Google+

Empire: Total War review

AT A GLANCE
  • Multi-layered strategy
  • Absolutely immense in scope
  • Intensely detailed in every aspect
  • Not good for just "a quick go"
  • Won't be easily mastered
  • Unfortunately, not quite done yet

This is the grandest, most spectacular work of strategy gaming on the PC. If you’ve not tackled a Total War game before, or assume that they’re not for you, we challenge you to play Empire and not be impressed, or even fundamentally changed by the experience. This is one of the most playable, and therefore important and accomplished strategy games ever created.

Total War occupies its own territory between Civ, classic RTSes, and the hex-based wargames armchair generals get all excited about. It is both a vast turn-based historical escapade and a gritty real-time battlefield engine that delivers the most cogent picture of mass conflict we’ve yet seen. The field of conflict in Empire, most global of the Total War games, is the 18th century. Assuming you’re going to play the gigantic Grand Campaign, you’ll start in 1700 and have a turn every six months until 1799. At the back of your mind, you’re always aware of that clock, ticking down toward victory or defeat.

If you’re playing as Britain, as we did, victory means controlling Egypt and a chunk of both India and North America. This is a game in itself. And when you’re done there, you’ll want to try a different nation, and its different victory conditions. Whatever you do, this game is a colossal undertaking. Completing a campaign is one of those gaming exploits that you know will be with you for the rest of your life, simply because it will consume so much time. Even when you’re not playing, you’re thinking about it. Planning, plotting your colonial ambitions.

Yes, colonial. Unlike the Medieval and Roman-era empire building, these are very much colonial enterprises. Empire takes a great deal of its design philosophy from the events and trends of its era, and that real history is reflected in the core challenges different nations face, and in the smaller tasks you’ll have to deal with to grasp the upper hand in war. Playing as the European powers, for example, places you in a fascinating position – one that seems astonishingly close to how the real colonial powers must have played their real world game. Your fortune lies across oceans, but you cannot lose your foothold in Europe. As Great Britain our fate was closely tied to that of the Thirteen Colonies in North America, and only by being a remarkably strong international power were we going to keep them as a protectorate.

What’s more, we knew that we could not afford a land or sea war with local European powers, and spent many early years buttering up France and Spain with gifts to reduce the pressure that hostilities might place on our shipping. Empire for Great Britain means a powerful Royal Navy – in the game, just as in real life. Play as land-locked Poland, on the other hand, and you face a different challenge. You’ll want to pick off all the smaller one-state nations, one at a time, before facing down the Russian Bear.

There had been rumblings about Total War being simplified for the US market, especially with its introductory mini-campaign ‘The Road to Independence’. This may indeed have been included to guide newcomers, but don’t think the complexity of the main game has been sacrificed. Empire: Total War is more, and better, than we’ve ever had before. The Creative Assembly do not seem to have shirked their responsibility, or ever stepped back from including more features, or more detail. Empire is the opposite of dumbed down. It has a superabundance of smart gaming.

And while it feels familiar, Empire manages to deliver more nuance on the campaign map than ever before. What’s most immediately obvious is the effect of international trade. While some trade does occur between trade partners over land, it’s the maritime trade routes that really print money.

The trade routes arc around the huge main map, which is itself divided into two principle sections: North America and Eurasia. The core map stretches from Iceland on the top left to Sri Lanka on the bottom right. Scrolling across an empire that spans this vast distance is a pleasure indeed. Red, yellow and green status marks materialise to show who you’re sharing that sea-route with and how threatened you are. Pirates camping the route will need to be physically removed.

The trade routes then snake off into the rest of the world, including the four ‘trade regions’ – South America, the Ivory Coast, the straits of Madagascar, and the East Indies. These are purely coastal regions, in which fleets can be placed to generate money. It’s then down to your diplomacy, and the grit of your admirals, to keep those trade routes open, and to keep your nation rich. Once at war with the Ottoman Empire, our Great Britain campaign saw us bottling up the Ottoman fleet in the Mediterranean, keeping our Atlantic traders safe from attack. Had we picked a fight with Portugal or Spain, with their Atlantic-facing coastlines, things would have been very different.

Inevitably, the real action still goes down in the main, land-based conquerable regions of the campaign map. These are far more detailed than anything we’ve seen previously. Each region still has a capital, but there are now separate ports, towns, and farms. All of these can be built upon and upgraded, bringing you farming estates, ports for military or trade use, mines, schools, centres for religious learning, or even defensive forts.

More Info

Release date: Mar 03 2009 - PC (US)
Mar 04 2009 - PC (UK)
Available Platforms: PC
Genre: Strategy
Published by: Activision
Developed by: Creative Assembly
ESRB Rating:
Teen: Alcohol Reference, Blood, Language, Tobacco Reference, Violence
PEGI Rating:
16+

16 comments

  • CreeplyTuna - January 21, 2010 6:06 p.m.

    id love to get this, but i dont think it will run on my computer. my pc ok (runs half life 2 pretty well and L4D nicely too) but this looks too big...oh well
  • donaldathome - April 24, 2009 8:25 p.m.

    Every now and then I buy a game, play it, don't like it, and put it away forever. My fault, not theirs. This time it's different. I played Shogun, Rome, Medieval 2, and loved them all. I expected Empire:TW to be a continuation of the excellent series. I can honestly say, this is the first time I ever felt genuinely cheated. This was a classic "bait and switch". They offered Empire: Total War and delivered "Europa: Total Civ". They copied ideas from the Civilization series and Europa Universalis, mashed them together with what was once a good game, and created a messed up, mixed up, mush that has nothing to recommend it. Even if there were no bugs, and the game could run well on any/every computer, it would still be a bad game. Play Civilization, play Europa Universalis, play Medieval2 or Rome Total War. Don't bother with this stinker.
  • bfrins21 - April 6, 2009 10:04 p.m.

