Google+

Naruto Shippuden: Ultimate Ninja Storm 2 review

Mediocre
AT A GLANCE
  • Beautiful fights
  • Full of fan service
  • Giant demon foxes
  • Mash the attack button... a lot
  • Gimmicky mid-battle twists
  • Ludicrous number of loading screens

This article comes courtesy of GamesRadar sister magazine

Final Fantasy: an odd game to reference in a Naruto review, we’ll readily admit, but despite the distinct lack of turn-based battles it’s precisely what Ultimate Ninja Storm 2 reminds us of. Erase all those memories of exploring a sandbox Hidden Leaf Village in Ubisoft’s two (brilliant, if very weird) Naruto titles. Here you’re boxed into a series of fixed-camera scenes and asked to run up and down the same few streets, ferrying items and speaking to people while the same plinky music bores its way into your brain. Just like (you’ve guessed it) Final Fantasy, really.

Occasionally you’ll duck out of the main town and battle somebody in an open-arena scrap. Beyond their beauty, however, the fights are passable without every really excelling. The best you can say about the battles is that the ridiculously beautiful QTE sections are crowd-gathering showpieces – and when the highest praise you can level  at the game involves Quick Time Events, there’s clearly an issue.

Ironically the first Ultimate Ninja Storm was the better game by a mile. Not just because it started the story off at a point where anybody could jump in, but because the free-roaming story mode let you explore outside the sequel’s camera boundaries. And you can’t randomly do that highly wrong and questionable (yet effective) Sexy Jutsu move anymore. We’re disappointed. Believe it and weep.

If you'd like to see more articles from Xbox World 360, you can get a subscription here.

Oct 20, 2010

More Info

Release date: Oct 19 2010 - Xbox 360, PS3 (US)
Oct 15 2010 - Xbox 360, PS3 (UK)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PS3
Published by: Namco Bandai
Developed by: CyberConnect 2
Franchise: Naruto
ESRB Rating:
Teen: Cartoon Violence, Mild Suggestive Themes, Mild Language, Mild Blood
PEGI Rating:
12+

We Recommend By ZergNet

30 comments

  • Japanjack - November 6, 2010 11:19 p.m.

    I wish GR did the review.....
  • stormofdantess - November 1, 2010 1:32 a.m.

    I don't particularly care what anyone thinks about a game I like. But seriously that review was a joke. A 3rd grader could have written that, and really says nothing about the game other than that they got rid of the sandbox village, and that he's QTEphobic. This a joke review and the game deserves a review that actually talks about pros and cons and improvement from the prequel, which it had many. Please put up reviews from actual games radar journalists.
  • McNeelyJ - October 22, 2010 9:25 p.m.

    Anyone else find it odd that there are only one or two reviews for this game out so far? It has been out what a week now? I wasn't thrilled with the first ultimate ninja storm game, and was a much bigger fan of the Broken bond game on the xbox 360. Still disappointed they didn't make this title instead of this tripe.
  • MurdaBug - October 21, 2010 9:40 a.m.

    Naruto Fan(manga)...ok so blaha blah blah the game got a bad review as do all naruto games becuzz all people do iz make fun of the franchise but the fact is if you were to compare this say to SSF4 it be a better overall game in just bout everyway...deeper storyline, great roster of fighters, online play! so why does this game get a worse review....simpley put people need to grasp that everybody's byist in one way or another!! the world of game ratings is nothing to base your purchase off of. I never use this site for reviews simple as a news feed. if you enjoy something or the idea of something play the demo and find out! For everybody out there that puts there trust in random reviews the games gets 7/10....its not that long story wise but what fightin game is. The Fighting is rich an enjoyable...with that being said it has its flaws like load times which is the biggest problem ive found....all in all in u like the naruto franchise your going to be happy with this game if you dont, like the above reviewer you'll end up comparing it to a crappy FF title... Also Crimsonkingx Pointed out the fact that free roam systems are getting tiresome and i agree some people dont like endless wondering to find some dumb liitem to progress the story..DESPITE WHAT PEOPLE BELIEVE WE DO HAVE BETTER THINGS TO DO!!!!
  • d3v - October 21, 2010 2:49 a.m.

    Well they could have posted how the game's fighting system is way to defensive (and how KnJ cancelling totally kills off any offensive pressure). Or how despite being a newer game in a better system, it's still not better to Narutimate Accel 2.
  • ihopethisisnotantistasblood - October 21, 2010 2:31 a.m.

    i agree with amnesiac, anyway..i will buy this
  • Blasto - October 21, 2010 2:01 a.m.

    Personally I have been having a lot of fun with Storm 2. The boss fights are awesome and playing online is very enjoyable.
  • buro13 - October 21, 2010 1:17 a.m.

    Look I'm not Naruto fanatic, but I played the game and it was pretty awesome. This review is like 2 paragraphs only? uhhhhh ok =/ "Matthew Pellett, Xbox World 360 UK", you sir should be fired or take a pay cut for in all honesty half assing your job.
  • smloveskittycats - October 21, 2010 12:52 a.m.

    I also realize that the review is from 360 magazine, so my little blurb is for the writer of it.
  • smloveskittycats - October 21, 2010 12:50 a.m.

