Google+

Super Mario All-Stars review

Back to Article

36 comments

  • talleyXIV - June 18, 2012 5:42 p.m.

    I wish I could still get the limited edition. $30 for this beautiful looking collection of some of the greatest games ever made organized onto one game disc with enhanced graphics? 10/10 easily.
  • Ravenbom - February 9, 2011 10:06 p.m.

    Oh man, I'm torn but I really can't help think that it should be 800 points...
  • FFSamurai - December 19, 2010 5:09 a.m.

    You know how sometimes your staff is accused of being biased? "Truthfully, the majority of games journalists are writing today because of these games, and you could even argue they're the reason the games industry is here at all. That's up for debate, but the point is these games are immortal, even if they're kinda-sorta not as fun as they once were." That statement where you judge a game based on its predecessors' history rather than its own merits and enjoyability would be why. Oh, and just to clarify for all you people new to Mario's past games, this "Limited Edition" is a Wii re-release of an SNES re-make of the NES games he mentioned and not the original titles themselves so that statement just doesn't work.
  • Supernintendosixtyfourcubedswii - December 15, 2010 12:09 a.m.

    Probably my favorite mario game right behind super mario world. I have fond memories of getting this way back in the day and i cant wait to play it again. despite still owning the SNES original now i dont have to hook up my snes. oh and for those that call it a rip off ill tell you what a REAL rip off is... namco releasing the ORIGINAL pacman on i devices for $5.00
  • therawski - December 13, 2010 8:31 p.m.

    @MrDuracraft It's like everyone else is saying, it's just a snes rom on a dvd (graphics are not changed, about 6mb large), True it has a music cd and booklet, but SERIOUSLY???!!! even someone said Mario deserves better than this! You can extract music from rom files, you can print out your own booklet and burn your own cd for MORE FUN, you could buy a NEW game for the price! IT'S MISSING SO MANY MARIO GAMES!!!! They didn't even put Mario Kart like they got drunk and forgot about everything. Nintendo needs to change their business model soon, we can't let them think this is ok.
  • JohanLiebert - December 13, 2010 10:20 a.m.

    I don't want to downplay the collector's value of this allegedly great package, but I can't really see why this is not a 10-dollar Wii VC download. When I see Nintendo going to all the trouble of releasing Super Mario All-Stars in an age of "New Super Mario Bros" games, and on a system which seeks to always be re-defining this or that, I would have loved to see a "New Super Mario All-Stars" which might include Mario 64, Mario Sunshine, Luigi's Mansion, or whatever more recent Mario games might fit the bill. Then again, this has nothing to do with me, since I sold my Wii years ago.
  • CH3BURASHKA - December 13, 2010 6:21 a.m.

    Cool or not, the fact that it's completely unchanged from its 17-year-old counterpart is INCREDIBLY lame, almost making the score invalid (at least for me). Even though I've never been a proprietor of the original "All Stars", it still feels dirty that they basically found a long-lost ROM and said, "Let's put this out for nothing and rake in the cash". The fact that the pack-ins are lame as well isn't much of an incentive.
  • NightCrawler_358 - December 13, 2010 3:46 a.m.

    I was skeptical but great review! really changed my perspective. The soundtrack really makes it all worth it. Of course, you can always play them on, ummm, rhymes with shmemulator, so for some it seems a waste of money.
  • thedonut - December 12, 2010 4:38 p.m.

    Hmm this compilation could atleast have some unlockable extras and what not. Maybe even a "museum" mode.
  • super0sonic - December 12, 2010 7:46 a.m.

    I will be buying this but fucking hell no Super Mario World? I mean i own it on SNES and GBA and even Wii already but i need to buy it MORE.
  • Lionzest7 - December 12, 2010 3:11 a.m.

    Sounds like a waste of money. The same games I played several times through and can fire up the snes and play this off the bat. This doesn't include yoshi's island or super mario world? What a gyp
  • Spybreak8 - December 12, 2010 1:34 a.m.

    The only advantage here is that the price will drop over time unlike a digital copy. However I've already played and loved all of these games like I think 10 years ago.
  • kangaroocory - December 11, 2010 11:07 p.m.

    for the same price i could get a used snes and nes plus those four games and more so......no, thanks.
  • talleyXIV - June 18, 2012 5:44 p.m.

    You could not. At all. Look up the prices you dummy. An NES alone would cost $30 or more. A SNES would cost $40 or more. Every single one of these game would be over $15. This shit is not still being produced so it is actually quite expensive. You are really dumb.
  • SausageLozenge - December 11, 2010 8:48 p.m.

    I still own my NES originals and All stars w/Super Mario World for my SNES, but I'm still getting this for the book and soundtrack. This purchase will push me to the 1000 Nintendo Club points needed to buy the 2nd game & watch collection for the DS. : )
  • Redeater - December 11, 2010 1:37 p.m.

    Christ I wish I could stop buying these re-released Mario games.I have all the GBA versions as well as the wii ones. Not to mention I just bought Snes All Stars and even the original Nes cartridges. So do I really need this game?........Sadly yes.
  • veryweirdguy - December 11, 2010 10:16 a.m.

    Got this last week. Totally worth it! I'd never played the All-stars versions, so this is very nice for me. Great review!
  • slowdrum13 - December 11, 2010 7:59 a.m.

    30 bucks?! that's such a rip off! i'll pay 8 dollars, the same as all the rest of the snes games on virtual console. no thanks, i'll pass.
  • marioman50 - December 11, 2010 6:53 a.m.

    Word, No Mario World or Yoshi's Island or Mario Kart or Mario Paint or updated graphical style options (similar to PAC-MAN DX)? This is just a SNES ROM copied onto a Wii Disc. Fucking love Mario, and he deserves better than this!
  • brickman409 - December 11, 2010 6:06 a.m.

    meh, i think i might pass on this one. already got these games on nes, kinda wish this came with new super mario bros wii instead

Showing 1-20 of 36 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Dec 12 2010 - Wii (US)
Dec 02 2010 - Wii (UK)
Available Platforms: Wii, SNES
Genre: Other Games/Compilations
Published by: Nintendo
Developed by: Nintendo
Franchise: Mario