Google+

Spore review

Back to Article

64 comments

  • EricBratcher - September 9, 2008 11:16 p.m.

    Actually, I'd personally bet my boss' paycheck (he makes more than me, you see) that they'll patch away that restriction later on, once sales have cooled a bit. Your point is well made, though. The heavy-handed DRM is worth a mention, certainly. And I'm glad you were here to make that mention. Thanks for contributing! Seriously, we're so glad to have comments on the site - I can't even tell you how cool it is.
  • GamesRadarJoeMcNeilly - September 9, 2008 3:42 p.m.

    The Sims made the jump to consoles... just sayin'...
  • GamesRadarTylerWilde - September 9, 2008 2:49 p.m.

    Lordkemo, I assure you that our editorial is never influenced by advertisers. Watch this: EA SUCKS! BOOO!
  • a9bejo - September 8, 2008 6:58 p.m.

    And again, no mention of the DRM system. Masses of people who pay for this game will think they just bought another software license. No a word of the "you only buy 3 activations." thing, and what this actually means for customers. I think EA has the right to release their games in any way they like. But it is very disappointing that this review does not include any information about what you (don't) get for your money. Some people install games only once or twice, and then they forget about it. Others will be shocked to find out that they may not be able to play Spore for many years. I'm not saying that Spore is a bad game. But I am very disappointed that PC Gamer does not mention such important information in the review. It is very important information if you consider buying this game. (PS: And yes, I know that you may pay for a call to EA support and they will maybe reset your activation count for another 3 installs. But you have no right to get this reset, it is really only a accommodation that they can reject whenever they feel like it) http://www.amazon.com/review/product/B000FKBCX4/ref=dp_top_cm_cr_acr_txt?_encoding=UTF8&showViewpoints=1 http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Spore_(2008_video_game)#Digital_rights_management http://consumerist.com/tag/mass-effect-DRM/?i=5016980&t=ea-allows-3-activations-of-mass-effect-and-thats-it-period
  • SwiftRanger - September 7, 2008 8:31 a.m.

    "Standard interface features like control groups are completely absent" Sorry Dan, but that feature IS present in the Civ stage (not in the Tribal stage though). Spore deserves to be played of course but it also deserves to be patched and improved upon as well.
  • AmniPata - September 7, 2008 5:39 a.m.

    Yes I have to play this game..Wheres my Free copy =) www.amnipata.com
  • augusted - September 6, 2008 6:40 p.m.

    i noticed quite a few people talking about how their pc's suck which forces the question: what are the system requirments for this game? did i miss that info somewhere?
  • crazyqazqaz - September 6, 2008 1:47 p.m.

    Woah!! Spore looks incredible!! I didn't care for what Dan said at the end though. It's obviously not trying to be a hardcore RTS game, it's just not meant to play like that. Like Kristen said, you're just meant to play.
  • Smeggs - September 6, 2008 12:23 a.m.

    Well since my computer is balls and it isn't for XBox 360 I'm sure I'll never actually be able to play it. Because the DS version probably sucks.
  • darkmagshin - September 5, 2008 10:13 a.m.

    looks pretty good. i hope this is a big success.
  • jackf-11 - September 5, 2008 1:40 a.m.

    Sorry it didnt show up till i posted again. Sorry about the triple post.
  • jackf-11 - September 5, 2008 1:37 a.m.

    oh yeah, my computers such a piece, it wont onlylent me not play the creature creator, it just broke down, im using sombody elses
  • purpleshirt - September 5, 2008 12:05 a.m.

    i completely agree holy driver my computer is a flyig peice of shit but i think this game is too massive to run on annything but a pc it would be sick to play on a 360 though
  • hun23 - September 4, 2008 7 p.m.

    Gah. I need to wait for Sunday to get it. So close to my birthday... Anyways, nice review and it is good to see some of the community people posting on this (z-man)
  • viney218 - September 4, 2008 6:31 p.m.

    holy cow batman this luks awsum. but remember kids reading is fun and educational 2
  • lewis42025 - September 4, 2008 3:38 p.m.

    well, i enjoyed the review, and i can honestly say that i still want spore as much as i thought i would. sounds like a very fun game, that has mountains of creativity, that doesnt suck your life away
  • GamesRadarJoeMcNeilly - September 4, 2008 3:33 p.m.

    I finally have some time set aside to play Spore today - can't wait!!!
  • TheWebSwinger - September 4, 2008 8:45 a.m.

    Hm...between this and IGN I just don't see it getting game of the year anywhere else.
  • oreomonkey - July 24, 2009 3:53 a.m.

    When I first starting reading this I thought it was a DS review, then I saw it was PC and I was like NOOOOOOOOOOOOOO
  • lubermanl - January 20, 2009 6:47 a.m.

    I was disappointed by the game, that said i also grew tired of the sims quite quickly. The game offers little/no real challenge, the strategy is simple and straightforward, even automatic. The differences are mostly cosmetic between creatures. If you are expecting a strategy game you will be disappointed. That said, i can see the appeal in its simple interface and the ability to create unique creatures. I think it will appeal to the same people as the sims. Its really about the creating + playing with the creation. The "strategy" elements are for the most part like the sims - very straightforward, simple.

Showing 41-60 of 64 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Sep 07 2008 - DS (US)
Available Platforms: PC, Xbox, PSP, DS, PS2, Xbox 360, PS3, Wii
Genre: Strategy
Published by: EA GAMES, Electronic Arts
Developed by: Maxis
ESRB Rating:
Everyone 10+: Animated Blood, Comic Mischief, Fantasy Violence
PEGI Rating:
Rating Pending