Google+

Warhammer 40,000: Space Marine review

Back to Article

31 comments

  • Security77 - September 9, 2011 5:31 p.m.

    The main character isn't bald? Well now I'm definitely not getting this!
  • profile0000 - September 9, 2011 5:20 p.m.

    Good review, Grimm. Being a big 40k fan, I picked this up at launch and am having a lot of simple fun with it. I would rate it a little higher, but I can see how a "7" is probably the exact score for this game.
  • Rowdie - September 9, 2011 5:13 p.m.

    I'm not sure the gears of war take is all to fair. The cover system is huge in that game and doesn't even exist in this title, plus the melee is vastly different. It's no more Gears of war gameplay than it is any other given 3rd person shooter. Good dumb fun is close but I'd give it more credit than dumb. You won't wade carelessly through the horde. The QTE ending is enough to make me tell everyone to run from the game as fast as possible, but if that kind of cheap game play BS doesn't make you want to let the air out of relics' collective tires then by all means buy the game because the fun factor is way up there. I also hate noob nerfing in vs with a passion but the ability to steal your killers load out, the rather quick advancement, and the limited number of perks and such combine to make Space Marine's implementation of this dreaded mechanic just bearable. The jump jet portions are especially sweet and the mass of enemies that pass as boss battles keep adrenaline peaked almost too long at times. Don't hesitate 'cause you'll want to get into multiplayer while there's still multiplayers around.
  • Rowdie - September 9, 2011 5:14 p.m.

    I swear I used hard returns and such... two hard returns.. two more.. test...
  • ObliqueZombie - September 9, 2011 5:06 p.m.

    Eh, I don't exactly agree with the review. For one, you hardly mentioned what it did RIGHT, and instead focused on its little nit-picky problems. BUT. When I say I don't agree, I say this: I'd give it an 8. I mean hell, at least the game's finished (DEAD ISLAND *COUGH COUGH*). But I speak with much, much, MUCH (MUCH) bias: I'm a huge Warhammer 40k nut. Though I can't deny it was a safe execution, merely testing the waters in Third-person shooting/hack-n-slash. I hope to GOD it creates a sequel, and adds the limitless amounts of lore into the game. I mean, THINK about all the weapons and aliens and mechanics they could've brought into the game! At least they outdid every game in the multiplayer universe in the customization department. Hell, go level up some, then look at your Bolter. It's surprising how many little details they crammed into the game.
  • Gotxxrock - September 9, 2011 5:20 p.m.

    Amen brother. I hope, due to the ending (no spoiler, don't worry), that the sequel dwells further into the paranoia and espionage of the Inquisition, and a generally more galactic spanning narrative. The way Relic needs to remedy the storylines of their games is bring Dan Abnett in, the one man who can actually write good literature set in the 40K universe.
  • angelusdlion - September 11, 2011 9:58 p.m.

    Um. Isn't the job of a game reviewer to tell you what is wrong and right with the game? I'm a 40K nut myself, also love beat em ups, but I firmly agree with this rating. And pretty much for the sam ereasons.
  • Gotxxrock - September 9, 2011 4:43 p.m.

    Hey everybody: Here's the official micro Gotxxrock review: Even being a 40K nutball, I think Michael's rating is more than fair. Its a great veneration to the universe that many have been participating in now for almost 25 years, and is good mindless fun, but if you aren't initiated with the series, you might find yourself lost and annoyed at the game's presentation and less than innovative gameplay. I'm surprised that Relic opted with the most vanilla of Space Marine chapters, the Ultramarines, rather than a darker, more intrigue filled chapter like the Soul Drinkers, Dark Angels, their own studio engineered Blood Ravens, or maybe even Lamenters. Any spotlight on those chapters' plights and perils would have made the story infinitely less trite and boring. Some of those are lesser known chapters, this is true, but it doesn't really matter when you're trying to reach a broader audience that knows nothing of 40K. This game is nothing special. To fans, its an immersive chance to step into a universe we've been viewing from a birds eye view for too long (Just pretending that Fire Warrior never happened). To others, it might seem like mildly delicious generic pie to keep them satiated while waiting for the holiday season to pump into gear. Keep this in mind though: If you want to see and experience one of the most influential intellectual properties, one seconded only by the likes of Star Wars and LOTR, one that has influenced Star Craft, Gears of War, Fallout, and just about every dark, gritty Sci-Fi you can think of, then pick up this game.
  • Mexicutioner - September 9, 2011 4:31 p.m.

    "Gears of War 40,000 (years late to the party)" Made me laugh so much. I really liked the demo. Looks like I, too, have to wait for a price drop.
  • saya-MON - September 9, 2011 4:30 p.m.

    Yeah, was excited to get it, but after this review, I too, will be waiting till the price drops.
  • tareq - September 9, 2011 4:18 p.m.

    Probably gonna wait till it's 30-40 Looks like fun though

Showing 21-31 of 31 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Available Platforms: PS3, Xbox 360, PC
Genre: Role Playing
Published by: THQ
Developed by: Relic
Franchise: Warhammer
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence