Google+

Vanquish super review

Excellent
Back to Article

81 comments

  • lemmy21 - October 19, 2010 7:59 p.m.

    db1331 "..It looks like your everyday 8/10 game. It just screams "MEH".." Since when does an 8 out 10 game rating make any game an everday game. Does your rating scale only go from 8-10 where as GR uses the 0-10 scale?
  • allthegoodnameswheretaken - October 19, 2010 7:56 p.m.

    Well after this I think I'll try it out
  • n00b - October 19, 2010 7:51 p.m.

    Gamesradar (or Reparaz in this case)keeps saying how bayonetta mocks you when you suck. i still can't find how this is the case, and i've been playing it since it came out. on another note. I still play metal slug over and over to get better scores and times so I'll probably get more replay out of this than the average person. nice review, will probably pick it up soon
  • zeetlock - October 19, 2010 7:49 p.m.

    WHERES THE NEW VEGAS REVIEW ZOMG
  • Romination - October 19, 2010 7:39 p.m.

    db1331, an 8 is not a 'meh' game at all, and you're missing out on a lot of quality stuff if you think that's not good enough. Asshole. I bought this already and I'm stoked to play more. Finally, a game I was hoping to be good this year actually is.
  • mckillustrator - October 19, 2010 7:37 p.m.

    I knew this would be awesome. Gamesradar has never let me down so I'm excited. Especially agreed with gr about halo reach, halo 3 was def more epic. Loved the demo anyway. It's gonna be another one of those falls with lots of money budgeting
  • Hammerburst - October 19, 2010 7:28 p.m.

    This is really confusing me. Every screenshot I've seen has just screamed, FUCKING AVERAGE COVER SHOOTER! But every review I've read, including this one, has told me how great it is!? Demo time, methinks.
  • Clovin64 - October 19, 2010 7:28 p.m.

    The demo didnt see like anything special (I died within 5 secs of begining the demo once!) but I've been eager to try the full game out. If only I had the money...this one may have to wait a bit.
  • oneshotfinch - October 19, 2010 7:26 p.m.

    "Again: those are just the opening levels. Vanquish’s biggest strength is that it’s able to almost constantly come up with something new and cool to see, do or shoot at, making for an experience that always manages to feel fresh and engaging despite its relentless pace." Destructoid's review says quite the opposite, that you've seen everything after an hour. I dunno :/
  • lovinmyps3 - October 19, 2010 7:25 p.m.

    @wampastompa His comment was in response to the second comment, which compared this review to other scores.
  • SonicofBoom - October 19, 2010 7:23 p.m.

    sounds badass. I pre-ordered it last night and got free release date shipping (amazon prime, baby) but i shipped it to my parents house instead of my dorm! (im in college) Now i have to wait a week. Grrrr...
  • n00b - October 19, 2010 7:22 p.m.

    Finally! been waitin for this damn review all weekend
  • publicanemone - October 19, 2010 7:19 p.m.

    looks fantastic, 'bout to go pick up my reserve.
  • SirGoldenSquareTheEleventyFirst - October 19, 2010 7:14 p.m.

    More of a rent for me. Sorry
  • db1331 - October 19, 2010 7:13 p.m.

    Yeah, they aren't TOO far off. It looks like your everyday 8/10 game. It just screams "MEH". Another space marine in gray armor shooting space monsters from behind conveniently-placed low walls.
  • wampastompa - October 19, 2010 7:12 p.m.

    @infernox thanks for that important contribution, I definitely read GR solely for the purpose of seeing how their review scores stack up to everyone else's :-/ I don't know how my wallet is going to survive. Between Fallout, NBA 2K11, EA Sports MMA, Fable III, and now this gets a glowing review??? Anyone want to buy a kidney?
  • Unoriginal - October 19, 2010 7:11 p.m.

    Maybe pick this up once it's cheaper. I played MadWorld and Bayonetta and loved those a lot. So far Platinum Games has not let me down.
  • infernox - October 19, 2010 7:08 p.m.

    vanquish currently has a 83 metacritic score for ps3 and 82 for xbox 360, so its not that far from the other reviewers.
  • Baron164 - October 19, 2010 7:08 p.m.

    I tried the demo and was mildly impressed up to the point of the boss fight. I found the boss fight needlessly frustrating. That and a few other things turned me off. Maybe when it drops in price I'll give it a shot. But I'll pick up Enslaved way before I pick up vanquish.
  • lovinmyps3 - October 19, 2010 7:07 p.m.

    Oh Platinum Games, is there anything you can't do?

Showing 61-80 of 81 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Oct 21 2010 - PS3
Oct 19 2010 - Xbox 360 (US)
Oct 22 2010 - PS3, Xbox 360 (UK)
Available Platforms: PS3, Xbox 360
Genre: Shooter
Published by: Sega
Developed by: Platinum Games
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Strong Language
PEGI Rating:
18+

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.