Google+

X-Men Origins: Wolverine Uncaged Edition review

AT A GLANCE
  • Brutal, bloody, beastly violence
  • Some quite tricky puzzle bits
  • Amusing cutscenes
  • Quickly becomes repetitive
  • Cutscenes should've been more interactive
  • Action is ultimately derivative

For the first five hours Wolverine is brilliant. There’s nothing particularly original or inspiring about it – it’s just loads of vicious, bloody, stupid fun. It craps all over recent travesties such as Iron Man, Watchmen and The Incredible Hulk and proves that film spin-offs can be decent if the developers put the effort in. But then it starts repeating itself. The same enemies, puzzles and locations are wheeled out time and time again, meaning the excitement quickly gives way to familiarity and boredom. But those first five hours almost make it worth it, for a range of reasons that we’re about to explain.

Making things die in this game is a ridiculous amount of fun. The thrill of being a super-fast, super-strong, virtually indestructible mutant with retractable, razor-sharp claws is captured perfectly by the slick, dynamic combat. The simple God of War-style combos aren’t anything we haven’t seen before – heavy attacks, light attacks, throws – but it’s the sheer speed and brutality of Logan’s moves that make the game so appealing. He literally tears through enemies, slicing off their arms and legs, cutting them in half, driving them into walls and impaling them on surrounding scenery.

But it’s the lunge ability that we love the most. Lock onto a nearby enemy (or not-so-nearby, that’s the beauty of this attack) and then fling yourself towards them. Then, depending on what combo you use, you’ll either slash at them with your claws or pick them up and toss them – either into other enemies or handily-placed skewers. A light attack will enable you to repeatedly slam your claws into their chest, while a heavy attack sees Logan leap into the air and slam them into the goon’s face in slow-motion as he pleads for mercy. Like we said; this game is terrifyingly brutal.

In fact, it’s even rated higher than the movie. And it makes the most of its adult rating at every single opportunity, especially during the mid-level cutscenes. Occasionally, an action you perform such as jumping over a bridge or lunging at an enemy) will then segway seamlessly into a cutscene.

They’re like quick-time events without the brainless button-bashing and some of them are hilariously violent. For example, in an early level Wolverine leaps onto a helicopter, pulls the pilot out and shoves his head into the spinning rotors, jumping off at the last second as the helicopter spirals to the ground and crashes. In another, he impales an enemy on the end of a gun emplacement then turns it on the rest of his buddies, Rambo-style. These bits are a pleasure to watch rather than intrusive and they’ll have you punching the air and whooping with delight. They could have been a bit more interactive though.

More Info

Release date: May 01 2009 - Xbox 360, PS3, PC (US)
May 01 2009 - Xbox 360, PS3, PC (UK)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PS3, PC
Genre: Action
Published by: Activision
Developed by: Raven Software
Franchise: X-Men
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Language
PEGI Rating:
18+

25 comments

  • Darkhawk - November 25, 2011 10:24 p.m.

    I had to laugh at the top comment. Just bought this at GameStop for $5! That's five Canada-bucks :D
  • Dill - August 7, 2009 3:44 a.m.

    This game was fun, I bought it at Gamestop used for $54. I beat it on Normal, and I didn't die at all through the whole game--except at this one part where I died three or four times in a row where you have to fight FIVE tall chicks with staffs. They can stab you, then you gotta tap B to pull it out, but since there are four others, they take turns stabbing you. You're pretty much fucked if you run out of rage when you can use the Claw Sping attack.
  • gamer49 - June 17, 2009 4:57 a.m.

    i am a very happy person mostly because wolverine is not running around with his yellow and blue tights on.
  • cubsfan101 - June 14, 2009 3:42 a.m.

    I'm going to rent this game tomorrow.
  • Garry - June 13, 2009 3:15 p.m.

    AWESOME game,,, put the cheat and end the game... gameplay like god of war love it man
  • DawgsFan117 - May 3, 2009 5:01 p.m.

    Saw the movie friday and rented the game saturday. I have to say it was much more than I expected. The sheer amount of gora makes this game so damn fun and once you get all the moves down you can turn around 20 bad guys into a pile of limbs and guts in a matter of seconds. I have to say that the thing that was most impressive was the regeneration of Logans body. It was so seemless and made you feel so bad ass to have someone blow the skin off ur face then leap, grab them, and impale them on a wall while your skin grows back. GO RENT IT
  • Unholy2 - May 3, 2009 3:24 p.m.

    I'm going out right now to get it
  • Neurotoxin - May 3, 2009 7:43 a.m.

    I see nothing wrong with a 7, just an average game. To be honest, some of the games I kept coming back to for several months were perfectly average. The original Soldier of Fortune comes to mind (also a Raven software title.) I still remember the same enemy that pops out of a corner and flips over a soda machine in the first level, did it without fail every single time. Not every game that comes out can be a masterpiece of modern entertainment, doesn't have to be either. If it's got a solid 12 hours behind it and some interesting gameplay/gore repetitiveness can be very easy to overlook.
  • noobmasteroftehworld - May 2, 2009 6:18 p.m.

    i hope the movies good
  • jar-head - May 2, 2009 5:10 p.m.

    cant wait for Terminator Salvation
  • LordRevan111 - May 2, 2009 1:27 p.m.

    For a movie game, not bad
  • Romination - May 2, 2009 6:25 a.m.

    @dan: 7 is a fantasmagoric score, my dear. be happy!
  • lava_lamp - May 2, 2009 12:25 a.m.

    about what i expected
  • Dill - August 7, 2009 3:45 a.m.

    Oh, and I'm going to return it for $54 back tomorrow.
  • Roboosh - June 28, 2009 1 p.m.

    lots of fun too many puzzles
  • jay123456789 - June 1, 2009 2:38 a.m.

    this games pretty good it needs to go for longer
  • pogo - May 27, 2009 10:57 a.m.

    ill bet hte game actually is good if u want to see this game ranked better go to gameinformer
  • MrWordman - May 23, 2009 4:26 p.m.

    Bought it used the other day. Totally worth it if you love over the top brutality and games like God of War. I give it a 7.5/10
  • DOUGLER82 - May 16, 2009 5:55 p.m.

    Was pretty damb good, had a lot of the gd gm eliments to it. Raydar gm gets better as you go easy controls and no pg13 rating........CHECK IT OUT DUDE!!!!!!!
  • jtslugmaster10 - May 13, 2009 1:12 a.m.

    played the demo as well not bad at all but mayb ill just wait to buy it cheaper used rather then renting it. either way not bad so far as the score and demo point to

Showing 1-20 of 25 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000