Google+

Alien: Isolation review

Excellent
Back to Article

155 comments

  • pl4y4h - October 3, 2014 10:17 a.m.

    I just watch the IGN review for laughs and it did not disappoint. Not my type of game but definitely looks like a cool step forward for alien fans
  • phate - October 3, 2014 9:55 a.m.

    Easily the best review I've read in years. Some fantastic writing and now, obviously, I have to have this game.
  • Divine Paladin - October 3, 2014 9:18 a.m.

    Seems like GR versus the world on this one. Not that I'm surprised, GR is very opinionated when it comes to games one writer likes or dislikes. Bulletstorm is fantastic, PSAS is bad, DmC is excellent, Watch Dogs is better than MK8, etc. I've heard some pretty bad things about the Alien AI though so I'll wait to judge the game. I can't go by the overly positive review that'll ensure game of the month (unless Bayo2 gets a perfect score, which is probable), that's for sure. To Youtube!
  • gilgamesh310 - October 3, 2014 10:33 a.m.

    After David Houghton's ridiculous hyperbolic praise of Bulletstorm, I'm also very wary of his opinion on this. I also think it's silly that he seems to deduct a point because of what the mainstream pussies might think. Surely there's other flaws in the game, rather than lack of guidance, which isn't a flaw at all to true gamers.
  • Divine Paladin - October 3, 2014 10:49 a.m.

    Don't get me wrong I loved Bulletstorm. But the lack of replayability really hurt it in the long run (unique ways to kill only adds replay value if the game is already worth playing through more than 1.5 times). But it's consistently shoehorned into places it doesn't belong on the site, a practice that feels way too bloggish for my liking. I mean, most game journalism sites have admitted they're pretty much bloggers, but still. It makes me feel like we'll get a list of underrated games again that'll have this on it, praised like it's better than anything else out this month but somehow relegated to plug-tier with the aforementioned games and others, like the entire GRID series and - half-pleasantly, half-annoyingly to me as a Ratchet fan - the wonderful Into the Nexus. A review as glaringly biased as this DOES work for fans of the genre/series (it's why Musou fans should review Musou games instead of the interns), but for everyone else it feels like it's stretching too much. Unless, of course, he's right here, and every other reviewer is wrong. Possible, but doubtful.
  • gilgamesh310 - October 3, 2014 11:39 a.m.

    It will probably end up being seen as another failed attempt at living up to the Alien name in the long run. I remember the Alien Resurrection being heavily praised by a number of publications at the time if it's release, but now it's only remembered as being fairly average. I also don't believe David that the game is 20 hours long. He's no doubt really exaggerating that. There's virtually no game of its type of that length ever been released before. I don't know I'd it being long is a good thing either.
  • Divine Paladin - October 3, 2014 12:12 p.m.

    I've heard people tired quickly of it so length is definitely a problem in this case. But I also vaguely remember TLoU being "12-20 hours." I beat it on Hard first time through in maybe 8-9, while exploring more than I should've. You need to be borderline OCD to match reviewer times - which makes sense since that's exactly what reviewers have to have to get the full experience when reviewing a game that comes out a few days later!
  • gilgamesh310 - October 3, 2014 12:25 p.m.

    I heard that most reviewers don't play through most games they review and they are given cheats with the code they receive and use them to level skip and just play the parts of the game if their choosing. They are also given walkthroughs and strategy guides to aid them.
  • CombatWombat101 - October 3, 2014 12:52 p.m.

    Pro tip: "Lack of guidance will deter some" is not the same as "I deducted a point because of what the mainstream [gamers] might think." Also, gaming elitism isn't as mad sick as your homies tell you it is.
  • BladedFalcon - October 3, 2014 12:31 p.m.

    Destructoid also gave it pretty high marks, if that counts for something. Also, Bulletstorm IS pretty great.
  • Divine Paladin - October 3, 2014 12:39 p.m.

    Oh I love Bulletstorm too, I noted that in the other comment string. I'm not doubting the game's good honestly. I just have a big problem with some of the GR practices, like somebody overhyping a game and then getting to review it (that's a bit of an issue in a lot of places, but GR really drops all objectivity when it does it). It's just when, say, Smash 3DS or PSAS get low scores, and all you hear about is how a shallow-but-pretty-fun game like Bulletstorm is amazing in an article about Halo or something, it makes you question the quality of opinion. Thankfully they adjusted Smash's score since giving it what I believe was 2.5 stars, because there's no way the game deserves less than 3.5 even if it DID have some connection issues (broken mechanics and server instability didn't stop Destiny from being perfect did it?).
  • CombatWombat101 - October 3, 2014 1:02 p.m.

