comparison though, but if anything, Joel and Ellie's interaction kinda reminds me more of Booker and Elizabeth's in Bioshock Infinite, and even THAT is a wildly different kind of relationship on it's own.
  • Rhymenocerous - June 5, 2013 11:49 a.m.

    Ok yeah, good point(s). I haven't played Infinite yet though - waiting for it to be cheap. The Last of Us takes priority, and also I don't think the "early steep learning curve" is a bad thing either.
  • BladedFalcon - June 5, 2013 1:07 p.m.

    Yeah, I also agree that doesn't sound like a negative thing at all. But y'know, warnings to casuals and such.
  • BlueScorpion91 - June 5, 2013 7:48 a.m.

    I'm so sad that I sold my PS3(it was on it's way out) and now can't play this game. Sounds brilliant. And I must say I thought that the actual review was a great read. No spoilers or comparing it to other games, you just reviewed what was there as apposed to what should/shouldn't be there. 5 stars to you, David.
  • Vordhosbn - June 5, 2013 7:54 a.m.

    I've been ignoring this game for ages, but having read this review I guess it's time to be excited, it does sound like one hell of a game.
  • Bloodstorm - June 5, 2013 7:56 a.m.

    Why did it have to be good? Now it is going to torture me even more that I can't get it right away. Needs money! Can. Not. Wait. First $60 I get my hands on is going to this.
  • TheMcFinder - June 5, 2013 7:57 a.m.

    that was an intense review. it actually makes me want a ps3, a feeling that is completely foreign to me.
  • gilgamesh310 - June 5, 2013 8:18 a.m.

    5/5. gee, I never would have guessed that. It seems every high profile release must be given a top score. Bioshock Infinite was riddled with flaws and this likely is too. Time to wait for some unofficial reviews.
  • BlueScorpion91 - June 5, 2013 8:28 a.m.

    If you really think that way then why do you bother to visit "official"(whatever you mean by that) reviews?
  • gilgamesh310 - June 5, 2013 8:31 a.m.

    Because I used to have faith in them but at this point most really just sicken me. I haven't come here in a while. The only reviews I trust at this point are from people who aren't funded.
  • veryweirdguy - June 5, 2013 9:17 a.m.

    So...non professional reviewers. Seems smart.
  • BladedFalcon - June 5, 2013 8:32 a.m.

    And yet, Dead Space 3 didn't get a top score, Sim City Didn't get a top score, Tomb Raider didn't quite get a top score either. So your over-generalization seems a bit off. Also, official or unofficial, reviews are always the opinions of other people. And while unofficial reviews might lack the perceived "corporal bias" you see to believe professional reviews have. Unofficial ones are always much more unreliable and hyperbolic anyway. Just get the damn game and judge for yourself. It's what you always end up doing anyway :P
  • gilgamesh310 - June 5, 2013 8:39 a.m.

    It was obvious that Dead Space 3 wasn't going down well with people long before it was released so it's not surprising that journalists cater to that audience in their reviews. TLoU had people calling it the best game ever after only just seeing 5 minutes of footage in trailers. Tomb Raider got a higher score than it deserved if you ask me too. The storytelling in the game was a mess. Yes but people who aren't getting paid are likely to be more honest in what they say, as they won't feel the need to cater to any specific audience, they just say what they feel. I have been reading reviews for a very long time and over time I've come to realise this. Unnoficial ones often go into more detail and highlight the clear flaws that games might have more so than official ones. I will be getting it. That is likely the only way I'll know for myself. There's no denying that. I don't even think it will be bad but I very highly doubt it will be worthy of the top scores it's getting, just like the Uncharted series.
  • BladedFalcon - June 5, 2013 9:09 a.m.

    Yes, unofficial reviews also tend to make mountains out of molehills, and often let their own expectations and tastes give an objective view of the game. I am currently playing Tomb Raider, not yet finished, but I definitely think it's a game deserving of a 9 so far. And while the story already has shown it has some lame supernatural elements, I'm still finding it far more interesting that most games of this sort, such as uncharted or GOW. That, and the exploration elements remind of of a metroid or castlevania game, which is always fantastic in my books. Anyway, yeah, the only way we'll know for sure how good the game will be shall be by playing it. I just like that it does seem to deliver in most of what promised in the trailers. I mean, even without playing the game, I can already tell the dialog and characters are much better played out, the setting is fantastic, and the story from what we know so far already sounds way better and more interesting that anything uncharted ever strove for. But again, won't know for sure till I play it.

Showing 1-20 of 96 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Jul 29 2014 - PS4
Jun 14 2013 - PS3 (US)
Q4 2013 - PS3 (UK)
Available Platforms: PS4, PS3
Genre: Action
Published by: Sony Computer Entertainment
Developed by: Naughty Dog
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Sexual Themes, Strong Language

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.