Google+

Spec Ops: The Line review

Great
Back to Article

32 comments

  • aberkromby - June 26, 2012 9:12 a.m.

    I don't like the score being on the sidebar... I'll get used to the location eventually, but I initally overlooked it because it was grouped with the advertisements. Other than that, the new layout is great.
  • ObliqueZombie - June 26, 2012 9:07 a.m.

    Personally, I liked the floaty gunplay. Not sure why. But hearing about how well the story did and how true the psychological decisions rang, I'm very excited to get into this. That as the whole reason I wanted to play it in the first place, and to read about it scoring so well in that department makes it all the better. Oh yeah, the new layout looks pretty slick. But I'm not sure how well I like the score being near the top, but if people don't know that reading a review it better than seeing a score, let them be in the dark.
  • taokaka - June 26, 2012 6:33 a.m.

    I don't like the new format and here's why -It reminds me of G4TV's review layout (kind of) -It encourages people to not read the review -It spoils the review, seriously I don't have to worry about spoilers for the game but I have to worry about spoiling the review -Change for the sake of change, seriously do we need to change /10 to /5 but now with halves. -What the hell is this editors choice award, do I really need to be told by a little tick on top of the review and the score that a game is good But other than that it's good to see the game do well, I'll have to pick it up when I'm not busy with Gravity Rush.
  • ParagonT - June 26, 2012 8:11 a.m.

    I can see how the scores being on top encourages people to not read the whole thing, thus is sure to make comments more uninformed. I frankly do not like it, it's not horrible, but It probably could have been improved. I think a readers/site visitor vote would be a good way to run these things by everyone. More people, equals more observations of problems and strengths.
  • rainn'sgaydar - June 26, 2012 6:03 a.m.

    So, 4 out of 5 stars means 8 out of 10, which means it sucks. (joke) Thanks for the review, Coop!
  • inkyspot - June 26, 2012 6 a.m.

    Liking the new format. I am glad to see this reviewed well. I will pick it up maybe next month or so.
  • BladedFalcon - June 26, 2012 5:29 a.m.

    Well, all I hoped and wanted from this game was to deliver the different, harsh story they promised form the get go, and since they delivered, that's all it takes for me to get this game now. And really, I'm not surprised about the game's other shortcomings at all, this game HAS been left in the oven for too long. I remember being astonished by the graphics back when the first trailer was revealed, but it's also obvious that they never worked on the graphics since then. And the mechanics never looked as tight as other shooters. Still, glad to know that it's still pretty solid for most of the time, and that level design is well done ^^
  • RonnyLive19881 - June 26, 2012 11:27 a.m.

    I'll probably be picking this up later! This title fell outta no where for me Lol
  • SiPod - June 26, 2012 5:20 a.m.

    I'm glad this seems to be living up to expectations. I'd been looking forward to this for a while. On a separate note, loving the new template. Great stuff.
  • Redeater - June 26, 2012 5:19 a.m.

    Good lord this new format is weird. It's like I've taken a trip back in time and picked up a copy of Gamepro!
  • Redeater - June 26, 2012 5:21 a.m.

    Have you guys gotten rid of the "is it better than" or is it just not applicable to this review?
  • potpan0 - June 26, 2012 5:35 a.m.

    I think that's only in Super Reviews, or in games where it is more appliable (like Super Mario Galaxy 2, where you can compare in with SMG1, and other platformers).

Showing 21-32 of 32 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Jun 26 2012 - Xbox 360, PC, PS3 (US)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PC, PS3
Genre: Action
Published by: 2K Games
Developed by: Yager
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Strong Language

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.