Google+

Transformers: War for Cybertron super review

Back to Article

337 comments

  • geneticallyalteredsupergiraffeejaculatinggrenades - July 31, 2010 6:22 a.m.

    Okay now that I'm done pointing everything thats wrong with the game itself let me point out whats wrong with this review of yours. I know I said it was good earlier but by that I meant by the standards of this site not to the standards of good sites like IGN or gametrailers. First of lets start with you saying the game was for Transformers super fans. I disagree with this completly, I've watched every series of transformers since i was a kid and even went back and watched generation 1 just to know what it was like (thats how I know about it) and the game has nothing for fans of any of the more recent series. I mean teenagers grew up with transformers to and we don't get any games or even references towards the series we grew up watching. And you say that the game is paying homage to better games like Gears of War, but everyone knows taht in order to pay homage to something you have to acknowledge that you're taking the idea from the source. Since this game doesn't do that it is clearly just ripping off Gears of War hoping to make money off of younger kids even though they've probably already convinced their parents to buy gears for them. Also you didn't cover how you control as a vehicle which I think would be rather important in a game where you play as robots that turn into vehicles. And you did not clarify if co op is online or offline. I feel confused after reading this about whether or not i can have my friends over and play this game or if they need to own the game as well. I would like to think that it has offline co op but so many people aren't doing that anymore just to get more people to buy the game. If there is no offline multiplayer then that part where you say WfC is as good as Resident Evil 5 is just plain wrong because despite its flaws I was able to play through the entire game with one of my friends. You also go and say that its a good thing that they couldn't get the original voice actors for this game, and I cannot understand your logic there.I mean if you're going to make a game based off of a show you could at least get the real voice actors for the part. Why couldn't the developers be more like pixar in that area? For Toy Story 3 they got back EVERY SINGLE ONE of the original voice actors to fill their roles. And an 8? REALLY?!?!?!?! I mean everyone before me says you sold out but I don't believe that for a second. Youd would have to find someone willing to buy first.
  • geneticallyalteredsupergiraffeejaculatinggrenades - July 31, 2010 5:59 a.m.

    Oh I just remembered soemthing else. Transformers war for cybertron will totally go ahead and ignore that cybertron used to be an organic planet which it clearly is because beast machines said so. I mean the game cant even stay in its own continuity if the game wanted to take place taht long before the show it should have robots destroying whatever created them. and does the game include minicons? no. why wouldnt they i mean they would make awesome power ups. And why are you so hard on the new movies. those movies were awesome, I mean did you see how much money they made? and they included everything that fans of the classic like you should like but properly updating it so that younger people could enjoy it. Like soundwave being turned into a satellite was a good idea beacause nobody has tape machines anymore so they had to go make it into soemthing and an ipod wouldnt work because they're to small. and they had the constructicons and they updated them to by making them become some type of dinosaur robot which so way better then just a bigger robot because dionsaurs are awesome. And michael bay finally made the humans useful. do you remember how in the old show the humans just hung around with no real purpose? well now they have a point and luckily a lot of robots were made smaller so that the humans could properly deal with them and not be really easily outmatched. And of course there was that robot which could become human which worked really well
  • geneticallyalteredsupergiraffeejaculatinggrenades - July 31, 2010 5:18 a.m.

    The game looks alright but I would never get it, I mean who cares about the original series anymore. The plot is so garbage and the transformations are horrible, I mean who thought it was a good idea to let megatron become a gun? His size doesnt even stay the same throughout the show and he cant even move while hes a gun anyways. and then he goes and lets starscream use him even though he knows starscream wants to kill him. The game should be based off of one of the newer series where they fixed Megatron and made him a jet, which can actually move around and do stuff. And tahts not even talking about the awesome beat wars series where he became a dinosaur and a dragon. If they wanted to base a game off a series like transformers: cybertron. that one was sooooo much better I mean it had different planets with different robots on it, like the planet with giant robots or fast robots or animal robots. the game would be so much better if they let you travel to those different planets and meat the other robots and play as them. and megatron could become a car in that show which is cooler then a gun but not as good as a gun. And who rreally wants to play as optimus as a truck? trucks are also lame unless they are firetrucks which everyone knows optimus should be. that or a ape. i mean hes the hero so he should become something heroic like a firetruck. I'm hoping that one day theyll make a game based off beasties because that was really the best series anyways. i mean robots are awesome and so are dinosaurs so a game with robot dinosaurs would be really really awesome. and beasties isnt weighted down by trying to be like the old bad show unlike a lot of the new ones. the best thing to happen to beasties was when it decided to not be like generation 1 and be standalone and not give into demands from fans of the old series. My point is taht the game looks good and its a good reviwe but i wouldnt get it because its set in the worst of the transformers series.
  • ChrisAntistaLikesLittleBoys - July 31, 2010 4:32 a.m.

