Google+

Yakuza 3 Super Review

AT A GLANCE
  • Using furniture to kill criminals
  • An epic, beautifully directed plot
  • Exploring a hugely modern, authentic-feeling Tokyo
  • It frequently looks like ass
  • The opening, painfully slow first four hours
  • Your eyes going funny as you try to read tiny text-based conversations

There once was an ugly... eh, Japanese criminal

Sadly, these scenes, which the PS3 renders in real-time, also bring into sharp focus just how dang fugly the rest of the game really is. Honestly, when you wander the streets and see nothing but ugly textures and crowds that pop in and out of sight, it’s hard to argue much of this couldn’t have been done on the PS2.

It’s not only the graphics that lets things down. The animation is also pretty archaic, with a run animation that makes Kiryu look like The Terminator… if he had a lump of coal shoved up his android ass.


Above: Why did Kaz have to take the Terminator's rubbish movement? The whole bullet-proof body thing would have been way more useful

Probably the biggest shame is the voice acting, or lack of it. With almost 300 minutes of quality dialogue recorded for cutscenes, it’s a pity most of the in-game conversations you have are text-based. This might have been OK in the PS2 days, but post Mass Effect, these shortcuts just don’t slice the sushi anymore.


Make it Japan

Don’t let that you put you off forking out the cash for this, though. We might moan about its technical failings, but this is still a game that packs in a hell of a lot of defiantly daft fun over 20+ hours.


Above: Yakuza's take on UFC is brilliant, brutal, but thankfully less sweaty than the official game

Whether you just want a brilliant, brutal brawler, a game that let’s you sink putts on a sun-kissed Okinawa back nine or a compelling crime story; this has you covered. Put simply: it’s as close to GTA Japan as we’re likely to get anytime soon.


Is it better than...

GTA IV? Nah. While there’s loads more to do in Yakuza’s Tokyo than Liberty City, the scale of the metropolis is far less ambitious. Only a small part of the city has been recreated for the game, even if it has been made with a startling eye for detail. It’s ultimately the variety of GTA’s missions and productions values that prevents Kaz from besting Niko.

Infamous? Yup. Sega’s game has a far better script and characters you can actually emphasise with, rather than some rubbish plot starring generic Johnny Bald Man. Kamurocho and Okinawa are also far more fun places to explore than Infamous’ dismally dreary Empire City. Sucker Punch’s game may have the technical edge, but it can’t compete with Yakuza’s depth or sense of fun.

Shenmue? No. Both games are fairly similar, in that there’s loads of talking to folk, usually followed up by booting the same folk in the spuds. But where Sega’s decade old Eastern Adventure triumphs is the thrill of exploration it gives you. Shenmue is less linear and more challenging than Yakuza 3 and often demands lateral thinking to progress. Every conversation you have in the game is also fully recorded, too, unlike Yakuza’s cheap text chat. Not bad for a Dreamcast game, eh?


Just for you, Metacritic

A big, exciting martial arts film wrapped up in one of the most brilliantly stupid and consistently entertaining game worlds you’ll ever find. Graphically, it might be a bit last-gen, but we doubt you’ll care when you can beat men to death with bikes

More Info

Release date: Mar 09 2010 - PS3 (US)
Available Platforms: PS3
Genre: Action
Published by: Sega
Developed by: Sega
Franchise: Yakuza
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood, Sexual Themes, Strong Language, Use of Alcohol, Violence
PEGI Rating:
18+

26 comments

  • philipshaw - March 11, 2010 3:46 p.m.

    Getting this for my Birthday, which is a couple of weeks away and I'm glad it got a good review
  • DarkxxElement - March 11, 2010 1:12 p.m.

    "How to Raise Parentless Pipsqueaks 3" That really made me LOL this article is funny as cheese. ReCaptcha: Traded Carne
  • Rubberducky - March 10, 2010 10:26 p.m.

    @Mateoc If I made a website called www.all10sforPS3.com and did nothing but give PS3 games 10/10 would it make you happier?
  • MateoC - March 10, 2010 9:44 p.m.

    @DeviousMonkey I didn't say the PS3 games were perfect. I said they were, "legitimately good." I just find it ridiculous that the reviewer has gone out of his way to attack an eight month old game. I find it especially ridiculous that he is comparing to unlike games for the sake of ripping another one apart. I mean seriously Yakuza 3 and inFamous aren't even in the same genre. Yakuza 3 is 3rd person a beat-um-up while inFamous is a 3rd person platformer/shooter.
  • GodofPS314 - March 10, 2010 9:04 p.m.

