Google+

Ni No Kuni: Wrath of the White Witch review

Excellent
Back to Article

23 comments

  • SDHoneymonster - June 15, 2013 9:55 a.m.

    Only real complaint I have about this wonderful game is that it starts to drag big time towards the end of the story, Return Of The King style. You reach what you think is the natural end to the tale, only to find you have another few hours to go. In a time when people complain about how short some games are it seems silly to do so about one being too long, but the final stretch of the game struggled to keep me engaged. Still a wonderful game though, and some people will of course say that the more of it the better! Well worth buying, with some of the most memorable characters, locations and music (oh God, the glorious music) I've seen in games.
  • Balaska - February 2, 2013 4:37 a.m.

    I wouldn't say Ni No Kuni scews towards the simplistic, there is plenty to do and lots of customisation. Don't confused perfectly explained and easy to understand with simplistic. Also loving this game, I no longer care about some grizzled meat head ushering forth buckets of gore from hideous enemies. Also, worth it for His Meowjesty King Tom alone.
  • jackthemenace - January 27, 2013 2:20 a.m.

    Huh, I hadn't realised there'd been a demo; I'lll definitely give it a go. I'd been watching this curiously, and I could tell far in advance that it was going to get good reviews, but I wasn't sold on it, and now I see why- the familiar system sounds annoying as hell. It was bad enough in Kingdom Hearts 3D and Disgaea and stuff, and I wish developers would just leave it to GameFreak and give us proper, RPG characters like Bioware does.
  • TanookiMan - January 23, 2013 8:55 a.m.

    Given the generally positive reviews I've been reading, I'm surprised this didn't sell better in Japan. I heard it didn't do too great there.
  • dcobs123 - January 23, 2013 5:31 p.m.

    Too busy playing Monster Hunter probably.
  • ZenRobot - January 23, 2013 1 a.m.

    this review reminds me of one of those book reports i would write when i hadn't really read the entire book.
  • ThatGamerDude - January 22, 2013 9:50 p.m.

    Nice Review. I just bought the game but I haven't played it yet. I should probably get to that!
  • winner2 - January 22, 2013 8:15 p.m.

    I hadn't thought about it much, but I might pick it up at some point. I've never been one for anime that's so "nice" and fairy tale esque, more of a ghost in the shell kind of watcher, but I guess I'll give it a shot.
  • dcbernman - January 22, 2013 6:21 p.m.

    I want the PS4 to come out already so I can get a PS3 for cheaps and play this ><
  • JMarsella09 - January 22, 2013 4:22 p.m.

    Well that's settled.
  • slimjim441 - January 22, 2013 4:05 p.m.

    10 minutes into the game so far, and I can't even words. :P
  • taokaka - January 22, 2013 3:17 p.m.

    After the countless brilliant reviews I've seen for this game I need to go preorder immediately.
  • garnsr - January 22, 2013 2:48 p.m.

    I didn't like the demo that much, and I wasn't sure I really wanted to go back to super grindy JRPGs any more, but this sounds more my speed these days, more exploration and ambiance than fights that take hours.
  • Cyberninja - January 22, 2013 2:54 p.m.

    I didn't like the demo either so I plan on getting it the moment it has a sale.
  • profile0000 - January 22, 2013 2:46 p.m.

    Picked up my copy earlier today. I'm having a great time with it so far, but yes, it does feel like it leans more towards the "simplistic" side.
  • shawksta - January 22, 2013 2:22 p.m.

    Awesome to see it did well, hope it does well and doesn't get ignored cause "Waaaah its cartoonish" that would be a pathetic shame if it did
  • ObliqueZombie - January 22, 2013 2:19 p.m.

    "Skews towards the simplisitc." It's Studio Ghibli! That's the charm. But all in all, good review and very small bad points. The demo was stellar. I can't wait to pick this us.
  • Moondoggie1157 - January 22, 2013 1:49 p.m.

    Loved the demo, and now this review is giving me even more reason to pick it up. I'll definitely be buying this new.

Showing 1-20 of 23 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Jan 22 2013 - PS3 (US)
Jan 25 2013 - PS3 (UK)
Available Platforms: PS3, DS
Genre: Role Playing
Developed by: Level-5
ESRB Rating:
Everyone 10+: Alcohol Reference, Comic Mischief, Fantasy Violence, Simulated Gambling, Tobacco Reference, Mild Language

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.