Google+

Rayman Legends PS4/Xbox One review

Excellent
Back to Article

49 comments

  • BladedFalcon - August 26, 2013 4:22 p.m.

    As someone who feel completely in love with Origins, it's been quite a ride to see the development of this game. At first I was so ecstatic that it did well enough to get a sequel, that I wasn't even THAT mad that it was only a Wii U Exclusive. Or course, later I became even happier when it was announced that it was going to be coming out for other consoles. THEN I started to worry about the game maybe not living up to Origins, or merely shadowing it. So it's super awesome to hear that this is NOT at all the case! ^^ Can't wait to get my hands on it!
  • RonF - August 28, 2013 12:54 p.m.

    These video reviews with two journalists are pretty cool. I hope Gamesradar will stick with this format. Great job, guys! Regarding the game, I have already decided to buy it since 2012's E3. Still, it is good to know it will probably match my expectatives
  • Rub3z - August 29, 2013 8:05 p.m.

    I don't think Murphy will be a problem for me and my Wii U because Rayman Origins was one of the only games that I could get my brother to play with me 'cause it was so goddamned fun.
  • anne-jan-de-jong - August 30, 2013 2:42 p.m.

    I totally agree about what they say in the review. I played origins on ps3 and bought legends for Wii-U, but i am disappointed by the murphy levels that you have to control murphy with the Wii-U gamepad. There is also no option to play it on your own with another controller then the gamepad. Selling my Wii-U version and going to buy the PS3 version.
  • jrob23 - February 19, 2014 noon

    too hard for you huh?
  • supaMcnugget - October 5, 2013 2:06 p.m.

    I've played this game on both the Wii U and the PS3 (the former as a demo at Gamestop, the latter from Gamefly). I have to say that the Wii U version is more creative with its use of the Gamepad, but the PS3's use of the O button is much more practical and convenient.
  • Jackonomics2.0 - February 18, 2014 9:28 a.m.

    Fun fact: despite the bullshit that Ubisoft pulled that should've gotten Nintendo fans mad enough to just not buy the game, the Wii U version still sold more than the other versions combined, wonder if next gen versions will change it at all. Wonder if the same situation will happen with Ubisoft delaying Watch Dogs, I doubt it heavily. Also we are just getting ports nowadays for next gen eh? I know there's more to come but current gen still has more shit to get than Next by far.
  • rainn'sgaydar - February 18, 2014 9:40 a.m.

    So. Many. Reviews. I love it! I really didn't think if spring for this, but now that I think about it, getting to play those Murfy levels as not Murfy might be worth it...when it's $20 in two months.
  • shawksta - February 18, 2014 10:51 a.m.

    Great. Me and brother though already plan on playing the Wii U version specifically since it was what we hyped in the first place, we havent gotten to it since our backlog is big and we havent really gotten the game yet due to our spending to get a Wii U and Xbone. Getting a Wii U late gets you access to a bigger library and especially backwards compatible with Wii games.
  • BladedFalcon - February 18, 2014 10:56 a.m.

    Yeah, having now played trough the entire game on PS3, I can say that Murphy gets too damn much in the way, even as a button press, is an unwelcome distraction in a game that's all about precision and fast reflexes. I can only imagine he's even more obnoxious to use in the Wii U version if that means you actually HAVE to swipe him around while controlling your main character at the same time. Actually, I'd go as far as to say that this game is worse off having been initially thought off as a Wii U exclusive, because the only reason Murphy exists is to shoehorn gamepad gameplay into the mix... And again, for this kind of game, it fucking SUCKS that you have to do it. The same exact game without the Murphy shit would have been much more enjoyable and true to the genre.
  • Arobadope - February 18, 2014 1:52 p.m.

    Really just sounds like you hate the Wii U lolol
  • BladedFalcon - February 18, 2014 2:17 p.m.

    I've never disguised the fact that i don't like the console, but I don't automatically hate all that comes out for it. And in this case, I'm just stating it as it is, ask anyone that's savvy on the genre, and they will tell you that most platformers (specially those focused on challenge.) are twitch reflex based. Just by that simple logic, adding an element that forces you to stop and do an action outside of controlling your character makes it counter-intuitive to what the game is supposed to be played as. Nowhere is this more evident than the fact that the truly hard or challenging stages have Murphy nowhere to be seen, why? because he gets in the fucking way. So seriously, this case doesn't really have to do at all with my dislike of the Wii U, the developers themselves indirectly acknowledged it was a bad idea by incorporating the touch control elements on stages in which you could afford to stop to do an action. If this game had been developed initially for the Vita touch-pad, I'd hate it and blame the Vita just as much, because it's simply a stupid idea that doesn't fit at all with the philosophy of the game.
  • Vonter - February 18, 2014 5:37 p.m.

