Google+

Resident Evil Archives: Resident Evil review

AT A GLANCE
  • Refined version of awesome original
  • Wii controls!
  • Still scary
  • Nothing new over GameCube version
  • Wii controls actually suck
  • Won't convert the unconverted

Nintendo are loving re-releasing games at the moment. So it doesn’t exactly come as a surprise to see a re-released re-release of Resident Evil. The original PSone game was remade for GameCube with swankier graphics and new areas, items and creatures and now that game has been remade for Wii with not very much new at all.

It’s the same game just with Wii controls. And those controls don’t enhance the experience at all. Resident Evil is an absolute chore to control at times using the Wii although, provided you’re not an action game fanatic, you’ll grow to love how their unwieldiness helps build your adrenaline when a zombie approaches. It’s always been a great game and nothing’s changed. Got the GameCube version? You won’t need this.

Jun 23, 2009

More Info

Release date: Jun 23 2009 - Wii (US)
Jun 23 2009 - Wii (UK)
Available Platforms: Wii
Genre: Action
Published by: Capcom
Developed by: Capcom
Franchise: Resident Evil
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Violence
PEGI Rating:
18+

10 comments

  • Elgareth - September 12, 2009 9:10 p.m.

    It is interesting that a pro is the wii controls and that a con is the wii controls. :-) I agree with you guys, it is a shame that the review is more like a summary than an actual review, a little bit more in depth would have been nice, especially for us who consider purchasing the game.
  • BastianBond - July 3, 2009 6:56 p.m.

    good review, i'll take it into account!
  • Conman93 - June 24, 2009 9:42 a.m.

    I haven't played the gamecube version OR the ps1 version so I will definetly be picking this up
  • thochaos - June 26, 2009 8:12 a.m.

    What are the new Wii controls? Is it just the same thing mapped to the remote and nunchuk or something else?
  • Defguru7777 - June 24, 2009 8:55 p.m.

    You guys could try fleshing out the reviews a bit more. Stop putting all your effort into Super Reviews. The reviews for this, Overlord: Dark Legend, and Overlord Minions didn't help me at all. While I care about Resident Evil's story, the crappy gameplay of the originals is enough to keep me away.
  • fionnoh - June 24, 2009 2:10 p.m.

    there's a lot of these two paragraph reviews popping up from gamesmaster uk, not a big fan...
  • someformofmike - June 24, 2009 12:44 p.m.

    127 words! That's not a review it's a summary! I don't like to critise reviews when the final score or opinion of the reviewer differs from my own, but the quality of the review is a different matter! my year 7 homework was more extensive then this! how long did it take to write? 5 minutes at most!
  • Ezekiel17 - June 24, 2009 8:08 a.m.

    I'm gonna repost what I said earlier: The only reason I can think that RE is getting whored out is because the Wii didn't get RE5 (and honestly, even if it did, it wouldn't have been NEARLY as good).
  • smallberry - June 24, 2009 6:07 a.m.

    Come one guys...you could have gone into a bit more detail with this review. Maybe explain the franchise origins a little bit. That's 2 paragraphs. RC: Vanderbuilts member
  • Lavos - June 23, 2009 11:47 p.m.

    Bah, resident evil has always sucked, Why would a re-remake change that?

Showing 1-10 of 10 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000