    Henry Gilbert, once again you disapoint with a review that the average reader of this site can relate to. I have multiple problems with this review. Here they are. 1: One of your titles in the review is "Gears of War, emphasis on the gears" Transformers obviouisly don't run on gears, Henry. Proved in issue 5 of the Transformers/G.I. Joe crossover comic! I have no idea how you could possibly look over such an obvious mistake! 2: You completley glazed over that the game has an alternate Beast Wars mode, which is voiced by the orignal voices off of the cartoon (Micheal Ironside, Mila Kunis, Trey Parker and TJ Miller). 3: Please read this quote pulled directly from the article "Just like the Batman film series went back to square one after some horrid films endangered the franchise’s legacy, War for Cybertron gives the bots a clean slate to work from." Are you trying to tell me that Oscar winning film Batman and Robin (1997) was a "horrid" film? Have you seen that film? It's great! Here's a few reasons why 1: The Cinematography was by academy award winning Cinematographer Stephen Goldblatt, which made it a must see for me. 2: The film had Governor Schwarznegger in it. This movie was such a big deal that they even got 1995 presidential candidate Arnold Schwarznegger to star as the main antagonist, Doctor Freeze. 3: The plot was the most moving thing I have ever seen. Batman and Robin's family DIES! THEY DIE HENRY! THEY DIED JUST SO THAT YOU COULD WRITE A TERRIBLELY INNACURATE REVIEW OF TRANSFORMERS: WAR FOR CYBERTRON! DO YOU THINK THAT'S WHAT THEY WANTED? DO YOU?!?! No, it wasn't, all thanks to a little games journalist named Henry "The Tank" Gilbert. Look how worked up you've gotten me. Anyways, ya, Transformers, let me continue with those numbers about why the review is grossly incorrect. (Transformers, incase you skimmed over my last paragraph, like you skimmed over the game)4: You wrote that Transformers WFC was better than Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen. The game based of of the MULTI MILLION DOLLAR MOVIE! Now, I haven't played Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen, but, It was based off of the movie made by cinematic genius Micheal Bay, which means it must be a high game of the year contender. This game wasn't even based on anything. They were so out of ideas for a great Transformers story that they had to write their own story. Which, in my opinion, is the laziest possible thing you could do for a game. They focused most of the development time writing a story and not making the game better. 5: The screen shot you showed of the credits? Yah, totally a spolier it clearly reveals that Optimus, realizing his planet is dying, orders the evacuation of all Autobot cities. And that as the Autobot transports leave orbit many are destroyed by the a massive Decepticon known as Trypticon. Optimus tells Silverbolt to ready his soldiers for an attack on the Decepticon. Silverbolt, Air Raid and Jetfire enter the Decepticon and first destroy the coolant systems and then the plasma reactor. Unfortunately the Autobots are forced to enter Trypticon again and disable his transformation cog so that he transforms back to his original form. The cog is destroyed and Trypticon changes into his dinosaur mode. As Trypticon falls toward Cybertron, Silverbolt, Air Raid and Jetfire attack Trypticon's jetpack and destroy it. This sends Trypticon plunging into Cybertron. The Autobots band together to narrowly defeat Trypticon, sending him plunging into a pool of energon goo. Optimus and the remaining Autobots stay to defend Cybertron from Megatron for as long as possible. Optimus commissions a massive vessel known as "The Ark" to transport the remaining Autobots into space when the time comes. Because of this gigantic Spoiler, I didn't even buy or rent the game, because I already knew how it would end. All in all, I was expecting the most accurate of reviews from one of the few game journalists that I trust, but instead, I find a review full of words that don't exist (Ably), Skimmed over segments of the game, and a completely Spoiler-iffic screen shot. I am dissapointed Henry, dissapointed and insulted as a reader of this website.
  • Phazon117 - July 31, 2010 3:37 a.m.

