Google+

Vanquish super review

AT A GLANCE
  • Ridiculously fast, sometimes to a silly degree
  • Continually springs cool new surprises on players
  • Relentlessly fun, even during "ordinary" firefights
  • Waiting for the suit to cool down
  • Heavy use of motion blur can make visuals look fuzzy
  • Over just a little too soon

In the first few levels alone, for example, you’ll be slammed against an Omaha Beach-style wall of machinegun defenses, during which you can hijack the enemy’s robot walkers and machinegun turrets as enormous spaceships crash all around you. Then you’ll get to take down an impossibly huge walking tank with glowing weak-point joints that, when “defeated,” transforms into an even tougher humanoid form, and eventually squeezes you into a couple of simple but ultra-slick quicktime sequences before it goes down.


Above: It also does this when its first stage “dies.” What a crybaby! 

After that, you’ll face off against an alarmingly fast tank tricked out with giant sawblades, and then you’ll need to slowly lead a floodlight-bearing APC to safety through a dark tunnel filled with giant, tentacled bomb-things. Then you’ll be sent hurtling down a superfast monorail track against the backdrop of a richly detailed cityscape, where you’ll be forced to rapidly clear another train of enemies before it can crash into your own.

Again: those are just the opening levels. Vanquish’s biggest strength is that it’s able to almost constantly come up with something new and cool to see, do or shoot at, making for an experience that always manages to feel fresh and engaging despite its relentless pace. In between all these thundering events, you’ll spend most of your time chewing your way through hordes of rank-and-file robot grunts – but even these fights are so well-designed and varied that they never feel like a slog. Even when the newness finally wears off and the game calms down to a more steady pace, it still manages to dig out a few surprising ways to throw you for a loop before booting you into a fantastically bloody, all-bets-are-off finale.

The downside, of course, is that no game can sustain this kind of pace for long. Vanquish can be slammed through in about six to eight hours, although nearly every second of that feels like a rollercoaster ride, and I never felt cheated by the length. There’s also some replay value here, much of it in going back through the surprisingly fun-to-replay story to find and destroy all the hidden Pangloss statues (one of several odd references the game makes to the classic satirical novel Candide), or just to improve your score, assuming you actually care about that.

Also, crashing your way through the story will earn you access to the game’s Challenge levels, a handful of Horde mode-like stages that pit you against overwhelming odds and challenge you to hold out for as long as possible. It’s not as much fun as an actual multiplayer Horde mode would be, but it’s still enjoyable if you’re in the mood for throwing yourself against enormous waves of baddies until you die.

Shortcomings aside, Vanquish is a brilliant, wildly enjoyable shooter that isn’t quite like anything else on the market right now. We won’t go so far as to assert that it’ll do for shooters what, say, Devil May Cry did for action games – but all the same, we’d be pretty happy if it did.


Is it better than…?

Quantum Theory? Yes. God yes. Quantum Theory and Vanquish are only really similar in that they’re both Gears of War-style shooters created by Japanese developers for an American audience, but they’re linked in that A) they arrived within a month of each other, and B) Vanquish is basically the opposite of Quantum Theory. Everything QT does wrong, Vanquish does right, from the pacing and characters to the level design and action. True, we can’t throw a vapid sword-girl at a giant, pointy-elbowed sack of glistening poop in Vanquish, but we think we can live with that.


Gears of War 2? No, but only because Gears 2 has one important thing that Vanquish doesn’t: multiplayer. And while we respect that Vanquish was never meant to be a multiplayer game, it’s still a feature that’s given Gears 2 a long shelf life, and made it an overall fuller experience. Also, Vanquish’s unlockable Challenge levels – which pretty clearly have a lot in common with Gears’ Horde mode – would have been a hell of a lot more enjoyable to tackle with a few friends.

 

Bayonetta? Yes, but only just. It might seem weird to compare two games that play completely differently from each other – one’s a cover-based shooter, the other’s a Devil May Cry-style slash ‘em-up – or to say that the one that scored a 10 in January is somehow inferior. But Platinum Games’ last effort, despite being awesome, still managed to leave a bad taste in some mouths thanks to an unforgiving, relentless level of difficulty that let players scrape by with mediocre performances, but mocked them for it afterward. Vanquish can be tough, but it wants you to succeed, and to feel great about succeeding. So while it retains much of Bayonetta’s darkly smirking sense of fun, it never makes fun of you if you suck.


Just for you, Metacritic!

Insanely fast and relentlessly fun, Vanquish manages to keep up a breakneck pace almost throughout its entire runtime, never quite slowing down enough to get boring. Of all the Gears of War-alikes we’ve played, this may be the best.

Oct 19, 2010

More Info

Release date: Oct 21 2010 - PS3
Oct 19 2010 - Xbox 360 (US)
Oct 22 2010 - PS3, Xbox 360 (UK)
Available Platforms: PS3, Xbox 360
Genre: Shooter
Published by: Sega
Developed by: Platinum Games
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Strong Language
PEGI Rating:
18+

81 comments

  • Sleuth - October 21, 2010 4:17 p.m.

    Looking forward to picking this up.
  • McNeelyJ - October 21, 2010 2:51 p.m.

    How is this game scoring so well? Is it better than the demo that was released on xbox live...because that left me very unimpressed.
  • InfinityPrimo - October 21, 2010 2:20 p.m.