    Yeah can't argue with that. They might be more fun in multiplayer. In single player they felt like escort missions. The only exception is the Murphy challenge because like some IOS games it requires fast paced action and reaction. At least I had fun in that specific mode.
  • Arobadope - February 19, 2014 5:22 a.m.

    Twitch based reflex? What? Sure, Platformers can be separated into two schools of thought, precise jumping (Mario) or the twitch-based style you speak of (Sonic), but to say most twitch based is....hilarious. especially considering Rayman made a name for itself has being a hard platformer because of its precise jumps, not twitch based gameplay (there is even a jump in the first rayman that is pixel perfect). So Rayman has never been about twitch based gameplay. As for the actual murphy levels that's your own issue, but considering you take time to just bash the Wii U it's really just hilarious and childish. Also, if they recognized it was so bad why did they also put it in the Vita version of the game (which was devved at the same time as the console ones)? By your logic if they knew it was bad they wouldn't have put it on the Vita as well. Sorry, but I think you'd bash the Wii U even if it was put on the vita first.
  • BladedFalcon - February 19, 2014 5:44 a.m.

    Uh... you've never even played Rayman Origins or Legends, have you. If you had, you'd understand that they aren't really like previous Rayman games, and that often, both of these games have stages and sections that demand precision AND good reflexes as you have to be constantly moving and avoiding stuff quickly without catching a break. Treasure chase levels are ALL about twitch based reflexes. Dude, It's not my own issue only, look above, even Vonter and Shawksta, two people that own and like the Wii U, acknowledge that Murfy kidna sucks, or is problematic in single player at best. A lot of reviewers complained about it as well, so this really isn't a problem I have, and it's not something I'm complaining about just because it happened on the Wii U first. Also, why are you calling me childish if you're the one that's making baseless accusations? I may not like the Wii U, but I really don't look any excuse I can to bash it, if I did, why would I have praised it when it did get good games like Super Mario 3D World, or the fact taht I often also criticize Sony and pretty much anyone I feel deserves it? Just because you pay attention to me when I call out the system for doing something shitty, doesn't mean that's all I do, you know :P Lastly... Dude, seriously? They put those sections in the Vita as well because they were already completed, and regardless of quality, it's more showy to say that your system can do it than not. But again, IF you had played the game, you'd understand what I'm talking about considering the murfy stages make about... less that 15% of the game total. If he was such a good feature an idea, why is he used in such a small portion of stages, hm?
  • Arobadope - February 23, 2014 8:38 a.m.

    If the murphy stages were that bad of an idea as you try to make it out to be, they could have just removed them said it was a bad idea and called it a day. Also, you're assuming I haven't played the game, that's cute, I can assume you just started gaming yesterday and that would explain basically everything you say. I used the old rayman games as an example of platformers that weren't about non-twitch based game, it has only been recently that rayman has shifted that way, so yes my statement stands Rayman has never been about twitch based gameplay, though I should through the caveat in there of "until recently", which is an error in clarification on my part. Statement as a whole still stands and changes nothing. Also more reviewers complained about the murphy levels in the 360 and ps3 versions than the Wii U/Vita ones (many actually said they felt they were better on the Vita and Wii U just because it was more active). If you're going to cite them at least honor their opinions properly. I call you childish because you are being childish, don't like it? Don't act like a child. Yes, they make probably 10% of the game if even that, yet you seem drawn to them enough to bash a whole console behind it....and yet you say you aren't being childish? Come on. I also never said the Murphy stages were good words in mouth much? I pay attention to a lot of what you say, I just ignore most of it because it's just too stupid to reply to and I chuckle, shake my head, and move on with my day.
  • BladedFalcon - February 23, 2014 10:24 a.m.

