Google+

We Recommend By ZergNet

86 comments

  • gilgamesh310 - January 7, 2014 9:22 a.m.

    Getting this excited about an Alien game and thinking it will be so great this early is a very silly way to behave. There have been several other games that have showed promise in their development phases but ended up turning out rubbish. This could well end up the same way. Most of the things about it sound good but I can't say I'm pleased with you playing as Ripley's daughter. I'm fine with the protagonist being a woman and actually welcome it but playing as Ripley's daughter is unnecessary and it just rectons the events of Aliens whatever way you look at it.
  • jh4911 - January 7, 2014 9:21 a.m.

    Sounds promising.
  • BladedFalcon - January 7, 2014 8:20 a.m.

    I'm sorry Houghton, but you're utterly wrong in making such claims until the game actually comes out, and you've played the honest to goodness retail version. Otherwise, the best you can claim is that the game shows a lot of promise, but you can't assure that it has delivered on it as you are asserting in this article. Or need I remind you of all the positive buzz and press behind Colonial Marines? Many were just as, if not more excited and convinced that it would be the definitive Aliens game... And look at where we are now. It's good that Isolation left such a good taste on your mouth after this preview. But for the sake of your own credibility, please refrain from jumping the gun and making absolute statements about a game that hasn't even come out?
  • TokenGamesRadarFurry - January 7, 2014 8:49 a.m.

    Did we read the same article? It sounds like David is just talking about what he experienced with the hands on demo he was given, not saying "THIS IS GOING TO BE THE BEST GAME EVAR" with just a press release from the Sega.
  • BladedFalcon - January 7, 2014 8:53 a.m.

    "The first alien game to really matter" The title of the article alone makes it sound as if it's already delivered on it's promise.
  • TokenGamesRadarFurry - January 7, 2014 9:03 a.m.

    Dramatic headline? Sure. Then again, every Aliens game has sucked (save maybe the first one), so its not like Isolation has to be earth-shattering to make it a true statement.
  • BladedFalcon - January 7, 2014 10:24 a.m.

    I heard the aliens: Infestation for DS was pretty alright, actually, so you might want to revise your statement :P 'sides, again, everyone sung the exact same song back when Colonial marines was announced, and the demo for the game was shown. What exactly has changed to make Houghton think that this couldn't possibly go south in the same exact way? Yes, the preview sounds super good and promising; So did Colonial Marine's. He has no way to guarantee that what he saw today will be like the end product , thus, he has no real reason to make any kind of absolute assertion just yet :P
  • GR_DavidHoughton - January 7, 2014 11:25 a.m.

    Just to clarify a couple of things (that I might be addressing in a later article), Colonial Marines got most of its early goodwill before hands-on time happened. The first time I played it, I had it pegged as a potential stinker, for a lot of the same flaws that the eventual review pulled it up on. As a result, my hands-on preview of that game contains some definite reservations. Alien: Isolation was hands-on straight away, with no preceding preview hype. And I really, really liked it. Of course, something could go wrong. But that's no more the case here than with any other game. The fact that a previous game, with a different gameplay style, from a different developer, was a disappointment is really irrelevant. Colonial Marines is no more relevant to Isolation than Dark Tomorrow was to Arkham Asylum. And let's not forget how cynical a lot of the internet were about Arkham when I first previewed it. :)
  • BladedFalcon - January 7, 2014 11:42 a.m.

    Alright, I did make a quick search of the past GR articles and previews, and while I didn't see a preview written by you, i did notice that the most prominent preview for the game was written after the E3 presentation of 2011, and that was a hands off demo. So you are right, there IS a big difference between how the two have been presented. Furthermore, you are correct that with different developers altogether,. there's zero correlation between Colonial marines and this game, and thus it IS unfair for me to expect it could fail or lie like GearBox did. All in all, you're right, and I did come out too strong and too cynical against this. And you definitely have a point regarding Arkham Asylum, most people (myself included) didn't expect much from it, but you were definitely correct in being optimistic about it. Alright then, I concede defeat, and I'll bite, I'll try to give this game a chance, at the very least, not write it off immediately.
  • GR_DavidHoughton - January 7, 2014 2:57 p.m.

    Huzzah!
  • dillon-dunlap - January 7, 2014 8:18 a.m.

    Colonial Marines was pretty fun... But that didn't last long. But this, it sounds sketchy... Like a Prometheus video game.
  • Galaxy010 - January 7, 2014 8:18 a.m.

    Wait wait wait wait. Is this true? Please tell me this is true. The game hasn't even been officially unveiled yet can you even do this? Whatever, I don't care, even if you take this down, just know you have my made day author. Unless this is prank. In which case I hate you. Very much.
  • GR_DavidHoughton - January 7, 2014 8:21 a.m.

    It's real and it has been unveiled. We've er, just unveiled it. Honestly, it's a real thing, I've played it, and it's incredibly good.
  • PoisonWar - December 14, 2013 11:55 a.m.

    Why do I still have hope?
  • HAMMERCLAW - December 13, 2013 6:21 p.m.

    That's a picture Of Ripley, in a Nostromo Spacesuit looking over her shoulder in the final confrontation in the lifeboat.
  • winner2 - December 13, 2013 8:13 a.m.

    Nah it'll suck
  • mafyooz - December 11, 2013 12:09 a.m.

    I bought Colonial Marines for £3.05 in a PSN sale recently (I had some spare cash in my wallet) and for that price it's not been too bad so far, apart from the god-awful facial animation and voice synching. I'd have been pissed off if I'd paid more than a fiver for it though ;)
  • JonSolo - December 9, 2013 3:22 p.m.

    I'm right there with the author, and I don't want to be negative but these images smack of mobile/iOS game or Fan Film to me. Bring on the game he describes, though!
  • Darkhawk - December 9, 2013 2:44 p.m.

    I don't get it: Did you all play a different AvP from me? Because that game was AWESOME. Horror-ific human missions, fantastic stealth Predator sections, and great wall-crawly Alien evisceration. And it only came out three years ago! Go play it if you haven't yet!
  • danabro88 - January 7, 2014 8:34 a.m.

    the only good AvP was the first. everything after that sucked balls.

Showing 61-80 of 86 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.