Google+

Mass Effect 3 review

Excellent
Back to Article

126 comments

  • Jacko415 - June 27, 2012 6:58 p.m.

    Im sorry, but am I the ONLY one who noticed that the extended cut shows a quarrians face!?
  • hullonotna - June 27, 2012 7:32 p.m.

    I noticed it too. I kind of want to replay with the synthesis ending just to see that ingame. Then again if you romanced Tali in ME2 and ME3 she reveals her face in the form of a picture frame. My opinion is that they look way to pretty and to much like the artist interpretations.
  • Jacko415 - June 27, 2012 11:38 p.m.

    I figured their faces would be more like the turians. What with using the same type of dna and looking so similiar (from the outside of the suits at least).
  • Acerlux - June 28, 2012 5:59 p.m.

    That's kind of what happens when they take a stock photo of a girl on the internet and photoshop it into an "alien". Kind of a wasted opportunity, but whatever.
  • Redeater - June 27, 2012 4:27 p.m.

    Damn this review is late. j/k One thing I'm surprised this review didn't mention was how great the music was. There seems to be this strange forgotten 70's sci-fi movie music that you never hear in games. Portal 2 and Mass Effect 3 are the only games I can think of that touch on this. The new endings didn't really do anything since I didn't have a problem with them in the first place but hey, anything they want to do to add to the game for free I'm fine with!
  • Eliath - June 27, 2012 4:45 p.m.

    I second this comment. I listen to the ME3 soundtrack constantly. It's in all of my playlists. I also agree with the comment on the ending. It didn't really seem to change anything, which is fine by me as I liked the original endings. If you didn't like the originals, then you might still be disappointed.
  • radiodeaf - June 27, 2012 4:24 p.m.

    ...you lose. You may have survived but billions died, the gates are destroyed and everyone is set back. So basically you lose. The game, was incredible all three. I loved everything, though I never felt it was the expansive choice platform everyone totted. But for what we have...it's the best. Then it comes to a very few "endings" to the whole story. Not just the character development, which I loved. But the story. As stated before you lost. Not a cool way to end your struggle. A good way to make more DLC ... and other such expansions. Greedy. Sheep accept and those who feel let down get ostracized.
  • GR HollanderCooper - June 27, 2012 4:26 p.m.

    There was a systematic genocide spanning back millions of years and killing trillions. You ended it. Success.
  • radiodeaf - June 27, 2012 4:33 p.m.

    except almost everyone is dead, so now we have humans if they survived the explosion of the gates (which could wipe out solar systems far from it) , who have gone back to a primitive state of society, that can't connect with other systems ....due to no gate... etc etc. Basically the universe we loved is done. Though I think Earth survived the explosion =) ! we won!
  • Redeater - June 27, 2012 4:39 p.m.

    By gate do you mean the Mass Effect relays? I think your enjoyment of the game might have been tainted by your confusing Mass Effect with Stargate. (Not trying to be a smart ass but that did throw me off as to what you meant for a bit there)
  • radiodeaf - June 27, 2012 4:42 p.m.

    yeesh... saying you aren't being a smart ass while doing so isn't really helpful either. I would say you are almost as bad as grammar/spell trolls, but really it's not that close. I can handle geekdom... I slip and do it myself.
  • radiodeaf - June 27, 2012 4:43 p.m.

    by the way, watching stargate SG1 right now << so yes, confusion LOL, nice catch. thank you Justin!
  • Redeater - June 27, 2012 5:13 p.m.

    Actually I should have clarified that a bit. I was being a smart ass I just didn't want it to come off as insulting because I found it genuinely amusing. You watching Stargate actually compounds my amusement!
  • Sinosaur - June 27, 2012 6:23 p.m.

    The relays don't actually explode in the new ending, they very specifically mention that they are badly damaged, not destroyed, in the extended ending. Based on the ending, conventional FTL is apparently a decent method of travel, just inferior to instantly being shot across the galaxy (so rather than seconds, travel time becomes most likely weeks or months). I was really upset by the original endings, and while I still am not a huge fan of the forced decision with little impact from my decisions, I can accept the new endings as a place from which the universe can continue.
  • radiodeaf - June 27, 2012 4:28 p.m.

    actually, I should say trillions. It was all ordained.... we can't fight it. =P Just cruel ending and didn't make me want to pick the game back up.
  • GR HollanderCooper - June 27, 2012 5:43 p.m.