    Call me dumb, but I didn't think much of GTA4. I respect how it is so indepth and has a good story, but it is so self indulgent for some reason to me. Plus Co-op and Multiplayer mean alot to me. I probably won't get this purely because the only part of GTA4 was roaming around and putting in cheats the story made me snore.
  • Amatarasu - March 10, 2010 8:27 p.m.

    God! who cares if it looks like an ass, i want to know about the gameplay, not the pretty colors
  • twinkletitsMcGee - March 10, 2010 4:56 p.m.

    @MateoC Well they are on Microsoft's payroll so that is probably why they hate on all the Sony games. Or maybe this is just another piece of shit rip off of GTA.
  • sleepy92ismypsn - March 10, 2010 2:27 p.m.

    this game doesn't just have cheap text talk like pokemon games it has people speaking in japanese with english subtitles theres a big difference and the one you guys failed to mention is way cooler. ill add this to the neverending list of games i want to play. i already play video games at least 5 hours a day and im still behind this year. oh well i guess ill have to quit work
  • DeviousMonkey - March 10, 2010 10:40 a.m.

    @MateoC Really... You actually believe this? So criticism is fine as long as it's not a PS3 exclusive? Just cause it's a PS3 exclusive doesn't make it perfect.
  • SuperNintendoChalmers - March 10, 2010 3:53 a.m.

    Ugh...I am happy this game got a good score and all, but my poor wallet is malnourished enough as it is...Companies, don't release any games this summer. I have about a 30 title backlog.
  • Cyberninja - March 10, 2010 1:19 a.m.

    infamous is a game for people who like sly cooper and yakuza is for people who like Gta dont compare them
  • MateoC - March 10, 2010 1:02 a.m.

    @Pocotron Actually they like hating on many PS3 games in their reviews. Just from what I've read recently, they have blatantly said Killzone 2 is boring and has little variety, MAG's teamwork doesn't happen naturally and is generic and right now inFamous has a generic story and is not very fun. Also, we can't forget the weeks they spent bagging on Heavy Rain's story. This site may give some PS3 games high scores, but they are usually games that have huge followings. The others that aren't as lucky to have big followings, they go out of their way to hate on, even if the games are legitimately good.
  • JoeGBallad - March 9, 2010 9:47 p.m.

    Forgot to mention, the graphics in this game are lovely. I don't care about a funny walking animation (hell, the Metal Gear Solid series has always had that) and the bright lights of Kamurucho are infinitely more impressive than most shitty grey games out the now.
  • JoeGBallad - March 9, 2010 9:42 p.m.

    I've always loved the Yakuza games, especially their 'up-yours' mentality towards other games; the action is imprecise, messy and meaty where other games like God of War and Heavenly Sword et al seem to have no 'connection' between the player and the acrobatics of the protagonists. I'm getting a bit tired of reviews demanding voice acting though. There's nothing wrong with reading text and saving the voice-acting for the more dramatic cut-scenes. The argument that Mass Effect can do it and so should everything else doesn't really stand. In fact, I much prefer text because you can read through it quickly instead of waiting for some pish voice actor stumble his way through the lines. haha, how's that for a first post?
  • Samael - March 9, 2010 9:20 p.m.

    Damn, I wish you would've mentioned if the non-japnese version took out hostess clubs or not. I know they took out one non-essential mission involving them, but if they took them out completley I'm gonna be pissed.
  • Pocotron - March 9, 2010 9:15 p.m.

    Yup. You guys love hating on inFamous. THAT never gets old...
  • metalgatesolid - March 9, 2010 8:19 p.m.

    Any idea if they are going to do a God of War and release a Yakuza 1 & 2 re-make in nice and shiny hi-def? Id love that.
  • b8z - March 9, 2010 8 p.m.

    Good to see it scored well and a good review, even better seeing as it was originally released just over a year ago which the graphics show (don't think they've been updated either). But I've got to agree with crumbdunky's comments about comparing it to inFamous, and in the inFamous comparison "rather than some rubbish plot starring generic Johnny Bald Man", yes I agree that his look was pretty generic, but rubbish plot? wow, just wow.
  • lovinmyps3 - March 9, 2010 6:20 p.m.

    Yay!! I've been looking forward to this game!! =)
  • Ru89 - March 9, 2010 6:08 p.m.

    you had me at def jam: fight for new york. 1 of my favorite games!!!!!

Showing 1-20 of 26 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000