Google+

Enslaved: Odyssey to the West super review

Great
Back to Article

73 comments

  • minimaxi - October 1, 2010 4:19 a.m.

    I played the demo and I saw a 7 game so this is pretty close. Some things that pop off my mind while playing: -seeing current iteration of UE3 in action gives me high hope for Gears 3 in graphical department -Trip is so hot, as in, humanly-possible hot, which makes her twice as hot, not saying I'm against unrealistically hot virtual women ;) -Monkey is an EXCELLENT re-imagining of Sun Go Kong/SonGoku, makes me wonder what Ninja Theory were smoking when they re-imagined Dante :(
  • FauxFurry - October 1, 2010 4:11 a.m.

    I'm pretty sure that this isn't what Ninja Theory intended, but Monkey and Trip's relationship from what I've seen seems less like the one between Sun Wukong/The Money King/Son Goku and Tripitaka but more like that of Inuyasha and Kagome (except that Trip isn't a school girl with spiritual purification powers and Monkey isn't some pretty boy with dog-ears and they're in post-cataclysmic America,not Feudal Japan. Okay,I'll stop there.). The only thing Trip didn't do in the demo is yell out "Sit,Boy!" to make the restraining device put Monkey in his place. Thinking of pointless comparissons,why should anyone compare games like this to God of War at all? It's an action adventure in the vein of Prince of Persia. God of War wasn't the first game of its type or even the first with its theme or basic gameplay. It just refined those things. It's nice to see a game maker put some care into crafting a story,but it looks a bit like one of those games where the main replay value is in wanting to experience the story again rather than new gameplay opportunities (like ICO or Shadow of the Colossus). Can't we get story and genuine replay value in more than Mass Effect 1&2?!
  • Furyspittles - October 1, 2010 3:55 a.m.

    THIS GAME IS AS GOOD AS HALO REACH!?!?!?!?! Ha, no, I kid. Someone had to say it. Good on you for having the balls and reason to say it's better than Ico though, I didn't expect that. I've never played Ico, but a lot of people would swear their nuts by it.
  • AlpineGuy - October 1, 2010 3:09 a.m.

    Looks pretty interesting. I might end up getting it once I get access to a TV. Too bad it's probably going to get bumped out by the other big releases of this month...
  • NightCrawler_358 - October 1, 2010 2:25 a.m.

    Wow! this is already out, and with a great score! To me this looked similar to Dark Void, even though its not... it has that vibe. But i'll definitely have to rent. Great Review!
  • BishopofHippo93 - October 1, 2010 12:02 a.m.

    I really wish I was excited for this game, I've heard and read all kind of good about it. Unfortunately, I hated Heavenly Sword, it just did't do it for me. For me, there's no question that I'll be getting Castlevania instead. I hope everybody else enjoys it.
  • Mamudo - September 30, 2010 11:13 p.m.

    The demo was great and I was considering this game, now I'm sold.
  • Not Snake - September 30, 2010 10:37 p.m.

    This sounds pretty amazing. I'll have to try the demo at the very least.
  • KaiokenKid - September 30, 2010 10:20 p.m.

    @GamesradarMatthewKeast: Made a typo. meant to say: " Matt, in your opinon, do you think most multiplatform games on 360 still outperform their PS3 counterparts, or is this game just a rare case where the PS3 version might be a bit worse? Im really curious if I should just continue to get my multiplatform on 360 as opposed to start getting them on PS3. I know the differences usualy arent big, but differences are differences arent they not? And im a bit of a graphics whore, and I do notice that alot of times the 360 version of a game is less washed out and less blurry then the PS3 version."
  • batmanboy11 - September 30, 2010 9:56 p.m.

    Maybe I'll check this out.
  • Doctalen - September 30, 2010 9:47 p.m.

    Who doesn't like red heads?
  • KaiokenKid - September 30, 2010 9:37 p.m.

    @GamesRadarMatthewKeast: Matt, in your opinon, do you think most multiplatform games still outperform their PS3 counterparts?, or is this game just a rare case where the PS3 version might be a bit worse? Im really curious if I should just continue to get my multiplatform on 360 as opposed to start getting them on PS3. I know the differences usualy arent big, but differences are differences arent they not? And im a bit of a graphics whore, and I do notice that alot of times the 360 version of a game is less washed out and less blurry then the PS3 version.
  • GamesRadarMatthewKeast - September 30, 2010 9:29 p.m.

    The two versions were nearly identical from what I could see. However, note the bugs I mentioned - since they don't happen every time you play, it's possible some rare serious stuff could crop up on the PS3 version. The shadows looked a bit jaggy on PS3 but it was pretty minor and just slightly distracting. If you have the option, I'd suggest going for 360 to be safe.
  • KaiokenKid - September 30, 2010 8:35 p.m.

    hmm, that PS3 thing makes me kinda nervous getting it there. Might go 360. Were teh shadows really that big of a deal? I palyed the demo on PS3 and thought it looked great. Also, is their any texture difference between the two versions?
  • GamesRadarMatthewKeast - September 30, 2010 8:14 p.m.

    I loved Uncharted 2, and the cutscenes were damn good for a videogame, but if you compare the dialogue to Hollywood action movies, it's mostly a bunch of cliches we've heard before (the first Uncharted was worse on that front). The way that the overarching story develops will affect people differently - I'm sure some people won't like where Enslaved goes, so it's hard to say if a person will like the storyline more or less than Uncharted 2. The acting, facial expressions, and the writing of the dialogue is superior in Enslaved, I would say. It feels more like real people talking to each other rather than the slightly-too clever interactions in Uncharted, where they feel like movie characters rather than people.
  • ChipTheExecutioner - September 30, 2010 7:57 p.m.

    On a storytelling standpoint how do you think it compares to Uncharted 2? I was expecting it to be one of "is it better than..." games at the bottom. they sound kinda similar what with the great story, climbing parts, and what not.
  • postITgamer - September 30, 2010 7:08 p.m.

    I cannot wait for this game to come out! But I am torn between this and Castlevania! Let's hope Toys r'us has a buy one get one half off deal next week! www.postitgamer.com
  • GamesRadarMatthewKeast - September 30, 2010 6:13 p.m.

    I'm curious, what happens in the demo? There are definitely parts of the game that wouldn't represent well the overall quality.
  • TheWebSwinger - September 30, 2010 5:59 p.m.

    Nice exclusive! I was pretty unimpressed with the demo though.
  • GamesRadarMatthewKeast - September 30, 2010 5:37 p.m.

    I know ICO is a good game. It's objectively a lovingly crafted experience, and there was nothing like it before it came along. However, I didn't have fun playing it. I really wanted to love that game, but it was just a frustrating, annoying experience for me.

Showing 21-40 of 73 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Oct 05 2010 - Xbox 360, PS3 (US)
Oct 08 2010 - Xbox 360, PS3 (UK)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PS3
Genre: Action
Published by: Namco Bandai
Developed by: Ninja Theory
ESRB Rating:
Teen: Blood, Language, Suggestive Themes, Violence
PEGI Rating:
16+

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.