    An 8/10? Obviously, you know nothing about the sentimental value that Transformers gives an entire generation of nerds. A true Transformerite would know that anything Hasbro comes out with deserves more respect than that shitfest known as fucking Gears of War. What are you, biased? YOU ARE NO FAN OF TRANSFORMERS, IN ANY SENSE OF THE WORD!!!!!!! YOU ARE A DISGRACE TO TRANSFORMERS FANS EVERYWHERE, ALSO, YOU DID BAD AND YOU SHOULD FEEL BAD! Finally, the Transformers movies that have come out in the passed few years have been SILVER LININGS IN THE FUCKING DROUGHT OF DECENT MOVIES ABOUT ROBOTS THAT TURN INTO VEHICLES. THANK YOU, HANK THE MOTHER FUCKING TANK GILBERT.
  • Ampatent - July 31, 2010 3:08 a.m.

    An 8? Sheesh Henry, how much did they pay you?
  • BlackElement17 - July 31, 2010 2:47 a.m.

    This review is terrible, everyone knows that the final boss for the decepticons should be Metroplex, Tripticon's evil opposites. That and Chris Latte should have been brought back to play Starscream because Starscream is the only good of Transformers. That and megatrons Mace has a chain, not a stick durp. Admittedly dark energon is a brilliant plot devise. Clearly Henry is loosing his touch... and his power.
  • JeffGoldblum1 - July 31, 2010 2:25 a.m.

    BY THE WAY I DIDN:T ACCIDENTALLY POST THIS 5 TIMES I DID IT FOR EMPHASIS. DUH SHIT HEADS
  • JeffGoldblum1 - July 31, 2010 2:24 a.m.

    This review is obviously biased in the worst way possible. All the fucking mentions of Gears of War show that the idiot who wrote this review is obviously in the pocket of Micro$oft. I mine seriously how much money did they pay this asshole? The word Gears is used 7 TIMES ON THE FIRST DAMN PAGE. Holy fucking shit. This brings me to my second point, shit dick. I would like to bring your attention to the first orange title, GEARS OF WAR, EMPHASIS ON THE GEARS(another stupid ass microsoft call-out microsoft fanboy assholes.) TRANSFORMERS DONT FUCKIN HAVE GEARS. I mean seriosly this Henry Gilbert asshole doesn't know shit about dick about Transformers. How many times have you seen a Transformer with a gear in it? Yeah I didn't fucking think so. NEVER. NOT FUCKING ONCE. The Transformers are living machines that are too fucking advanced for the simplistic gear. I mean seriously gamesradar I know your stupid shit dick reviewers are all going to suck micro$ofts money dick all day long, but you could at least pick one who knows his Transformers. And the gears are just the first Transformers mistake this asshole makes. Second Optimus-Prime is ALWAYS spelled with a hyphen. A true Transformers fan would know this. Hasbro has said in several interviews with REAL TRANSFORMERS FANS(not this stupid asshole Henry Stupid Fuck Gilbert who doesn't anything about Transformers) that Optimus-Prime is the true spelling of the greatest robot hero of our time.AND NOW WE MOVE ONTO THIS IDIOTS THIRD MISTAKE in the second page, this stupid dickhead says that the new voice actors all turn in fresh performances. SERIOUSLY WHAT THE FUCK! OBVIOUSLY THE ONLY GOOD ACTORS ARE THE ORIGINAL ACTORS. Fucking A! I am so fucking pissed right now. ON THE THIRD PAGE HE brings up the stupid animated movie. HOLY SHIT WHO fucking watches the animated movie! THE ONLY TRANSFORMERS THAT IS ACCEPTED AS CANNON IS THE TV SERIES. SHIT even a stupid payed off MICRO$OFT CRONY should know this. GOD I HATE THIS STUPID REVIEW AND THIS STUPID REVIEWER. OBviousLY there are ENDLESS MISTAKES with this review that completely invalidate this review. It should be stricken from Metacritic and removed from the internets immediately it is a blight on the site GAMESRADAER which is a blight on the internet. Serioulsly fuck this stupid sit.e. For a real proper review you should check this site, http://www.gaming-age.com/review/xbox360/transformers_war_for_cybertron GAMING AGE is a site that is seriously reverential to the transformers content. THIS GAME IS SHIT. THIS REVIEW IS SHIT. THIS SITE IS SHIT. GO GAMING AGE. Anyone who disagrees sucks ass.
  • JeffGoldblum1 - July 31, 2010 2:24 a.m.