    And yet, you bothered to make a several paragraph's long reply several days after anyway. If most of what I say is too stupid to reply to, I wonder what this post says about your own intelligence then ;) Also, I just find it amusing you keep calling me childish... when it is you who keeps heaping insults and personal attacks instead of just arguing reasonably... Y'know, which is what actual children do, just saying. Anyway, regarding your ACTUAL arguments, I never said the entire Rayman series was twitch based, i believe my actual words were: "ask anyone that's savvy on the genre, and they will tell you that most platformers (specially those focused on challenge.) are twitch reflex based. " Based on my own quote, I'm talking only about the Rayman games that are meant to be challenging, that is to say, Origins and Legends... Making your statement about older Rayman games completely pointless and irrelevant, because I was never talking about them to begin with. Also... what reviewers are you talking about? people from nintendo focused sites and magazines? Because if you look at some of the most prominent gaming sites, most of them think of Murfy's use on the Wii U as a unnecessary, but harmless distraction at best, or a nagging annoyance in it's worst, and unlike you, I'm more than happy to provide links and facts: "Legends on the Wii U slams on the breaks in certain levels by putting you in control of Murfy, a helpful fly, while the AI moves Rayman. Here, you must shift your focus to the GamePad as you spread guacamole and ready catapults in an attempt to guide your bipedal friend to safety. These levels are a noticeable misstep in a game bursting with great ideas." "Even when things run smoothly, controlling Murfy isn't engaging because progress requires neither puzzle solving nor dexterity on your part. " http://www.gamespot.com/reviews/rayman-legends-review/1900-6413903/ "There are a few GamePad-minded features that add to the experience – shortcuts to help navigate the myriad level menus and unlockables, playing the entire game on the GamePad – but the few frustrations that plague Legends also circle back to Nintendo's controller." "These levels are less rage-inducing when playing with a competent friend, but relying on an A.I. counterpart is often an exercise in frustration." http://www.joystiq.com/2013/08/26/rayman-legends-review/ "On the provided Xbox 360 copy, this gameplay is rendered down to its basest functions -- press a button when near an interactive object, and Murfy will automatically do what you need to him to do. It's a simplistic system that feels somewhat pointless on any other machine than the Wii U, but given my feeling that Murfy's entire inclusion was little more than a meaningless tech demo anyway, I'm not exactly distraught by the reduced emphasis -- not least for the fact that some levels can move so fast, I'd rather be pressing a single button than messing about with touchscreens." http://www.destructoid.com/review-rayman-legends-260818.phtml "First, those touch-screen levels. In these sections, control of the character on-screen is wrested away from the single player, and you instead find yourself tapping, swiping, and jabbing at the screen on either your Wii U or Vita. You do these motions to remove traps, adjust platforms, and even distract enemies as the AI character on screen presses forward, attacking and jumping where needed. Most of the time, this works pretty well. The AI can occasionally bug out and make an idiotic jump to their death, and there are moments on both platforms where the touch-screen doesn't immediately do what you want it to." http://www.giantbomb.com/reviews/rayman-legends-review/1900-596/ There, all quotes from notable sites, taken straight from the articles, you can click the links and check for yourself. And I felt drawn enough to criticize that 10% of the game because it's shoddiness stands out in contrast with the rest of an otherwise excellent, polished game. The only childish behavior here, is the one displayed by you every time you get personally insulted because I call out on some of the Wii U's bullshit. Again, if you weren't, then why would you bother getting bent out of shape and replying every time? A truly mature response would be to dismiss stupidity and immaturity as much, and ignore it... And yet here you are :P Obviously, seeing my own response here, I'm clearly not a paragon of maturity myself, but then again I never claimed to be one, nor have I tried to demerit other's opinions by calling them childish. You on the other hand...
  • Vonter - February 19, 2014 5:46 p.m.

    Murphy sections felt like escort missions in single player. I like experiments but it's a fact they slowed the experience. The Murphy challenge was the best implementation for single player, it's a shame there weren't levels like that in single player, because come on, the CPU only walks on those. But anyway I admire Ubisoft for understanding the gamepad, props there, since at least they took more risks than the Nintendo games that were released last year [NintendoLand don't counts since it was a pack in].
  • shawksta - February 18, 2014 5:02 p.m.

    Yeah thats the thing, Murphy was specifically intended for Multiplayer, which is what the Sequel was aiming for to make use of the Gamepad as a Multiplayer tool. Thats what it was initially concepted back in 2012. Single player on Wii U is supposedly really boring because there are segments where you have to only use Murphy and the characters are AI if not in Multiplayer, making it frustrating to pick up items. This if anything is a flaw considering games like NSMB only had the platforms as an optional gamepad use while Murphy is a required mechanic. What it was intended to be built for turned out really great, the game is fantastic in Multiplayer, but Single player is rough and your better off playing other versions if your alone.

Showing 21-40 of 49 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Feb 18 2014 - PS4, Xbox One
Sep 03 2013 - Xbox 360, PS3, Wii U (US)
Available Platforms: PS4, Xbox One, Xbox 360, PS3, Wii U
Genre: Adventure
Published by: Ubisoft
Franchise: Rayman
ESRB Rating:
Everyone 10+: Cartoon Violence, Comic Mischief

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.