Google+

Sonic Lost World review

Back to Article

30 comments

  • duffer00 - October 18, 2013 7 a.m.

    I was looking forward to this and then I saw other sites' review scores but this has given me hope.
  • BottleBank - October 18, 2013 2:43 a.m.

    I'll need to wait and see scores from certain other sites first. No offence meant Justin, but knowing that you're such a huge Sonic fan colours my trust of the review slightly. Still, great review, i hope it's a great game.
  • Swedish_Chef - October 18, 2013 4:23 a.m.

    It's probably not going to help you much, so far the divisiveness in critics opinions of the game is even larger than Beyond Two Souls.
  • BladedFalcon - October 18, 2013 8:30 a.m.

    I wouldn't say it's divisive considering the only two outlets of note that gave it anything bigger than a 7 is this review and Sterling's. The rest of the sites worth of note have given it scores below 6. And seeing how both Towell and Sterling are well known Sonic fans and apologists. I'd raise my eyebrows at their scores as well. Overall, the general concensus is that the game is mediocre, ending once again, another almost clockwork-perfect Sonic cycle. I can't wait people to start chanting "oh this looks amazing! this will really be great!" in 9 months, only to have this happen again.
  • shawksta - October 18, 2013 9:23 a.m.

    Jim is an odd one isn't he, aside from his "Jimquisitions" which usually goes to the point of things and situations, his reviews barely do the same sometimes. His 7.5 review points out that the game could've been better had it set itself more but it didn't and completed the utter cycle, but has some enjoyment for those who'll try it's style. I'm pointing this out because usually Jim's reviews are infamously exaggerated. From the infamous "MW3 9.5 yet MK7 5.0" shenanigans, his balant barely tried review of Kid Icarus Uprising and hell, even his exaggerated review of Return to Dreamland, which I did like a lot, but a full perfect 10 is too much by Jim. He's a spinning wrecking ball and it seems to fall in the middle right now. It's probably as you said, him being a Sonic fan and all.
  • BladedFalcon - October 18, 2013 10:03 a.m.

    Yep, pretty sure that if this same game had had the name "Mario" attached to it, it would have gotten a 5 or a 4 instead :P
  • shawksta - October 18, 2013 12:01 p.m.

    Yep pretty much. It's something I have noticed with all the reviews of Lost World, they all mention Mario Galaxy, and some reviews are giving it a negative for even mimicking the style. :P
  • san0ake - October 18, 2013 1:33 a.m.

    Nice review Justin. It was nice to see you were in charge of this article.
  • g1rldraco7 - October 18, 2013 1:29 a.m.

    Hmmm I didn't think it would copy Mario, but I wish they would done the first level much different it being a redo of the Green Hill Zone level.
  • GR_JustinTowell - October 18, 2013 2:10 a.m.

    They can't really win. Long-term fans want Green Hill, deliberate platforming and badniks, younger fans or newcomers to the series want Unleashed's more naturalistic HD visuals blazing by at Mach 5. I think the Green Hill vibe is great here and prefer the old-school art style. Like I say, they can't please everyone but I think they've done a good job here.

Showing 21-30 of 30 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Oct 29 2013 - Wii U (US)
Available Platforms: Wii U
Genre: Adventure
ESRB Rating:
Everyone 10+: Mild Cartoon Violence

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.