Google+

Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City review

AT A GLANCE
  • The variety of class skills
  • Laughing at your idiotic AI squadmates
  • Finishing it and never playing again
  • The cover system
  • Trying to revive someone but picking up a weapon instead
  • Yourself for buying this game

When news of Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City trickled out, gamers were justifiably excited. After all, who wouldn't want to play a four player, class-based co-op shooter set in the much-beloved Resident Evil universe? The potential for something special was present from the start, and many figured it would be akin to Left 4 Dead for the BioHazard set. Sadly, this isn’t the case. Not only is Raccoon City not in the same league as Left 4 Dead, it’s not even a decent Resident Evil game.

Both the single- and multiplayer elements of Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City takes place in (you guessed it) Raccoon City, the burg in which the series' famed virus was first unleashed on the world all those years ago. Mirroring many of the events in Resident Evil 2, the campaign follows the exploits of the nefarious Umbrella Corporation's special ops team, sent in to clean up the mess created by the company's scientists by whatever means necessary (hint: it involves lots of guns). While the game includes plenty of knowing nods to Resident Evil fans and a number of cameos by some familiar faces, the narrative ultimately falls flat due to some confusing "twists" and one of the most absurdly unexplained endings in recent memory. If you don't end up asking yourself what just happened at the end of the campaign's seventh and final mission, it might be because you're too busy asking why it happened at all.

Raccoon City’s narrative misses the mark on a number of levels, not the least of which is the fact that it never gives the player any reason to become even remotely invested emotionally. Your character and your squad are downright unlikeable, especially when trying to kill the heroes that we all know and love. It’s odd that the developers didn’t include an alternate campaign in which players could control the survivors, as a four-player co-op “remake” of Resident Evil 2 would have been a lot more enjoyable than the game’s core campaign.

Rather than put the player in the boots of a single character throughout the story, the developers decided to embrace the co-op aspect right off the bat, encouraging experimentation by allowing players to switch between character classes before each mission. Most of the classes you've come to expect in a modern-day shooter are represented here, including Assault, Medic, and Recon, each with his or her own uniques skills and weapons. Some of these (like improved body armor and faster reload speed) are passive, while abilities like flaming bullets and temporarily unlimited ammo can be activated after a particular amount of time passes. 

It’s a solid enough system, keeping the action as interesting as you’d like, though we found ourselves focusing mainly on upgrading our Assault and Medic classes out of personal preference. However, Raccoon City’s hop-in/hop-out cooperative play penalizes those players that don’t create a well-rounded group of soldiers, as it’s not uncommon to jump into a game only to find that the class you spent all that time maxing out has already been taken by another player. Yes, your team is limited to one of each character class, so all the XP you spent creating a powerful Assault character means nothing if another player picked that class first.The game was presumably designed this way to encourage players not to rely on a single class, but it ultimately feels like a penalty.

More Info

Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PS3, PC
Genre: Action
Published by: Capcom
Developed by: Slant Six
Franchise: Resident Evil
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Strong Language

47 comments

  • Zeos - July 28, 2012 7:38 p.m.

    I just got this game for fifteen dollars at Best Buy and I am having a pretty good time with it! It helps I'm a big Resident Evil fan too though.
  • viegasn - April 21, 2012 3:58 a.m.

    I hate this game. It doesen't should be call RE.
  • Max's payne pill - March 25, 2012 11:46 a.m.

    this game deserved at least a 6 i borrowed it from my brother and yes its not the best but i dont believe its anywhere near a 3 COD deserves a fucking 3 its the same shit game every year. they tried something new and didnt exactly hit it but i still had fun playing through it. but whoever wrote this story was on a different planet during that process kill em all
  • g4m3rk1dd - March 21, 2012 10:38 p.m.

    but the trailer looked SO DAMN GOOD D:
  • vortigauntSKUL - March 25, 2012 9:18 p.m.

    Seriously...I wished this game to be good since that trailer was amazing.
  • lilj805 - March 21, 2012 10:21 a.m.

    dont listen to Philber, i rented the game and it's as bad as the review says
  • jackthemenace - March 23, 2012 10:04 a.m.

