Google+

Prototype 2 review

Back to Article

44 comments

  • bchildress - January 20, 2013 10:58 a.m.

    Don't know about the game but have to say that trying to look at the Prototype 2 review on an iPhone is very painful! It took me about 5 minutes with Safari and Dolphin browser just trying to read the first sentence of the review to find out what was awful. Pictures and ads jumping all around, no obvious way to close any of it - review pushed off the screen. Mobile adware gone wild. Had to go to my PC, maybe that is whole purpose, get people off the mobile view by making it unusable. I think I would prefer it not being available to unusable. My 2 cents
  • Odogx44x - September 2, 2012 11:06 a.m.

    I just finished the game om the "hard" level which is not that hard... so like every PC game I play I will play it all over again on insane. The game can be repetitive with missions, but it is still fun smashing things all around the city. The only thing that pissed me off was that the PC version came out much later then everyone else, that to me is Bull**** but whatever. Okay going to play Borderlands again before 2 comes out soon!
  • DualWieldingIsNotFeasible - May 1, 2012 9:50 p.m.

    Having now beat the game, I can emphatically state this: if you own the first Prototype, DON'T BOTHER WITH THIS. They made a few tiny gameplay improvements, then made the main character an irritating black stereotype, cut out several fun and useful powers, and massively restricted the sandbox environment. Truly a disappointment, especially considering how long this game was in development and how much I liked Prototype 1.
  • renemcarthur - April 27, 2012 9:39 a.m.

    may pick this one up today got a broken xbox damage is camoflauged though so gonna take it into electronics botique bad for business but wtf right theyre a multi billion dollar company thatve gotten enough of this baeaners hard earned pesos u frickin gabroni
  • lazer59882 - April 24, 2012 12:20 a.m.

    for someone who's actually from new york city...how in the world do they include brooklyn jersey and manhattan, but don't allow you to explore manhattan until the end? theres 2 rivers between brooklyn and jersey, with manhattan between the two. it's impossible to go from one to the other without passing through manhattan. i don't understand why if game companies are going to mangle geography, they can't just call their locations something else
  • jivecom - May 7, 2012 1:23 p.m.

    The game doesn't refer to any actual geographical location, ever, simply using the generic "Red/Yellow/Green Zone" to describe the various islands. Plus, I don't think it actually matters, since obviously in real life, Brooklyn and Jersey are not, in fact, tiny islands, separated from the rest of the mainland by additional rivers that appear to be several miles across. What's more, any realistic depiction of New York went out the window then they decided that Manhattan island actually pointed perfectly north-south and that both Jersey and Brooklyn are right below it. Finally, even if it was realistic, the player moves throughout the islands on helicopters making the order one travels through them totally irrelevant What I don't understand is why people like you complained that it's impossible for Jersey City to be about 200 feet from Brooklyn but ignore the fact that Jersey City and Brooklyn are both depicted as being surrounded by water and aren't near any landmass other than each other and Manhattan, or how they put Yankee Stadium in the southernmost part of "Jersey Island," or any of the other things that they had to do to get all of this stuff in such a small area... but no, it's always the fact that you can't drive from Brooklyn to Jersey without going through Manhattan first. Well you can't drive that way in the game either, so cheer up and care less
  • lazer59882 - May 7, 2012 6:12 p.m.

    here's why, dumb motherfucker: cause i haven't played this stupid fucking game, so i have no clue where they put stadiums or what they do with helicopters or in what order you visit the locations or whether or not the landmasses are surrounded by water. i got all the information upon which i based my comment solely from this review, so the reason i dont give a fuck about those things if the review didn't mention them. understand? are you grasping that? the review mentions an absolute mangling of geography, so i commented on it. what does your comment do? respond to a week old comment giving be a bunch of random useless information on a game i couldn't possibly care less about? fuck off asshole, nobody asked you.
  • lazer59882 - May 7, 2012 6:14 p.m.

    *...about those things if the review... i mean IS, not IF, for those who care. not for you though jivecom, cuz i dont give a fuck.
  • marc-lee-de-hugar - August 1, 2013 6:06 a.m.

    Hahahaha
  • CurryIsGood - April 23, 2012 8:21 p.m.

    I would get this if the added tons of new stuff, which the didnt
  • talleyXIV - April 23, 2012 6:39 p.m.

    So they took the first one, made the map bigger and made the guy black. Then they made a deal with Gamestop to make an exclusive move "Bio-Bomb Butt Kicker?" Oh boy, developers these days.
  • ultimatepunchrod - April 23, 2012 3:52 p.m.

    Really liked the video. Straightforward and informative. I also liked the score rack up at the end. Good job guys.
  • ViolentLee - April 23, 2012 3:17 p.m.

    Loved dev Radical's Incredible Hulk game, but was beyond disappointed by Prototype 1. Interesting the similarities this shares with another Activision property, True Crime. - Both had disappointing, derivative first outings that didn't need a sequel. - Both had Caucasian protagonists in the first outing (okay, True Crime's was half Asian), then switched to an African American for the sequel.
  • EwoksTasteLikeChicken - April 23, 2012 3:04 p.m.

    They don't have co-op? Jesus christ, that's all my friends and I thought was missing from the first game. Definitly won't be getting this.
  • DualWieldingIsNotFeasible - April 23, 2012 3:04 p.m.

    All I want is a sandbox full of squishy mortals to take my daily frustrations out on, so I think I'm gonna be satisfied with this. Especially because all the other big spring/summer games seem to have been delayed, and there's an unlockable Mercer skin so I can play as everyone's favorite psychotic amnesiac. Also...CHRIS?!
  • IceBlueKirby - April 23, 2012 1:23 p.m.

    I had more fun than I probably should have had just running around killing everything in the first one, so I'll definitely pick up where I left off by getting this. Doubt I'll buy it new though, I'll wait until I find it cheaper.
  • tareq - April 23, 2012 12:45 p.m.

    GAMESRADAR IS TEH BIAS
  • NotSteve - April 23, 2012 12:32 p.m.

    Great review, awesome video. Do more of this.
  • Nate0124 - April 23, 2012 12:30 p.m.

    I'd been wondering what Mikel's thoughts would be on 2. Nice review and sweet video with mighty Mr. Antista.
  • XanderGC - April 23, 2012 12:11 p.m.

    Is anyone else really liking the direction that GR has been heading in for the last little while? I really enjoyed the first Prototype and it is still not a cheap game to buy compared to other games that have come out and dropped in price. Love the read in the video review and teh Antista surprise. Props to Mikel's written review as well. :)

Showing 1-20 of 44 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PS3, PC
Genre: Action
Published by: Activision
Developed by: Radical Entertainment
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Drug Reference, Intense Violence, Sexual Themes, Strong Language

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.