Google+

Alien: Isolation review

Back to Article

162 comments

  • winner2 - October 3, 2014 3:44 p.m.

    Sure, why not. I'll give it a chance. At least for as far as I can handle it.
  • majamaki - October 3, 2014 12:47 p.m.

    Nice job on the review. Really looking forward to playing this.
  • BladedFalcon - October 3, 2014 12:29 p.m.

    Well then, seems that you hit the nail on this one ever since the previews Mr. Houghton, and as promised, I am ready to admit my mistake on doubting your assessment and also for reflexively assuming this would be just as bad as all the other Aliens games had been. I have yet to play it, which will be when I ultimately confirm if it's as good as it sounds, but most sources I trust like it, so I'm giving it the benefit of the doubt.
  • universaltofu - October 3, 2014 12:03 p.m.

    The previews and articles leading up to this have been so positive, I'm glad to see the full game has delivered.
  • Darkhawk - October 3, 2014 11:34 a.m.

    Sounds like the perfect stealth game. I am so *****ing stoked. (And an entire generation breathes a collective sigh of relief.)
  • EmptyClips77 - October 3, 2014 10:40 a.m.

    You are an artist! That was the best review I have ever read in my life. Sad that some people will only see that review on IGN!
  • Fran_Halen - October 3, 2014 10:32 a.m.

    I tend to trust the reviews on this site a bit more than most of the others. With that being said, I'm so glad this game turned out to be great. As a huge fan of the movies and sci fi in general, I was convinced that this game was going to be awesome or suck, no in between. I worked "The Evil Wtihin" into my budget and totally overlooked this one because I was skeptical. Now I have some creative financial manipulating to do so I can purchase this as well. I would also like to say that this is one of the most creative and well written reviews I've ever read. It was a great read.
  • pl4y4h - October 3, 2014 10:17 a.m.

    I just watch the IGN review for laughs and it did not disappoint. Not my type of game but definitely looks like a cool step forward for alien fans
  • phate - October 3, 2014 9:55 a.m.

    Easily the best review I've read in years. Some fantastic writing and now, obviously, I have to have this game.
  • Divine Paladin - October 3, 2014 9:18 a.m.

    Seems like GR versus the world on this one. Not that I'm surprised, GR is very opinionated when it comes to games one writer likes or dislikes. Bulletstorm is fantastic, PSAS is bad, DmC is excellent, Watch Dogs is better than MK8, etc. I've heard some pretty bad things about the Alien AI though so I'll wait to judge the game. I can't go by the overly positive review that'll ensure game of the month (unless Bayo2 gets a perfect score, which is probable), that's for sure. To Youtube!
  • gilgamesh310 - October 3, 2014 10:33 a.m.

    After David Houghton's ridiculous hyperbolic praise of Bulletstorm, I'm also very wary of his opinion on this. I also think it's silly that he seems to deduct a point because of what the mainstream pussies might think. Surely there's other flaws in the game, rather than lack of guidance, which isn't a flaw at all to true gamers.
  • Divine Paladin - October 3, 2014 10:49 a.m.

    Don't get me wrong I loved Bulletstorm. But the lack of replayability really hurt it in the long run (unique ways to kill only adds replay value if the game is already worth playing through more than 1.5 times). But it's consistently shoehorned into places it doesn't belong on the site, a practice that feels way too bloggish for my liking. I mean, most game journalism sites have admitted they're pretty much bloggers, but still. It makes me feel like we'll get a list of underrated games again that'll have this on it, praised like it's better than anything else out this month but somehow relegated to plug-tier with the aforementioned games and others, like the entire GRID series and - half-pleasantly, half-annoyingly to me as a Ratchet fan - the wonderful Into the Nexus. A review as glaringly biased as this DOES work for fans of the genre/series (it's why Musou fans should review Musou games instead of the interns), but for everyone else it feels like it's stretching too much. Unless, of course, he's right here, and every other reviewer is wrong. Possible, but doubtful.
  • gilgamesh310 - October 3, 2014 11:39 a.m.

    It will probably end up being seen as another failed attempt at living up to the Alien name in the long run. I remember the Alien Resurrection being heavily praised by a number of publications at the time if it's release, but now it's only remembered as being fairly average. I also don't believe David that the game is 20 hours long. He's no doubt really exaggerating that. There's virtually no game of its type of that length ever been released before. I don't know I'd it being long is a good thing either.
  • Divine Paladin - October 3, 2014 12:12 p.m.

    I've heard people tired quickly of it so length is definitely a problem in this case. But I also vaguely remember TLoU being "12-20 hours." I beat it on Hard first time through in maybe 8-9, while exploring more than I should've. You need to be borderline OCD to match reviewer times - which makes sense since that's exactly what reviewers have to have to get the full experience when reviewing a game that comes out a few days later!
  • gilgamesh310 - October 3, 2014 12:25 p.m.

    I heard that most reviewers don't play through most games they review and they are given cheats with the code they receive and use them to level skip and just play the parts of the game if their choosing. They are also given walkthroughs and strategy guides to aid them.
  • CombatWombat101 - October 3, 2014 12:52 p.m.

    Pro tip: "Lack of guidance will deter some" is not the same as "I deducted a point because of what the mainstream [gamers] might think." Also, gaming elitism isn't as mad sick as your homies tell you it is.
  • BladedFalcon - October 3, 2014 12:31 p.m.

    Destructoid also gave it pretty high marks, if that counts for something. Also, Bulletstorm IS pretty great.
  • Divine Paladin - October 3, 2014 12:39 p.m.

    Oh I love Bulletstorm too, I noted that in the other comment string. I'm not doubting the game's good honestly. I just have a big problem with some of the GR practices, like somebody overhyping a game and then getting to review it (that's a bit of an issue in a lot of places, but GR really drops all objectivity when it does it). It's just when, say, Smash 3DS or PSAS get low scores, and all you hear about is how a shallow-but-pretty-fun game like Bulletstorm is amazing in an article about Halo or something, it makes you question the quality of opinion. Thankfully they adjusted Smash's score since giving it what I believe was 2.5 stars, because there's no way the game deserves less than 3.5 even if it DID have some connection issues (broken mechanics and server instability didn't stop Destiny from being perfect did it?).
  • CombatWombat101 - October 3, 2014 1:02 p.m.

    I specifically remember Mr. Houghton getting super psyched for Castlevania 2 -- I could taste the hype whenever I read one of his articles. It released, he gave it 3 stars. I'm willing to assume that he can set aside his inner fanboy to be a reviewer.
  • Divine Paladin - October 3, 2014 1:09 p.m.

    Good example, actually. He even got me interested in the Lord's of Shadows subseries (though I never pulled the trigger on the 1.5 definitive edition). But right now I'm going to hold judgement on the alleged adaptive AI, which seems to be the key to the review score (and game as a whole). I'm reading bad things from other sites, and when the praise is the minority, generally it's probably biased. Then there's the "everything's biased" counter counter, but I'm talking outside of normal limits. And whenever you see the the f-bomb in a GR article, it's a biased one. Literally the second paragraph jumps out of the realm of objectivity and into zomgworld

Showing 41-60 of 162 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Oct 07 2014 - PS4, Xbox 360, PS3, PC, Xbox One (US)
Available Platforms: PS4, Xbox 360, PS3, PC, Xbox One
Genre: Survival Horror
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.