    If I do anything, it'll be rent it. Which is a shame, because I'd been so excited about this, and it looked amazing. This has brought me down quite a bit D:
  • Philber - March 21, 2012 9:38 a.m.

    Don't listen to the review - I've bought the game and it's actually FUN. Yeah, it's no Battlefield or Call of Duty or Skyrim, but it's still an enjoyable game. SOME of the issues mentioned here are problematic, but overall bearable. **The reviews for this game are SO LOW because everyone is Butthurt that this is a change from their regular Resident Evil. It plays differently so people immediately get defensive and call it "A Bastardization of the series" and focus so much on that other than the GAME itself. This game deserves a 7/10 at LEAST. 3/10 implies a game that is downright broken and frustrating. That's not the case. Watch gameplay videos - if it looks interesting to YOU, then BUY IT! (Or at least rent it and give it a chance). Typically I take GR's reviews seriously and trust them completely... But I went against their word and bought the game and I'm glad I did. If you're looking for typical Resident Evil, no, this isn't it. It's only the same in title and setting. Other than that, it's a different (and FUN) game of it's own.
  • CoruptAI125 - March 21, 2012 3 a.m.

    While most of these points are solid, I disagree with the overall opinion here. The game is not bad, just sort of mediocre. The cover system isn't that bad and the shooting is a little janky but not to the point of frustration. The multiplayer is actually extremely fun, but not with random people. I know it's standard in most games that multiplayer is more fun with friends, but here it's a necessity. If you can get together with some competent friends, the multiplayer can be really rewarding, and getting your whole team on the helicopter is one of the most fun things I've ever done in a multiplayer game. It's mostly the little things that bring the game down. Bleeding isn't very reliable, when you turn into a zombie your teammate can just kill you and revive you instantly, jerky animations, picking up items is unreliable, and the fact that you can't exit out of matchmaking without breaking up your party is especially annoying. Still, the game has something to offer if you can get together with friends and enjoy a good, tense multiplayer experience.
  • komadose - March 21, 2012 1:57 a.m.

    it's awesome that shit like this gets shot down properly, so that those greedy publishers would understand that the plain IP is not enough.
  • jande135 - March 21, 2012 1:18 a.m.

    I totally said this game was going to be complete shit last year when there were still forums on the site. Everyone doubted me, but I'm always right. Suck it Felix
  • FaceEater - March 21, 2012 4:24 a.m.

    Take it easy. You're gonna hurt your arm patting yourself on the back like that.
  • pr0tostar - March 20, 2012 10:59 p.m.

    The Chronicles games on Wii really gave me hope that Capcom had gotten it's Sh*t straight with alternative Biohazard games... Looks like I'll be playing more MvC3 to get any sort of Biohazard team-play >_>
  • R-ape - March 20, 2012 9:56 p.m.

    I guess I'll have to look to Revelations and RE:6 if I want to be able to simultaneously shoot guns and walk. Or Dead Space. Anyway, sad to see this tank.
  • Viron - March 21, 2012 4:49 a.m.

    Wat? Are you implying you can't walk and shoot? Because I'm pretty sure you can.
  • JollyCrisp - March 21, 2012 6:39 a.m.

    R-ape is saying that he is not buying this piece of crap, so he must look to other games to get his survival horror/shooting zombie fix.
  • TheIronMaiden - March 20, 2012 7:09 p.m.

    Well I guess or hope they're putting all of their resources into RE 6. That one better not such like this one did. What a let down.
  • rob619 - March 20, 2012 5:53 p.m.

    I was sooo looking forward to an action version of resident evil but due to this and various other bad reviews all over the place. Got to give this a miss! I can see people buying it just because of the resident evil name, if that is the case get resident evil revelations 3D its basically resident evil 6, great story and online 2 player co-op action :)
  • Cyberninja - March 20, 2012 4:07 p.m.

    Brett you have failed us greatly
  • RareHero - March 20, 2012 5:10 p.m.

    If you're reading this, we still love you Brett.

Showing 1-20 of 47 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000