GR+ Live: How do you make a classic like Castlevania 3?

  • Castlevania 3: Dracula's Curse is one of the best NES games ever made, a master class in action and style that continues to inform killer games today. No Castlevania 3? No Rogue Legacy, no Odallus, and many, many other killer games. But how do you make a game like Castlevania 3 from scratch?

Moon Kid, the developer behind The Great Gatsby NES and the excellent Satellina, has been honing his skills this decade, making games with a classic feel based on years of studying the classics. We break down how it's done live starting at 4:30PM ET/1:30PM PT/9:30PM GMT.

Dig the show? We air twice a week, so make sure to follow our Twitch channel! When are we live? Here’s our schedule:

Tuesday 4:30PM – 6PM ET/1:30PM – 3PM PT GamesRadar+ joins fascinating folks from every walk of life, playing their favorite games and other treasures from the history of gaming. This is you chance to chat with creators from the world of music, film, comics, and everything else under the sun.

Thursday 4:30PM – 6PM ET/1:30PM – 3PM PT Arthur C. Clarke said that any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic. Maybe that's why video games seem so remarkable. We meet with the creators of the best games to demystify the process.

We recommend