Google+

Alien: Isolation review

Excellent
Back to Article

157 comments

  • aasp - October 3, 2014 8:51 a.m.

    Most reviews I read are unoriginal, self congratulatory crap, almost review by numbers. I want opinions, I want to feel the reviewers love or hate. This review was awesome, the first time in a long time that a review MADE me want to buy a game I hadn't considered, made me look at a game differently. Bravo Mr Houghton, bravo.
  • Tommacool - October 3, 2014 10:27 a.m.

    Just because a guy want you to a buy a game doesn't mean the game is good. A good salesman can almost sell anything. The reviewer sounds too biased to me, like he was paid to hype the game up or just a Alien fanboy who will love anything to do with the Alien franchise. I would read more reviews if I were you. And from looking at the game it seems heavy scripted at places. And personally I hate when you lose control of your avatar. Wished you had 100 % control all the time with no interruptions like System Shock 2.
  • aasp - October 3, 2014 10:59 a.m.

    You seem to completely misunderstanding my post. I am not suggesting that the game is good, just that his review made me want to buy the game. I actually read an awful lot of reviews since I have been buying games (and magazines about games) since about 1985. I think it's a bit unfair (and insulting) to suggest he was paid to write the review. He clearly enjoyed the game, his review is not the only one that suggests this is a great game (ign aside) so I struggle to understand your point? I guess it depends on what you want from a review? Do you want reviews that are bland and often penned by non gamers or rather by someone who loves games and is now afraid to say so.
  • Tommacool - October 3, 2014 11:48 a.m.

    I never suggested he was paid. I said he sounded biased, like someone who was paid or a very fan. There is a difference. There are clearly many flaws in the game which I have read from other reviews: Heavy scripted many places, way too much boring backtracking, cliché and predictable story etc. Yet he seems to skip this. But again a review is subjective, so you can never truly know until you tried it for yourself. My point is just don't buy a game because one person says it's great.
  • aasp - October 3, 2014 12:15 p.m.

    And I take your point and agree basing your buying decision on one random review probably isn't sensible. However, Ive read a few David Houghton reviews previously and generally we see eye to eye (check out his Last of Us remastered review) so normally if he reviews a game this well then it's probably worth paying attention to. I take the point on the flaws, i read other reviews. But again, that's the sort of things also said about last of us, tomb raider, uncharted type games also and its never bothered me. My problem is that I hate cod /battlefield type games, I am crap at fifa (not for want of trying) and not a big fan of the open world / sandbox type games like gta or watchdog. I guess I am old school, I want a clear objective even if that objective is bloody hard.
  • Tommacool - October 3, 2014 3:56 p.m.

    Not too fan of Gta myself. But Watchdog I enjoyed since it had more deep gameplay. You should try and mount & blade warband. That is sandbox, but every action you take has consequenses (opposed to GTA 5 where everything is forgotten after you respawn). Not going to check his review, but I didn't buy Last of us for this reason: Stupid A.I. (A.I doesn't follow you if you go out of some areas / through a door. A.I don't see the girl / hear her talk when she talks loud etc.) For a stealth game these are cruicial flaws for me. Thief 1 and 2 were perfect with this.
  • CombatWombat101 - October 3, 2014 1:07 p.m.

    "I never suggested he was paid." "The reviewer sounds too biased to me, like he was paid to hype the game up..." Indeed.
  • normanpleasant - October 3, 2014 8:30 a.m.

    Opinion seems to be split on this one, with some big publications giving it middling review scores and others praising it. Seems to me that the deaths can often feel cheap and it all gets a bit repetitive after a while, but then again I can say that about a lot of game's I've nonetheless come to love. Like an affable ice cream salesman whom you later discover is a sex offender, sometimes we can genuinely enjoy the company and services something can provide, even if there are a few negatives to go with it. Regardless, being a day-1 Rome 2 purchaser, I know better than to get a Creative Assembly game on release. Probably better to wait for the first year's worth of patches.
  • Mafu - October 3, 2014 8:22 a.m.

    At last I can see a true review and not the crap that usually IGN tries to sell. This review is just amazing. You have my most sincere congratulations, David. This kind of things is why I prefer GR above any other site. Because it's made by gamers, for gamers. Cheers for you, mate.
  • normanpleasant - October 3, 2014 8:25 a.m.

    Actually IGN's review was pretty brutal. For IGN.
  • danshepard - October 3, 2014 7:06 a.m.

    a really well written review. great stuff!
  • mothbanquet - July 10, 2014 7:16 a.m.

    I like what I've read about the DLC, but after CA's sloppy release of Rome 2 I won't be pre-ordering or even thinking of buying this for several months after release. Makes me sad, but we've been burned too many timed by rush-to-release.
  • Rhymenocerous - July 10, 2014 3:01 a.m.

    Really wish everything was just on the disc, pre-order or not. Must have been mighty expensive to get the cast of the film together, but then to just limit it to dlc extras seems crazy. Still, the original cast members! Awesome.
  • daniel-acree - July 9, 2014 5:33 p.m.

    love the idea. but i have a question. ripley blew the ship up as she was escaping. sooooo how did her daughter come to find it? also spoiler for anyone who has seen aliens. her daughter dies at the age of 85. so she is going to live. sry
  • GR_DavidHoughton - July 10, 2014 2:26 a.m.

    Alien: Isolation isn't set on the Nostromo.
  • mothbanquet - July 10, 2014 7:15 a.m.

    The game looks to be set on a space station called Sevastopol. Not sure if that's supposed to be an allegory for the ongoing Ukraine crisis...
  • shawksta - July 9, 2014 12:28 p.m.

    Still upset for no Wii U release but glad so far it keeps sounding better.
  • GOD - July 9, 2014 10:19 a.m.

    With all the media and everything they're trying to generate around this, they better provide sites ample time before the game comes out to get reviews up so we can be sure it's not another bait and switch. It seems to be previewing well, but since a huge part of the game is the titular Alien's AI, and AI is usually touted as being evolved when it really falls to the same tricks, we need to see how the whole game plays out instead of just a specific demo section.
  • shinkeiDEI - October 3, 2014 11:53 a.m.

    Mmmm, eeeh, how do I say this. . . mmm. . . this is the review mate. . .
  • GOD - October 3, 2014 12:05 p.m.

    Look at the date on my comment. This page was their Isolation preview page, but then they converted it into the review page and kept all the comments from the previews.
  • PlainLikeVanilla - July 9, 2014 7:27 a.m.

    The fact that the original crew stuff is a pre order bonus is pretty gross.
  • gopher1369 - April 27, 2014 11:33 a.m.

    Is anyone else thinking "Oculus Rift"?
  • tomasspipass - October 3, 2014 10:28 a.m.

    absolutely! i've prophesied that I am to be found dead of heart failure in december 2015. I'll be found alone in my living room wearing a strange contraption on my head. This is because I am saving all the first person horror games that have emerged for pc the last couple of years until next winter when I plan on buying a cutting edge pc, decent headphones and an occulus rift. This seems a good game to start with! I don't really understand why I want to put myself through this terror, but i'm looking forward to it.

Showing 61-80 of 157 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Oct 07 2014 - PS4, Xbox 360, PS3, PC, Xbox One (US)
Available Platforms: PS4, Xbox 360, PS3, PC, Xbox One
Genre: Survival Horror
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.