Google+

BioShock Infinite review

Back to Article

103 comments

  • Tjwoods18 - March 25, 2013 6:20 a.m.

    Don't see a five star game that often.
  • BladedFalcon - March 25, 2013 6:14 a.m.

    Man... games like these make me yearn for the days of the super review... I mean, don't get me wrong, this is a good review, and I'm ecstatic that it's getting such great praise and score, but it feels short, and not nearly as detailed as those old super reviews were. I miss the days of the two to three page review, and the comparisons, it was fun to read, and it felt unique to the site. I don't know the reason why you guys stopped making them, but could there ever be a chance they might come back?
  • antiAntag0nist - March 25, 2013 6:27 a.m.

    I wish Super Reviews would make a return as well.
  • Child Of Death - March 25, 2013 6:32 a.m.

    I also would like Super Reviews to return.
  • samiamJack - March 25, 2013 12:26 p.m.

    Me as well, were always some of my favorite GR features
  • SDHoneymonster - March 25, 2013 6:59 a.m.

    Double edged sword really - I'd have loved a more in-depth review, but at the same time, I don't want anything too detailed as it may well give away a few surprises. This feels like the sort of game that's best to uncover on your own. Can't. Bloomin'. Wait.
  • BladedFalcon - March 25, 2013 8:07 a.m.

    Yes, but if that's the case, you could always just pick and choose what you wanted to read. Additionaly, a súper review was meant to be entertaining, not just purely informative, the kind of read you'd want to revisit just for the heck of it. No offense to Lucas in this case, but these new reviews don't really inspire me to go back and read them again.
  • taokaka - March 25, 2013 7:10 a.m.

    The review itself would have gotten a five star rating from me if it was a good old super review.
  • GR_SophiaTong - March 25, 2013 9:03 a.m.

    We've been talking about reviews and how we could best approach them, but at this point it's mainly a time constraint (especially comparisons), since we are trying to put up more reviews than before. As for going into more detail, a lot of the details left out are covered in previews, and it seems like most people don't want to know too much about the game to begin with if they're looking to play. Hope that helps answer your question!
  • BladedFalcon - March 25, 2013 9:31 a.m.

    Well, I can understand it being a time constraint because certainly, it's a small crew XD But if I may be honest? I don't really see there being significantly more reviews now than say, 2 years ago. I mean, far as I can remember, even back then, pretty much ever mid-to-high profile game was reviewed and a lot of low profiles as well. And those were actually short reviews, the super review was only reserved for super anticipated titles like, say, this one. As for the details being covered in previews... I don't really agree with that, specially because the preview not only is based around a part of a game, but because even the attitude or impression of the preview tends to be very different in tone and enthusiasm than the review. For example, both the previews you guy did for Fable: The Journey And Castlevania: Mirror of Fate sounded very favorable towards the game, and it contrasts starkly with the ultimately mediocre, lukewarm reviews both games got. I'm sorry if I'm coming too strong, I really don't want to sound like an ass, but well, that's how I'm currently sensing things. Hopefully you can at least understand where I am coming from?
  • GR_SophiaTong - March 25, 2013 9:34 a.m.

    The details I was addressing was mainly info about how the running list of features and how the game plays, not necessarily the impressions, just facts. I understand where you are coming from though, we'd love to be able to devote that kind of extra attention to reviews but like you mentioned, we have a much smaller crew.
  • BladedFalcon - March 25, 2013 9:38 a.m.

    The problem I see is that even the way it's read how the game is played in the preview changes drastically from what the review says, as again, exemplified by the two games I mentioned. Anyway, thanks for listening, and I understand. And like I said from the start, I still like the site and the reviews, I just get nostalgic sometimes ^^;
  • GR_SophiaTong - March 25, 2013 9:40 a.m.

    It's something we do talk about though and while I'm not sure if it'll come back in that form, we do take your feedback into consideration :)
  • BladedFalcon - March 25, 2013 9:47 a.m.

    That's good to know, thank you! And while we're at it, here's hoping Future can have it in their hearts to expand the crew a bit more? ^^;
  • Squander - March 25, 2013 12:26 p.m.

    I am definitely with BladedFalcon, please discuss it internally and consider bringing it back!! When a great game has been released I didnt care about the samey standard review, but I was always anticipating the Super Review. Now GR finds itself without USP amongst a plethora of other reviewing sites - especially in these times you need to differentiate yourself: the Super Review was informative, different, and most important: FUN
  • shinkeidei - March 25, 2013 10:08 a.m.

    I see and I'm grateful your reviews are focused on the actual reviewers experience instead of passing on check list, that makes the reviews closer to other medias critiques and reviews and is very welcomed and refreshing. But in all honestly I've been sorely missing the Super Reviews from back at the day.
  • bebl09 - March 25, 2013 6:25 p.m.

    I know that feel, bro. Miss the GR of old :(
  • StonedMagician99 - March 25, 2013 5:30 a.m.

    I guess it's kinda too bad that I preordered the Premium Edition from Amazon, which mean that I WON'T BE ABLE TO PLAY UNTIL WEDNESDAY!??! But, I'm glad to know that it's worth it. The lowest review score I've seen so far for this game is a 9, so it appears to be shaping up to be the first major GotY contender for 2013.
  • Moondoggie1157 - March 25, 2013 7:40 a.m.

    first GotY contender? Ni no Kuni has my vote so far (yea yea, I know it's only March)
  • winner2 - March 25, 2013 5:29 a.m.

    It exceeds expectations? Holy shit, those are done serious assertions. God damnit I can't wait to play this.

Showing 81-100 of 103 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Mar 26 2013 - PS3, Xbox 360, PC (US)
Mar 26 2013 - PS3, Xbox 360, PC (UK)
Available Platforms: PS3, Xbox 360, PC
Genre: Shooter
Published by: 2K Games
Developed by: Irrational Games
Franchise: BioShock
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Language, Use of Alcohol, Use of Tobacco, Mild Sexual Themes
PEGI Rating:
Rating Pending