    This review is obviously biased in the worst way possible. All the fucking mentions of Gears of War show that the idiot who wrote this review is obviously in the pocket of Micro$oft. I mine seriously how much money did they pay this asshole? The word Gears is used 7 TIMES ON THE FIRST DAMN PAGE. Holy fucking shit. This brings me to my second point, shit dick. I would like to bring your attention to the first orange title, GEARS OF WAR, EMPHASIS ON THE GEARS(another stupid ass microsoft call-out microsoft fanboy assholes.) TRANSFORMERS DONT FUCKIN HAVE GEARS. I mean seriosly this Henry Gilbert asshole doesn't know shit about dick about Transformers. How many times have you seen a Transformer with a gear in it? Yeah I didn't fucking think so. NEVER. NOT FUCKING ONCE. The Transformers are living machines that are too fucking advanced for the simplistic gear. I mean seriously gamesradar I know your stupid shit dick reviewers are all going to suck micro$ofts money dick all day long, but you could at least pick one who knows his Transformers. And the gears are just the first Transformers mistake this asshole makes. Second Optimus-Prime is ALWAYS spelled with a hyphen. A true Transformers fan would know this. Hasbro has said in several interviews with REAL TRANSFORMERS FANS(not this stupid asshole Henry Stupid Fuck Gilbert who doesn't anything about Transformers) that Optimus-Prime is the true spelling of the greatest robot hero of our time.AND NOW WE MOVE ONTO THIS IDIOTS THIRD MISTAKE in the second page, this stupid dickhead says that the new voice actors all turn in fresh performances. SERIOUSLY WHAT THE FUCK! OBVIOUSLY THE ONLY GOOD ACTORS ARE THE ORIGINAL ACTORS. Fucking A! I am so fucking pissed right now. ON THE THIRD PAGE HE brings up the stupid animated movie. HOLY SHIT WHO fucking watches the animated movie! THE ONLY TRANSFORMERS THAT IS ACCEPTED AS CANNON IS THE TV SERIES. SHIT even a stupid payed off MICRO$OFT CRONY should know this. GOD I HATE THIS STUPID REVIEW AND THIS STUPID REVIEWER. OBviousLY there are ENDLESS MISTAKES with this review that completely invalidate this review. It should be stricken from Metacritic and removed from the internets immediately it is a blight on the site GAMESRADAER which is a blight on the internet. Serioulsly fuck this stupid sit.e. For a real proper review you should check this site, http://www.gaming-age.com/review/xbox360/transformers_war_for_cybertron GAMING AGE is a site that is seriously reverential to the transformers content. THIS GAME IS SHIT. THIS REVIEW IS SHIT. THIS SITE IS SHIT. GO GAMING AGE. Anyone who disagrees sucks ass.
  • JeffGoldblum1 - July 31, 2010 2:22 a.m.