    They only actually attacked a couple of planets. Billions died, trillions were saved.
  • Asmodean - June 27, 2012 4:21 p.m.

    Well I didn't really think they need to redo the endings. Quite frankly I feel that these new extended cuts and epilogue, while enjoyable, kinda of detract for the possibilities and paint any squeal into a kind of mythological corner, depending on which one is cannon. Honest though I still feel the the destroy ending is the right choice. There's something sinister about the synth and especial the control endings.
  • Jacko415 - June 27, 2012 6:20 p.m.

    In My oppinion synth was the best possible ending
  • Sinosaur - June 27, 2012 6:28 p.m.

    For me, the place where they appeared to have left the series with the original endings would have made it unrecognizable as the universe I had grown to care about. And when you get down to it, odds are they would have started anything new based on the expanded endings, all of this sort of reeks of somebody deciding that certain moments didn't actually need to be shown, so they trimmed it off. As for the best ending... I'm not really sure, it's torn between Synthesis and Destroy for me. The fact that you work so hard to prove that organics and synthetics can live and work together makes the Destroy ending fairly horrifying and makes all of your efforts with the Geth and EDI feel worthless.
  • Mr Box 360 - March 31, 2012 12:18 p.m.

    I'll be honest i didn't really have much of a problem with the mass effect 3 ending, for me it was the conclusion i was looking for. What i did have a problem with was the gameplay itself. I was playing through on insane, which I'll admit was challenging. But what killed the game for me was all the glitches! I'll stand behind cover, press A to get behind it and nothing happens, in the meantime I'm getting shot to shit. I'll assure you that it's not because of my lack of experience playing games that i can't get by the controls, but Gears and Uncharted have a much better cover system. Then there is the problem of my character NOT picking up ammo on the ground, no matter how much i walk over it, and on certain parts ammo is very scarce on insane, so occasionally your forced to try and run out of cover to grab ammo, and there is nothing more infuriating than making it to the ammo and NOT collecting it. Then there is the hassle I had with my teammates. I'll issue orders for them to move somewhere, only for it not to register. My teammates will occasionally disappear in the fights only to return to me BEHIND enemy lines and getting killed in the progress of returning to me. When they are downed, I'll walk over to revive them, only there is no icon or button prompt to revive them, so now my only choice is to use a medipack to revive just one downed teammate or continue the fight a man down (this really seemed to happen when i was fighting a very tough opponent, IE. multiple banshees or brutes). The part of the game i was surprised at enjoying was the multiplayer. I especially enjoy the leveling system and the credits you earn to buy 'packs' which can contain new weapons, characters, upgrades and abilities, all randomly generated. This to me was a refreshing pace from grinding to level up just to earn a specific weapon. I found that there is an incentive to level up just to see what better upgrades or weapons you might earn. But overall as is said, i was incredibly disappointed in this game and NOT because of the ending, but of how unfinished the game seemed, thing i didn't mention was texture glitches and popup, characters skipping conversation and don't get me started on having to pay for a release day DLC! I expect glitches in huge open world games like Skyrim, which i will mention really impressed me with the lack of....but a game like mass effect, considering i didn't have these problems with the last 2 (or not as much of) if i could, I'd want every penny back.
  • thing1amc - March 12, 2012 6:17 p.m.

    I understand why the ending is so divisive. I've played the previous installments multiple times, and Mass Effect 2 was my favorite game of all time- until now. Everything incredible has been said, but I thought it would fall short of ME2 with the ending, that I heard was getting mixed opinions. But in my personal opinion, it was the most incredible ending in a videogame...or most other medium. I know that you only had 3 really choices, and many people found that the endings made little difference in the game's universe. But I swear to god, if the endings get changed as many people are asking for, I will sue Bioware. It was simply the greatest game I have ever played. Despite bugs.
  • ravenor12 - March 12, 2012 8:59 a.m.

    Thus game was rite up there with best games fk best entertainment ive ever experienced, then the last 10 mins arrived and it all went to rat shit. If u havnt got to the last 10 mins as yet do yourself a favour and turn your console off before u see the end. It leaves a very bad taste.

Showing 21-40 of 126 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Mar 06 2012 - Xbox 360 (US)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PS3, PC
Genre: Role Playing
Published by: Electronic Arts
Developed by: BioWare
Franchise: Mass Effect
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood, Mild Violence, Partial Nudity, Strong Language, Sexual Content
PEGI Rating:
Rating Pending

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.