    After reading this review, I question if you have even played the game. Your review consisted of three terse, trite and recondite (for lack of a better word) in terms of description. Unproffesional, this review is highly unreliable. I encourage everyone to read IGN's review, which is at least more than four paragraphs.
  • el_kazzanova - October 21, 2010 12:45 a.m.

    all i have to say is yes it has way more loading then most games, yes the fix camera rather than the open world hidden leaf village was something i did not like, but this game is still very well done and it is great, i would give it a 9.
  • OHMYGODIMONFIRE - October 21, 2010 12:33 a.m.

    @Love Yeah, I hated the other 360 naruto games. I'm hoping GR will see all the reactions to this review and write their own... I hate it when they post reviews from other magazines.
  • Amnesiac - October 21, 2010 12:28 a.m.

    Wow. Wasn't expecting so many people coming out of the woodwork to come rushing to this game's aid. But while I'm here, I will say that I don't like this review at all. Not because I disagree (I haven't played the game and I'm largely apathetic toward Naruto in general), but because it's a waste for GR to run reviews from sister mags like this. I know that it's probably orders from on high to plug other publications in the Future network, but the limited space in magazines leads to shorter reviews for games down on the priority list, and that don't fly on the interwebs. And of course people don't pay attention and attribute it to this site (as evidenced here) when GR has nothing to do with it. All in all it just seems to do more harm than good. tl;dr stop posting short, pointless magazine reviews.
  • hppop1 - October 21, 2010 12:23 a.m.

    lol naruto fans are so butthurt right now! joke
  • Love - October 21, 2010 12:11 a.m.

    Before I comment on this review I will make note that I am a naruto fan . Anyways this review in short is utter crap and I was relieved to find out the GR didnt actually write it. That being said the review glazed over the main part of the game which is the fighting. Which anyone , and i can attest to this, can pick up learn in their first match and have fun with it. Second he went on and on about how it sucks because you have to do missions that require you to ferry items through the village and while true that they do suck I believe that most are optional and people only go through the story mode in order to get all the characters and even die hard fans would waste their time doing them. I have more to say but it all involves my inner fanboy beating down this Matthew Pellett using my with verbal threats and swares. P.S. I hated the ubisoft naruto games for the 360 and to this day I niether understand or know if fans, or anyone for that matter, liked those games.
  • neilsantiago - October 20, 2010 11:36 p.m.

    First time commenting around here and I must say that I am disappointed, for the first time, with the review. I've always stood by GR's side all this time and understood the 'fairness' it brought in reviewing games. As much as I disagreed with the review of Halo: Reach, I agreed with its finer points and fully accepted the game's score as it was juuuuust fine. It is understandable that the game(UNS2) should be pulled down by the game's monotonous fetch-me-this-and-that missions, but that isn't the game is all about. This may be the inner Naruto fan shouting out, but the core of the UN series is all about the combat system, which I must say is stunning. I know the previous UN games got half-arsed scores (and as much as I want to disagree, I didn't mind them), but UN2's combat improves on so many levels that playing it (combat-wise) is very much like the anime itself. If I were to make a good 'comparison', this is one of the very first Naruto game quite true to the anime much like the numerous Dragonball Z Budokai games. The jutsus are fast and realistic (much like the animes) and each character's combos (which are quite a lot) remain true to the style of fighting of each character. I just wished this was given a far more serious review. In comparison to the Ubisoft Naruto games, this game's fighting system truly fun to play. I hope that next time the reviews wouldn't come out from the 'short' reviewing sections of a gaming magazine. That is all and thank you!
  • Crimsonkingx - October 20, 2010 11:35 p.m.

    So....again people ripping on a game for having a linear structure for how you go about your missions and simplistic battles with only QTE to break up in between? Sorry pal but...cannot concur with you here. Sounds pure bias bull crap to me. Same reason people ripped on Final Fantasy 13. Linear structure to games they are so used to having free roaming. Sometimes less is more and in this case and in FF13, it works great. I honestly don't know how you, being a professional video game reviewer can still even stand a open world game personally. I am fed up and absolutely sick of them. It is nothing more than filler time to break up shit and add that oh so talked about "length". I know in the 360 versions I was tired of just running around from place to place non stop, going through the town 1 billion times before I beat the game. It is annoying. I don't want to say much more because I know I will only get flamed but, this isn't one the best games I have ever played but I certainly liked it more than all the rest of the Naruto games. You also failed to mention online play this time too, and how it is possibly the most beautiful manga inspired games to date.
  • animeman - October 20, 2010 11:32 p.m.

    This game should of at least goten a 7/10 like the last one. The Shippuden saga is way better and this game fetures online play. But I respect the score because it truly is a game mainly for long going fans not for average persone who knows nothing about the seiries.
  • Revanofsith - October 20, 2010 11:22 p.m.

    Yeah, not that I don't respect the sister mag, but have someone close to home write the review. The game is super fun, and this is one of the few cases where the review won't put me off buying the title.
  • Amnesiac - October 20, 2010 10:01 p.m.

    @shadowreaper72: You may want to read that little sentence at the top of the page, brah. Y'know, the one that explicitly states that GR did not write this review.

Showing 1-20 of 30 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.