Google+

X-Men Origins: Wolverine Uncaged Edition review

AT A GLANCE
  • Brutal, bloody, beastly violence
  • Some quite tricky puzzle bits
  • Amusing cutscenes
  • Quickly becomes repetitive
  • Cutscenes should've been more interactive
  • Action is ultimately derivative

But, as we mentioned earlier, the fun doesn’t last. The game tries to keep the combat varied by offering up enemies that have to be killed in certain ways. There are robot spiders that fire missiles you have to whack back with your claws to destroy, guards with shields you have to get behind to damage and giant rock monsters you have to lunge at and then attack before they swat you away like a tiny, hairy fly.

These foes make for entertaining battles the first few times you encounter them, but the developers insist on making you fight them over and over until all the fun is stripped away and you find yourself going through the motions. Same goes for the puzzles and level design. Again, they’re fine for the first few hours, but get repeated ad nauseam. It’s a long game, clocking in at about 12 hours, but we can’t help but feel there’s more game here than there are ideas to fill it.

But at least it looks consistently nice, with visuals way beyond what you’d expect from a blockbuster-accompanying, film tie-in. The majority of the game takes place in the African jungle, but you’ll also visit the snowy barrens of Canada and the secret underground Weapon X laboratory where Logan first gets his adamantium skeleton. Wolverine himself looks incredible with a spot-on Hugh Jackman likeness. But best of all, as you take damage or get shot at, your skin tears in real-time, revealing your metallic skeleton glinting below. Then, as your health restores, you see the wounds heal and regenerate. It’s a really impressive effect and also a useful visual indicator of how your health is faring. In one level an air strike tears so much meat from your body that you’re basically reduced to a skeleton. Although your jeans miraculously never seem to take any damage. Hmmm.

The levels may be linear and the action derivative of a million other games that have preceded it (God of War, Onimusha, Genji, Dynasty Warriors, Devil May Cry etc.), but a surprising amount of polish, bold visuals and a decent story make Wolverine well worth playing, regardless of any preconceptions you may have about licensed titles. It loses appeal about halfway through, thanks to an over-reliance on recycling puzzles and enemies, but for those first few hours it’s viciously entertaining. It may be one to rent rather than buy, although you should add a few extra points if you’re a rabid Wolverine/X-Men fan. This is the first of many games featuring Logan as the hero that really give you the feeling of ‘being’ the world’s angriest mutant. Just a shame it’s so short-lived.

May 1, 2009

More Info

Release date: May 01 2009 - Xbox 360, PS3, PC (US)
May 01 2009 - Xbox 360, PS3, PC (UK)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PS3, PC
Genre: Action
Published by: Activision
Developed by: Raven Software
Franchise: X-Men
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Language
PEGI Rating:
18+

25 comments

  • Darkhawk - November 25, 2011 10:24 p.m.

    I had to laugh at the top comment. Just bought this at GameStop for $5! That's five Canada-bucks :D
  • Dill - August 7, 2009 3:44 a.m.

    This game was fun, I bought it at Gamestop used for $54. I beat it on Normal, and I didn't die at all through the whole game--except at this one part where I died three or four times in a row where you have to fight FIVE tall chicks with staffs. They can stab you, then you gotta tap B to pull it out, but since there are four others, they take turns stabbing you. You're pretty much fucked if you run out of rage when you can use the Claw Sping attack.
  • gamer49 - June 17, 2009 4:57 a.m.

    i am a very happy person mostly because wolverine is not running around with his yellow and blue tights on.
  • cubsfan101 - June 14, 2009 3:42 a.m.

    I'm going to rent this game tomorrow.
  • Garry - June 13, 2009 3:15 p.m.

    AWESOME game,,, put the cheat and end the game... gameplay like god of war love it man
  • DawgsFan117 - May 3, 2009 5:01 p.m.

    Saw the movie friday and rented the game saturday. I have to say it was much more than I expected. The sheer amount of gora makes this game so damn fun and once you get all the moves down you can turn around 20 bad guys into a pile of limbs and guts in a matter of seconds. I have to say that the thing that was most impressive was the regeneration of Logans body. It was so seemless and made you feel so bad ass to have someone blow the skin off ur face then leap, grab them, and impale them on a wall while your skin grows back. GO RENT IT
  • Unholy2 - May 3, 2009 3:24 p.m.

    I'm going out right now to get it
  • Neurotoxin - May 3, 2009 7:43 a.m.

    I see nothing wrong with a 7, just an average game. To be honest, some of the games I kept coming back to for several months were perfectly average. The original Soldier of Fortune comes to mind (also a Raven software title.) I still remember the same enemy that pops out of a corner and flips over a soda machine in the first level, did it without fail every single time. Not every game that comes out can be a masterpiece of modern entertainment, doesn't have to be either. If it's got a solid 12 hours behind it and some interesting gameplay/gore repetitiveness can be very easy to overlook.
  • noobmasteroftehworld - May 2, 2009 6:18 p.m.

    i hope the movies good
  • jar-head - May 2, 2009 5:10 p.m.

    cant wait for Terminator Salvation
  • LordRevan111 - May 2, 2009 1:27 p.m.

    For a movie game, not bad
  • Romination - May 2, 2009 6:25 a.m.

    @dan: 7 is a fantasmagoric score, my dear. be happy!
  • lava_lamp - May 2, 2009 12:25 a.m.

    about what i expected
  • Dill - August 7, 2009 3:45 a.m.

    Oh, and I'm going to return it for $54 back tomorrow.
  • Roboosh - June 28, 2009 1 p.m.

    lots of fun too many puzzles
  • jay123456789 - June 1, 2009 2:38 a.m.

    this games pretty good it needs to go for longer
  • pogo - May 27, 2009 10:57 a.m.

    ill bet hte game actually is good if u want to see this game ranked better go to gameinformer
  • MrWordman - May 23, 2009 4:26 p.m.

    Bought it used the other day. Totally worth it if you love over the top brutality and games like God of War. I give it a 7.5/10
  • DOUGLER82 - May 16, 2009 5:55 p.m.

    Was pretty damb good, had a lot of the gd gm eliments to it. Raydar gm gets better as you go easy controls and no pg13 rating........CHECK IT OUT DUDE!!!!!!!
  • jtslugmaster10 - May 13, 2009 1:12 a.m.

    played the demo as well not bad at all but mayb ill just wait to buy it cheaper used rather then renting it. either way not bad so far as the score and demo point to

Showing 1-20 of 25 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000