Google+

BioShock Infinite review

Astonishing
Back to Article

101 comments

  • zombi3grim - March 25, 2013 10:43 a.m.

    Getting this at midnight. Cant wait!
  • shinkeidei - March 25, 2013 10:05 a.m.

    Just a question Gamesradar —I've trusted you more than any other gaming outlet for years. Is Infinte our Watchmen/Citizen Kane? Or although being a masterpiece we are still away from stop calling videogames well, games? Those are the expectaitons I have for the title. . .
  • GR_LucasSullivan - March 25, 2013 10:16 a.m.

    More the latter, I think. And that's OK--it doesn't have to transcend the entire medium for it to be incredible.
  • shinkeidei - March 25, 2013 10:28 a.m.

    Thank you, I cannot wait for midnight and start experiencing Columbia myself. And thanks for this amazing read
  • BladedFalcon - March 25, 2013 10:36 a.m.

    I think the moment you're speaking of will come once we as a community stop trying to feel the need to find such a "citizen Kane" of gaming in order to validate our medium.
  • shinkeidei - March 25, 2013 12:39 p.m.

    I'm an game designer on progress so that is what I'm interested on the bar Irrational would setting with Infinite. And I mean, there have been amazing storytelling and artistically rich works out there, so I do agree that he medium does not need validation anymore, but still games are being seeing as games and we can hardly call game makers as auteurs and such — at least by the mainstream art community. I'm sorry if trying to illustrate my question I used the very worn comparison to Citizen Kane, but it was just an example, in fact, Watchmen on context would be more appropiate. I know you are a very passionate member from the GR community (I hardly if ever engage in the comments of the site thanks to some troll on the past XD) so don't take my reply as an invitation to argue because it is not, in fact quiet the opposite, more like an invitation to discuss such a beautiful work of art, I know we share many viewpoints and the same passion for games!!
  • Rhymenocerous - March 25, 2013 9:35 a.m.

    Sounds great but... We still can't actually die? Is Elizabeth reviving you simply a replacement for the vita chambers?
  • GR_LucasSullivan - March 25, 2013 10:03 a.m.

    Kinda, yeah--but once you beat the game, you unlock a mode where, when you die, you lose HELLA money, and if you can't afford it, it's straight-up game over. I'm not man enough to beat the game on 1999 Mode but for those who are, it'll be intense
  • Talvari - March 25, 2013 8:07 a.m.

    A perfect score. Wow :P I liked the first one quite a lot but never finished it and got somewhat bored for some reason. Never really got around to playing 2 as i gathered it was more of the same. This one looks like it has a cool setting and a potentially non-annoying AI partner. Could be cool :D I'll watch someone play it before looking into it! Thanks for the review.
  • Moondoggie1157 - March 25, 2013 7:39 a.m.

    I only got to play the intro to Bioshock, it was pretty great. I'm still struggling to stay interested in Bioshock 2... I'm a good ways through it, but I just lost all interest. I want to give this game a chance, I just don't want to spend 60 bucks.
  • haydndavid91 - March 25, 2013 8:31 a.m.

    Bioshock 1 is incredible, Bioshock 2 isn't made by irrational games as they started infinite as soon as they were done with Bioshock 1. Give bioshock 1 and infinite a chance, I hated number 2. So excited for this game.
  • shinkeidei - March 25, 2013 10 a.m.

    I'm with you here, Bioshock 2 felt like Bioshock fan fiction
  • Moondoggie1157 - March 25, 2013 2:53 p.m.

    That's funny, the dude at EB Games said the same thing haha. I think I will pick up the first one... Based on my taste, I should love these games, I guess I shouldn't have wasted my time with Bioshock 2 right off the bat, I think I was just excited to see it on sale for like 12 bucks so I picked it up to see what all the hype was.
  • BaraChat - March 25, 2013 7:32 a.m.

    I feel like this game has a real shot of topping my personal list of the Best games of All-Time. My top 10 hasn't moved in 5 years (Inclusion of Super Mario Galaxy and Bioshock). I think this is the most hyped I've been for a video game since... probably a decade with the likes of Metroid Prime and Wind Waker. It sounds cliché, but I can't freaking wait. DELIVER IT ALREADY!!!
  • Vordhosbn - March 25, 2013 7:16 a.m.

    I'm one of the few people who didn't really get into Bioshock 1 or 2, but reviews like this make me think it's worth trying number 3 anyway.
  • Swedish_Chef - March 25, 2013 7:03 a.m.

    Would you kindly buy this game so we can get more extremely high quality, unique titles like this?
  • rainn'sgaydar - March 25, 2013 6:41 a.m.

    I don't where I'll find time to play this, but I WILL find time to play it. I will do it.
  • Person5 - March 25, 2013 6:29 a.m.

    WHY ISN'T IT 15 HOURS FROM NOW YET?
  • Tjwoods18 - March 25, 2013 6:20 a.m.

    Don't see a five star game that often.
  • BladedFalcon - March 25, 2013 6:14 a.m.

    Man... games like these make me yearn for the days of the super review... I mean, don't get me wrong, this is a good review, and I'm ecstatic that it's getting such great praise and score, but it feels short, and not nearly as detailed as those old super reviews were. I miss the days of the two to three page review, and the comparisons, it was fun to read, and it felt unique to the site. I don't know the reason why you guys stopped making them, but could there ever be a chance they might come back?

Showing 61-80 of 101 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Mar 26 2013 - PS3, Xbox 360, PC (US)
Mar 26 2013 - PS3, Xbox 360, PC (UK)
Available Platforms: PS3, Xbox 360, PC
Genre: Shooter
Published by: 2K Games
Developed by: Irrational Games
Franchise: BioShock
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Language, Use of Alcohol, Use of Tobacco, Mild Sexual Themes
PEGI Rating:
Rating Pending

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.