Google+

Dead Island review

Solid
Back to Article

102 comments

  • Zeos - March 26, 2012 9:13 p.m.

    I am currently having an awesome time with this game.
  • THEBIGJ3 - November 11, 2011 3:34 a.m.

    Seems to be a lot like boarderlands with Zombies, may give this one a a go with my Co-Op buddy
  • THEBIGJ3 - November 11, 2011 3:35 a.m.

    and again but in English: Seems to be a lot like Borderlands with Zombies, may give this one a go with my Co-Op buddy
  • Elementium - November 4, 2011 12:40 p.m.

    The thing that pisses me off.. I counted, it says co-op on the case 5-6 different times. So hey reading the box in the store brother at your side.. you think oh man this will be fun! Get home. No Splitscreen co-op. ffuuuuuuuuu dead island.
  • slimjim792 - September 8, 2011 5:46 a.m.

    most of the glitches seem to revolve around throwing weapons, maybe when i play this i will try to not throw weapons as much. or atleast not the weapons i put alot of money into. still, i'm out of town and my copy of it was picked up, haven't got to play it yet, but still very excited to do so!!
  • goggamanxp - September 7, 2011 5:20 p.m.

    I have a some complaints but other than that it is a pretty good game. 1.The NPC's dialogue acts as if ur character is a guy and guy only. (It's called changing it up just a little for each character) 2.I know I'm being picky on this one, but really you have to level up to use a crowbar. You have to be mentally handicapped to not know how to use a crowbar. 3.A patch came out that lost all ur saves. Well the game needed it for bug reasons, but I just lost 5+ hrs playing this game. Isn't what steam cloud is for. This game was supposed to be game of the year good, but it's not. I like it but yet I'm a little dissapointed.
  • Demsky - September 7, 2011 4:53 p.m.

    Played the game for a few hours last night and had a hard time putting it down might try to sneak an hour or two tonight before bed# will be drained at work tomorrow.
  • Crypto140 - September 7, 2011 3:08 p.m.

    I don't know about everyone else, but the save feature and the dropping in part of online co-op sucks ass for me.
  • LeSieg - September 7, 2011 1:54 p.m.

    I smell a cult classic in the works, if the sheer response to this article and its relatively "meh" score are to be believed.
  • MadMan - September 7, 2011 10:38 a.m.

    I just started chapter 3 of this game and I gotta say, I think it deserves at least a 9 in my book. It is one of the funnest games I have ever played, no joke.
  • presc1ence - September 7, 2011 4:29 a.m.

    serioulsy would it effin kill someone to put the release date on the actual reveiew? It seem unless i go to what ever company is selling the product no one ever wants to tell you when it's out!
  • Lovelost - September 7, 2011 8:04 a.m.

    Hey presc1ence, Reviews normally come out the week of release or the week before. Not always but normally. You can always go to amazon and type in the game and it tells you if its available and if it isnt it tells you the release date.
  • gyromne - September 6, 2011 6:05 p.m.

    i've played a little over and hour so far, and can't wait to get some more zed bashing in. I for 1 really enjoyed it so far.
  • Thequestion 121 - September 6, 2011 5:49 p.m.

    Interesting review.
  • TheGodEmperor - September 6, 2011 5:21 p.m.

    Does anyone know if it's better for PC or Console? Hmm... And why do I have to do a damn captcha code for posting a comment? God damn I'm getting sick of captchas....
  • Zeos - September 6, 2011 4:30 p.m.

    Yeah I really want this game but maybe I'll see if a patch or two alleviates some of those bugs first.
  • taterboob - September 6, 2011 3:27 p.m.

    I've been following this game pretty closely, and overall the reviews have pretty much been what I was expecting. The one thing that scares me even more than the zombies is that one of the reviews described it as "Borderlands with zombies". I absolutely hated Borderlands, despite my best efforts to enjoy it. I'm going to approach DI with cautions optimism, but it's definitely getting a rental by me before I even think about buying it. With all that's coming out this Fall, I'm not ready to plunk 60 bones into an unproven property that multiple reviewers have called out for several potentially game-breaking bugs.

Showing 1-20 of 102 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Sep 06 2011 - PS3, Xbox 360, PC (US)
Sep 09 2011 - PS3, Xbox 360, PC (UK)
Available Platforms: PS3, Xbox 360, PC
Genre: Action
Published by: Deep Silver
Developed by: Techland
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Drug Reference, Intense Violence, Sexual Themes, Strong Language, Use of Alcohol
PEGI Rating:
18+

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.