    In Japan right now playing Vanquish as it is already the 21st. Really fun but I'm going to be honest. This game absolutely needs multiplayer. I still can't believe it doesn't have it. In my mind its great. Good pace, fun to play, not very original but it hits the head on what videogames are meant to be at times, SIMPLY FUN. My only gripe is multiplayer. THATS IT
  • AngryScotsman - October 21, 2010 1:51 p.m.

    @GamesRadarMikelReparaz There actually is a tutorial in the demo, a very thorough one, in fact. I immensely enjoyed the demo and I'm sure that I will immensely enjoy the full experience, however I do not possess enough monies for which to trade at the electronic merchant stall. I may have to part with a sheep.
  • Cruddi - October 21, 2010 12:48 p.m.

    is that a mistake the double "b)" at the end of the first page?
  • TheCommunist - October 21, 2010 4:03 a.m.

    Lol killing commies is fun. This game looks amazing as well
  • 19Pakk99 - October 20, 2010 11:57 p.m.

    I have no idea how the word "Impowdy" got inserted into my post. It must have been the wine.
  • 19Pakk99 - October 20, 2010 11:55 p.m.

    Played the demo. This game blows. The cover system is broken. The player model seems detached from the game world. The animations are horrendous.Impowdy If your idea of a great game is a mindless shoot-a-thon, then you'll love Vanquish. Maybe the full game is better than the demo, but I doubt it.
  • GamesRadarMikelReparaz - October 20, 2010 10:14 p.m.

    At the risk of sounding like an ass, are those of you who think the demo's boring sure you're playing it right? Have you tried rocket boosting, shooting while boosting, or aiming in the middle of a dodge roll to manually enter bullet time? I just worry maybe some of you aren't taking full advantage of everything you can do, especially since I understand there's no tutorial in the demo. Or that maybe you're playing too cautiously, when you're supposed to be balls-out reckless. If you've done all that stuff and you still think it's dull, then I don't know what to tell you. I guess we'll have to agree to disagree.
  • Pruman - October 20, 2010 8:32 p.m.

    After playing through the demo four times last night, this has gone from "wait and see" to "buy it NOW!!!!!" for me. It feels like Crysis mixed with Contra (which is the first thing I thought of when I saw the boss's glowing weak spot), except that you have all of the suit powers at once.
  • blakebeauchamp - October 20, 2010 8:17 p.m.

    vanquish is awesome, the controls are tight, visuals and setpieces are just straight out awesome and the boss fights are challenging but not ridiculously hard.
  • hardcore_gamer1990 - October 20, 2010 5:32 p.m.

    @n00b - if you've been playing it since it's come out, chances are you don't suck ;D I need this game. And the free time to play it. And I STILL haven't picked up 3D Dot Heroes yet :( And I wanna pre-order LBP 2. ARRRGH *ragequit*
  • marioporfirio - October 20, 2010 5:18 p.m.

    this is awesome. great review.
  • EdDeRs1 - October 20, 2010 2:19 p.m.

    well the ammount of cash i need for christmas just keeps growing
  • Syncmaster - October 20, 2010 1:14 p.m.

    this is better than gears2 single player? pff. no way. this game is too mindless for me
  • crumbdunky - October 20, 2010 9:36 a.m.

    I don't get all the Gears comparisons in the review myself. Just playing the demo shows you that playing Vanquish as you would Gears would be useless, dull and totally frustrating. You're so overpowered for that role it's ridiculous and to enjoy the game you have to use all the available things Sam can do. Once you're powersliding around at mach2, squeezing in and out of bullet time to attack huge robotic things before getting up close to bosh them with one hit the game makes so much more sense. Cover is there opnly for when you run out of suit gas whereas in Gears it's the main strategic point of combat-and, tbh, Gears didn't invent that either but rather almost perfected it. No, Vanquish is about the pace and variety of combat allied to amazing bosses and set pieces and makes up for lack of MP replay value by being old school high score minded. A lot of reviewers either missed the point and cried about it's length or misse the point and wanted toi play it like a normal cover shooter. If you don't make those mistakes Vanquish is an amazingly fresh breat of gaming air and well worthy of a place in your colection. There's nothing quite like it.
  • TheWebSwinger - October 20, 2010 7:39 a.m.

    No really, this game is amazing, bases solely on the demo. It's that good and I want this game SO BAD.
  • Lionzest7 - October 20, 2010 6:30 a.m.

    So for anyone wondering if you should buy this. Now that I've started playing and am throughly enjoying it, I'd recommend it to anyone. It's a lot of fun, I'm even doing it hard mode first shot just because some people have mentioned the length to be an issue. Playing it on hard mode is certainly taking a lot more effort/time. Personal bias section: Buy this because there isn't going to be any other game like it. It feels way better than gears and more rewarding, the gameplay is not only picked up in pace, but everything is just more fun to do in general. Buy it at full price to support games that platinum make, so we don't have to rely on the big names to make games for us to play. I like sequels too, but we need some variety in our gaming.
  • abbottfrizzell - October 20, 2010 5:17 a.m.

    enslaved..Fable 3...Black ops.....AC: BrotherHood and now this. ugh so many games, good thing I make bank
  • AGENTJORRRG - October 20, 2010 4:53 a.m.

    Holy hell, a 9?? Thats a damn high score. The demo was aaaaaaaaaaaaaaawwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwful, so I am suprise.

Showing 1-20 of 81 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000