    I got this game and whenever I go to play it it goes to a blank screen and says Empire: Total War has stopped working. If anyone has any idea of how to fix this post it, otherwise this game is the biggest waste of 60 dollars ever
  • skester90 - March 22, 2009 7:39 p.m.

    I totally agree with sataa. I bought the game last week and I felt TOTALLY DISAPPOINTED!! And, it doesn't have anything to do with my computer...which is state of the art for gaming. The people from CA did a horrendous job. The bugs in the graphics are very sloppy at best: the way the units move makes the game look like it was made in 1994 (in fact, there are better games from that year), the buildings are choppy and poorly rendered, the soldiers look two-dimensional, etc. The campaign map looks horrible. I mean, how is it possible that France or Spain are only one region? Come on. They did a pretty bad job with the historical map. It looks like a cheap version of Europa Universalis (and I'm talking about the original version). Then, what is going on with such a lame thing like the Steam Engine? It takes a crazy amount of time to load the game, even with a FAST computer like mine. Also, the installation time is horrendous...it literally takes an eternity to install a game. To enumerate all the faults in this crappy game, I could be writing comments for three days...THE MESSAGE IS CLEAR: I TOTALLY DON'T RECOMMEND BUYING THIS GAME!!! In particular, in this moment of economic crisis $49.99 are better spent on food or gas. At least, Rome Total War or Medieval Total War 2 were pretty good and playable. I wish they had created this game in the same fashion. But, no, they had to screw us up...I'm not gonna buy a game from these guys again. I'm not gonna fall for it!!! My rating: 34%.
  • Craza - March 10, 2009 3 a.m.

    I'm surprised my dad hasn't picked up this game yet, but he bought DoW II yesterday and it didn't work on his computer because he doesn't have internet. *Le Sigh* One of these days he will have to succumb to the mass of the internets.....
  • c03n3nj0 - March 8, 2009 2:58 a.m.

    Too bad my pc won't be able to handle this...
  • Sash - March 7, 2009 4:02 p.m.

    I probably wont get this. But the graphics look amazing /drool
  • chester_spartan - March 7, 2009 2:44 a.m.

    First! cant wait to pick this up
  • HeavyTank - September 20, 2009 10:11 a.m.

    Hey, apparently I am not the only one not to like this game...the units are REALLY lame(and few) compared to Medieval 2 (mangonels, hornet throwers, flamethrowers, armored cavalry, rocket launchers and waaay more melee infantry)...and the gameplay is half-broken..the 3rd camapign mission simply doesn't work..and the loading times are unacceptably long. With that being said, the map system is really good, and the naval battles are a welcome, but broken addition. Now, back to Kingdoms. I guess I'll have to wait for a modern-day TW game..
  • barryhalls - April 4, 2009 1:29 a.m.

    I have to agree with both sataa and skester.This game is not fit to be sold.Just check the boards on steam to get an idea of the problems with this game.How Gamesradar/PC Gamer can call this "one of the most playable and therefore important and accomplished games ever created"is beyond me.This is one of the most unplayable games i have ever bought in my 20 years of pc gaming.Did you notice in the GR verdict one of the cons was "Unfortunately, not quite done yet"?Some how they didnt say that in the review.I wonder how many advertising dollars they got for this one?To be fair this isnt the only site to give false praise to the game.Gamespot took over a week longer then the other top game sites to write thier review.They even did a post stateing they wanted to take time to dig into the game to do a proper review.Then bang a ETW wallpaper ad graced thier site two days later came a stellar review.Dont buy into the hype people.Check the boards.wait for a few patches and a 50% price cut before you try the game.
  • sataa - March 14, 2009 11:27 a.m.

    I wonder what journalistic credibility PC Gamer think they might have after awarding this game 94%? The game has has serious bugs. the campaign element is unplayable due to bugs, the mini campaign also has issues that make it playable but unwinable. There has been a patch released in early March that resolves some of the major problems (alt tab crash!) but the game is still very buggy both in playability and in stability. Even the instal process can take over a day! over a day to install the software? There may be another patch soon, if you are thinking of buying it, wait untill then. Most games will have issues on release, but this is the worst of the series and perhaps the worst I've seen. Google the word bug after the game... be informed, make better choices and stop the games companies releasing buggy software. More like 64% than 94%!! Caveat Emptor!!
  • Sebastian16 - March 9, 2009 5:08 a.m.

    I've been waiting for this game release for a loong time. Great review GR, 'twas much appreciated.
  • MrSegraves - March 8, 2009 6:17 p.m.

    This looks just incredible... I hope my computer is up to it, I would hate to buy it and then it not work.
  • Schuultz - March 8, 2009 6 a.m.

    It's a great game, but I'm surprised the Reviewer didn't mention the horrific performance issues and instability. The Game freezes regularly, has loading times of up to five minutes and crashes for me whenever I have large battles (4 Armies or more). And that's even though I'm playing on the settings the game recommended to me, even scaled down the grass! But don't let all that stop you from buying the game if you have a decent PC. CA have promised to work on a patch for the performance and instability which is supposed to already be released some time next week or so!
  • Stabby_Joe - March 7, 2009 4 p.m.

    @usmovers_02 Its not an RTS, its a combo of turn based strategy and real time tactics.
  • usmovers_02 - March 7, 2009 3:56 p.m.

    I'm not an RTS fan but I'll be getting this game.

Showing 1-16 of 16 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000