    This review is obviously biased in the worst way possible. All the fucking mentions of Gears of War show that the idiot who wrote this review is obviously in the pocket of Micro$oft. I mine seriously how much money did they pay this asshole? The word Gears is used 7 TIMES ON THE FIRST DAMN PAGE. Holy fucking shit. This brings me to my second point, shit dick. I would like to bring your attention to the first orange title, GEARS OF WAR, EMPHASIS ON THE GEARS(another stupid ass microsoft call-out microsoft fanboy assholes.) TRANSFORMERS DONT FUCKIN HAVE GEARS. I mean seriosly this Henry Gilbert asshole doesn't know shit about dick about Transformers. How many times have you seen a Transformer with a gear in it? Yeah I didn't fucking think so. NEVER. NOT FUCKING ONCE. The Transformers are living machines that are too fucking advanced for the simplistic gear. I mean seriously gamesradar I know your stupid shit dick reviewers are all going to suck micro$ofts money dick all day long, but you could at least pick one who knows his Transformers. And the gears are just the first Transformers mistake this asshole makes. Second Optimus-Prime is ALWAYS spelled with a hyphen. A true Transformers fan would know this. Hasbro has said in several interviews with REAL TRANSFORMERS FANS(not this stupid asshole Henry Stupid Fuck Gilbert who doesn't anything about Transformers) that Optimus-Prime is the true spelling of the greatest robot hero of our time.AND NOW WE MOVE ONTO THIS IDIOTS THIRD MISTAKE in the second page, this stupid dickhead says that the new voice actors all turn in fresh performances. SERIOUSLY WHAT THE FUCK! OBVIOUSLY THE ONLY GOOD ACTORS ARE THE ORIGINAL ACTORS. Fucking A! I am so fucking pissed right now. ON THE THIRD PAGE HE brings up the stupid animated movie. HOLY SHIT WHO fucking watches the animated movie! THE ONLY TRANSFORMERS THAT IS ACCEPTED AS CANNON IS THE TV SERIES. SHIT even a stupid payed off MICRO$OFT CRONY should know this. GOD I HATE THIS STUPID REVIEW AND THIS STUPID REVIEWER. OBviousLY there are ENDLESS MISTAKES with this review that completely invalidate this review. It should be stricken from Metacritic and removed from the internets immediately it is a blight on the site GAMESRADAER which is a blight on the internet. Serioulsly fuck this stupid sit.e. For a real proper review you should check this site, http://www.gaming-age.com/review/xbox360/transformers_war_for_cybertron GAMING AGE is a site that is seriously reverential to the transformers content. THIS GAME IS SHIT. THIS REVIEW IS SHIT. THIS SITE IS SHIT. GO GAMING AGE. Anyone who disagrees sucks ass.
  • DrJanitor - June 28, 2010 3:01 p.m.

    Out of interest, has anyone tried this on the Wii yet? Wondering if it was any good (yes, except the graphics - we all know!)
  • JADENkOTOR - June 27, 2010 6:27 p.m.

    Oh and the multiplayer is a total rip of Nazi Zombies... probably should have mentioned that that they PAYED HOMAGE to it.
  • JADENkOTOR - June 27, 2010 6:23 p.m.

    Megan Fox is SO sexy... This game is pretty cool I have been playing the demo for awhile now. Its definitely only a rental though. Can some at GR do the tough and gritty work of telling Eric that 1992 wants its hair back. I know you guys are video game nerds but cmon... I havent seen that cut since I was sporting it back in middle school
  • Biopiate - June 24, 2010 6:03 p.m.

    I don't even like the Transformers. Not after Michael Bay. No way. But I really might have to go pick this game up...
  • LaffPiranha - June 23, 2010 5:52 p.m.

    Sounds good to me.
  • Wolverine08 - June 23, 2010 3:47 p.m.

    Transormers fans will get wet dreams over this. The multiplayer customisation most interested me,
  • crumbdunky - June 23, 2010 1:14 p.m.

    You see you say this but I STILL think I could have WAY more fun playing with Megan Fox than with Optimus Prime.
  • SumthingStupid - June 23, 2010 12:28 p.m.

    a negative is that the achievements are confusing, who cares it has nothing to do with the gameplay, you must not have anything else to write
  • Starplatinum - June 23, 2010 12:12 p.m.

    There's an achievement called "I still function"??? I quote that shit in Megatron's gravely voice to my friends all the time as much as i can! Shoot, i wasn hoping to save money but i might need to pick this up if it gives a good share of references to the animated movie....and it actually looks good!

Showing 301-320 of 337 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Jun 22 2010 - DS, Xbox 360, PS3, PC, Wii (US)
Jun 25 2010 - DS, Xbox 360, PS3, PC, Wii (UK)
Available Platforms: DS, Xbox 360, PS3, PC, Wii
Genre: Action
Published by: Activision
Developed by: Vicarious Visions, High Moon Studios, Next Level Games
ESRB Rating:
Teen: Violence
PEGI Rating:
16+