Skip to main content

Hurt Locker scores awards coup

Kathryn Bigelow’s war movie The Hurt Locker took the spotlight at yesterday’s National Society of Film Critics awards ceremony.

While Bigelow earned the coveted Best Director prize at the prestigious American event, her film bagged Best Picture. Meanwhile, leading man Jeremy Renner took home the Best Actor crown.

The NSFC, which consists of about 60 members of the American press, also honoured Joel and Ethan Coen with a Best Screenplay award for A Serious Man , while Mo’Nique landed the Best Supporting Actress gong for her blinding turn in drama Precious .

Here’s a rundown of the winners:

Best Picture: The Hurt Locker
Best Director: Kathryn Bigelow ( The Hurt Locker )
Best Actor: Jeremy Renner ( The Hurt Locker )
Best Actress: Yolande Moreau ( Seraphine )
Best Supporting Actor: Christoph Waltz ( Inglourious Basterds ) and Paul Schneider ( Bright Star )
Best Supporting Actress: Mo'Nique ( Precious )
Best Screenplay: Joel and Ethan Coen ( A Serious Man )
Best Foreign-Language Film: Summer Hours
Best Nonfiction Film: The Beaches of Agnes
Best Cinematography: Christian Berger ( The White Ribbon )
Best Production Design: Nelson Lowry ( Fantastic Mr Fox )

In related news, Renner also spoke to Moveline in the past couple of days and revealed that he won’t be playing Hawkeye in either Thor or the Avengers movie. “There's truth that we talked about it, but there's no truth to me doing it,” the actor said. Bummer.

Surprised? Think the NSFC missed any? Comments below...