Google+

BioShock Infinite review

Back to Article

103 comments

  • DementedPenguin - November 18, 2014 3:48 p.m.

    This game made my "best games of all time" list with flying colors and I love it so f***ing much and the cherry on top is the amazing Burial At Sea DLC story. I'll have to play this again soon. If anyone cares to play this masterpiece you can get it for pretty damn cheap here: https://www.g2a.com/r/penguins-bioshock-infinite
  • reyah - September 28, 2014 6:47 a.m.

    Hello, I just got this game cheap from here: www.thegamekeys.com . They have a very good delivery time and I am fully satisfied! Do check it out!
  • universaltofu - August 17, 2013 9:16 p.m.

    Love this game, skyhook is where it's at.
  • mbavalo - July 2, 2013 4:54 p.m.

    The visuals and gameplay are amazing and this is a fantastic game! The only thing that I don't like is that it's trying too hard to portray itself as anti-christian, I mean, common, if the guy behind it wanted to get his opinion across, he should have done so in a straight forward manner that does not get annoying with time as I play through the game
  • phoenixwright13 - June 29, 2013 4:14 p.m.

    Personally, I think Charles Milton Porter from Bioshock 2: Minerva's Den was better than Booker DeWitt.
  • labidas - April 13, 2013 8:29 a.m.

    I don't know if any of the "reviewers" read this, but i hope they do. These things you write aren't reviews. They are like short blog-posts where you write down a few thoughts about the game and the general impression. This is not a review!!! I wan't to know how you rate these games... because by the looks of it, you guys just slap scores depending on how you feel once the game ends. And add a few (rather ridiculous) +/- thoughts. PLEASE! Please create a scoring system where you rate each aspect of the game seperately. 1. Sound(fx, music, dialog) 2. graphics(fx, textures, models) 3. story 4. gameplay +(and others) Each of these points should be rated from 1 to 10 based on strict criteria not impressions. (then you take the median and volia - you have score which actually has some use if compared to other games.) Yeah... you can talk about the game what you think were the best parts and so on, but that's more like an overview and shouldn't be taken as a basis while scoring a game. ************************* Bioshock:Infinite It's not a 5/5 game. It has many flaws, none of which were mentioned in this review(?). A 3.5~4/5 at best. Giving a game basically a perfect score means there's nothing to improve. Bioshock... perfect? Really? Give me a break!
  • Bercilak - April 6, 2013 7:52 a.m.

    Everyone, please take a deep breath. Then read this review on Slate.com. http://www.slate.com/articles/technology/technology/2013/04/bioshock_infinite_review_ken_levine_s_game_raises_fascinating_philosophical.html Mr. Thomsen is correct.
  • system1988 - April 3, 2013 2:37 p.m.

    I just fiinished the game and I am absolutely stunned. Had to go and read some extra info to tie up things i didnt get while playing the ending scenes. The word "game" is not enough to describe this... absolutely fantastic! Gameplay 10/10 Story 11/10 (yes I typed that right)
  • thing1amc - April 1, 2013 6:17 p.m.

    I actually wasnt as BLOWN AWAY by infinite as much as everybody else. I probably would have been if it wasnt the sequel to two of the best FPS's of this console generation (yes, I like bioshock 1 and 2 more). Also, I'm bummed that Levine made changes to things that simply should have been improved, and I dont like that he seemed to have kind of ignored the great things Bioshock 2 brought to the table. The story works the same way as the first game did, where theres an awesome twist at the end, but the journey getting there is a bit vague and impersonal, and weirdly paced. The curtain is left on until the very end, so I didnt have a clear enough idea of what was going on for most of the story. The vigors were really disappointing in my opinion, and I found I only really used hypnotize. the guns also dont have as much punch. the combat choices are very minute compares to the previous two entries (though the sky rials are awesome). Its kinda sad that the gameplay was a let down in my opinion, because, the characters, ending, and social commentary are flat out innovative.
  • Silvercloak - April 1, 2013 2:40 p.m.

    I'm sorry but this game does NOT deserve the extremely high reviews and acclaim it's got. Yes it's a fun game, but the fact that it has Checkpoint saves takes it down a notch or two in my book. If I knew that beforehand I would've canceled my pre-order and waited for it to be in the bargain bin. I DESPISE Checkpoint saves. We're not in the cartridge gaming era anymore - we should be able to save when and where we please.
  • brickman409 - April 6, 2013 11:07 p.m.

    lol that is a terrible reason to hate a game. I mean yeah check points aren't the best, but they don't really ruin anything.
  • MayorOfAmerica - April 11, 2013 8:06 a.m.

    but brickman, a checkpoint system CLEARLY makes the game much less of an artistic and fun experience and it should reflect that in the score! It like TOTALLY changes the game (sarcasm)
  • MayorOfAmerica - April 11, 2013 8:10 a.m.

    but brickman, a checkpoint system CLEARLY makes the game much less of an artistic and fun experience and it should reflect that in the score! It like TOTALLY changes the game (sarcasm)
  • cmc57901990 - April 7, 2013 8:52 a.m.

    I saw this comment and was so blown away that I literally made a gamesradar account to tell you how stupid you are for basing all your opinions on checkpoint saves.... literally like, every game in the last 10 years uses checkpoints... honestly I can't think of very many games of this generation that use quicksaves and manual saves! But you have a good time trying to have fun with the what.... 4 games out now that don't have checkpoints?
  • haydndavid91 - March 30, 2013 8:04 a.m.

    aaah what an incredible game, and the only game that I've completed and immediately started back up again on the 1999 mode. Superb ending that takes a lot of thought to fully comprehend how brilliantly done it is, and after you've finished the game a lot of the other stuff that happens throughout the game makes perfect sense in a second play through, particularly when you go to get the shock vigor
  • FOZ - March 28, 2013 3:25 p.m.

    How do you manage to make the game last 15-18 hours? I rushed a bit and I need to play it again on my desktop, but I still finished in 8 hours.
  • FreeSnack - April 1, 2013 11:58 a.m.

    Exploration is key to that, and it is completely worth it if you are one that likes to invest for the story, which is probably the strongest aspect of this game
  • FOZ - April 2, 2013 10:17 a.m.

    That would require you to search for every voxophone and play the game at the pace of somebody doing a game show demonstration. The time to beat the game should represent the average player, and everyone I've heard seems to be finishing their first playthrough in 8-10 hours.
  • Asmodean - March 28, 2013 11:51 a.m.

    I'm almost speechless and in awe after finishing this... I not sure what to call it anymore... Work. Calling Infinite just a game is an gross understatement of what it is and I am humbled to have experienced something truly wonderful.
  • CitizenWolfie - March 28, 2013 2:56 a.m.

    I'm only about halfway through it as I'm taking my time to explore every inch of Columbia but I love it so far. So many little touches and details make it for me. Murder of Crows is one of my favourite power-ups ever, the skyline arenas add a lot of depth to shootouts and as for Elizabeth, she's brilliant. As far as AI partners go, she's definitely up near the top (although Elena from Uncharted made me realise that AI partners aren't all terrible first).

Showing 1-20 of 103 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Mar 26 2013 - PS3, Xbox 360, PC (US)
Mar 26 2013 - PS3, Xbox 360, PC (UK)
Available Platforms: PS3, Xbox 360, PC
Genre: Shooter
Published by: 2K Games
Developed by: Irrational Games
Franchise: BioShock
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Language, Use of Alcohol, Use of Tobacco, Mild Sexual Themes
PEGI Rating:
Rating Pending