    I specifically remember Mr. Houghton getting super psyched for Castlevania 2 -- I could taste the hype whenever I read one of his articles. It released, he gave it 3 stars. I'm willing to assume that he can set aside his inner fanboy to be a reviewer.
  • Divine Paladin - October 3, 2014 1:09 p.m.

    Good example, actually. He even got me interested in the Lord's of Shadows subseries (though I never pulled the trigger on the 1.5 definitive edition). But right now I'm going to hold judgement on the alleged adaptive AI, which seems to be the key to the review score (and game as a whole). I'm reading bad things from other sites, and when the praise is the minority, generally it's probably biased. Then there's the "everything's biased" counter counter, but I'm talking outside of normal limits. And whenever you see the the f-bomb in a GR article, it's a biased one. Literally the second paragraph jumps out of the realm of objectivity and into zomgworld
  • Rhymenocerous - October 3, 2014 9:05 a.m.

    Yessssssssss
  • aasp - October 3, 2014 8:51 a.m.

    Most reviews I read are unoriginal, self congratulatory crap, almost review by numbers. I want opinions, I want to feel the reviewers love or hate. This review was awesome, the first time in a long time that a review MADE me want to buy a game I hadn't considered, made me look at a game differently. Bravo Mr Houghton, bravo.
  • Tommacool - October 3, 2014 10:27 a.m.

    Just because a guy want you to a buy a game doesn't mean the game is good. A good salesman can almost sell anything. The reviewer sounds too biased to me, like he was paid to hype the game up or just a Alien fanboy who will love anything to do with the Alien franchise. I would read more reviews if I were you. And from looking at the game it seems heavy scripted at places. And personally I hate when you lose control of your avatar. Wished you had 100 % control all the time with no interruptions like System Shock 2.
  • aasp - October 3, 2014 10:59 a.m.

    You seem to completely misunderstanding my post. I am not suggesting that the game is good, just that his review made me want to buy the game. I actually read an awful lot of reviews since I have been buying games (and magazines about games) since about 1985. I think it's a bit unfair (and insulting) to suggest he was paid to write the review. He clearly enjoyed the game, his review is not the only one that suggests this is a great game (ign aside) so I struggle to understand your point? I guess it depends on what you want from a review? Do you want reviews that are bland and often penned by non gamers or rather by someone who loves games and is now afraid to say so.
  • Tommacool - October 3, 2014 11:48 a.m.

    I never suggested he was paid. I said he sounded biased, like someone who was paid or a very fan. There is a difference. There are clearly many flaws in the game which I have read from other reviews: Heavy scripted many places, way too much boring backtracking, cliché and predictable story etc. Yet he seems to skip this. But again a review is subjective, so you can never truly know until you tried it for yourself. My point is just don't buy a game because one person says it's great.
  • aasp - October 3, 2014 12:15 p.m.

    And I take your point and agree basing your buying decision on one random review probably isn't sensible. However, Ive read a few David Houghton reviews previously and generally we see eye to eye (check out his Last of Us remastered review) so normally if he reviews a game this well then it's probably worth paying attention to. I take the point on the flaws, i read other reviews. But again, that's the sort of things also said about last of us, tomb raider, uncharted type games also and its never bothered me. My problem is that I hate cod /battlefield type games, I am crap at fifa (not for want of trying) and not a big fan of the open world / sandbox type games like gta or watchdog. I guess I am old school, I want a clear objective even if that objective is bloody hard.
  • Tommacool - October 3, 2014 3:56 p.m.

    Not too fan of Gta myself. But Watchdog I enjoyed since it had more deep gameplay. You should try and mount & blade warband. That is sandbox, but every action you take has consequenses (opposed to GTA 5 where everything is forgotten after you respawn). Not going to check his review, but I didn't buy Last of us for this reason: Stupid A.I. (A.I doesn't follow you if you go out of some areas / through a door. A.I don't see the girl / hear her talk when she talks loud etc.) For a stealth game these are cruicial flaws for me. Thief 1 and 2 were perfect with this.

Showing 41-60 of 155 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Oct 07 2014 - PS4, Xbox 360, PS3, PC, Xbox One (US)
Available Platforms: PS4, Xbox 360, PS3, PC, Xbox One
Genre: Survival Horror
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.