Google+

Vanquish super review

Back to Article

81 comments

  • garnsr - October 19, 2010 10:22 p.m.

    I like Uncharted, but couldn't get into Gears. I didn't like the demo for this that much, it just doesn't seem like my kind of game. I'm not quite sure what it is, maybe the fact that I like Tomb Raider and not Call of Duty makes me like the adventure style better than the constant action style. I'd like some more Platinum product, but I don't think this one's quite for me.
  • Felixthecat - October 19, 2010 9:53 p.m.

    I will get Vanquish once the price drops a little, because the length is, while not surprising, not worth a full £40 IMO. I love Platinum Games though, and trust Shinji Mikami a lot, so I'll have to see how awesome it is myself. Judging from the demo, the answer is "very". Honestly, Vanquish is a prime example of how a videogame should be made. It's completely over the top by the looks of it, and that's what I want. The length of the overall game is the only thing stopping me from buying it on day 1 though, but I will get it for sure.
  • Aletheon - October 19, 2010 9:52 p.m.

    Your average gamer will NOT understand this game, nor put in the effort to enjoy it properly. Same exact thing happened to Viewtiful Joe, Madworld, Bayonetta, and others. Unless it's easy "western" design, your average kid is going to mock the experience and go back to Halo and RDR. Those games are fine, but there are others gameplay styles that actually challenge you as a player, and will teach you how to master a game as opposed to letting the game play you. What a concept.
  • batmanboy11 - October 19, 2010 9:40 p.m.

    Too many good games are coming out! I'll probably just be renting this for now.
  • spencerm - October 19, 2010 9:29 p.m.

    so youre saying that this game is better then reach? lol just kidding but it does look cool
  • Amnesiac - October 19, 2010 9:27 p.m.

    I really, REALLY want to like this game, but the more I played the demo, the more dissatisfied I was. Many of the weapons felt just plain useless and the difficulty often fell on the wrong side of cheap. And I'm a big believer in creating replay value by making the game fun enough to play multiple times, but I have a gut feeling this will be a game that I'll beat in a weekend and never touch again. I want to support Platinum so badly, but I'm really on the fence here, and I don't exactly have money to burn on something mediocre.
  • PaulieWaulie - October 19, 2010 9:07 p.m.

    I Played the demo and it was so boring, typical Japanese take on budget western action films from the eighties.
  • YoshiAteMyBaby - October 19, 2010 9:01 p.m.

    Damn I feel sorry for this game. Like that recent GR article says, it's doomed to die. No multiplayer (Halo/Call of Duty-obsessed frat boys won't like that!), short length ("mommy only buys me one game a month, I don't want to waste it on this!") and being released during such a flood of quality games is basically the kiss of death. At least Platinum will retain that classic Clover niche of "awesome developer who makes games everyone should play but they don't".
  • oneshotfinch - October 19, 2010 8:53 p.m.

    I feel angry at myself. Platinum focused on making the best game they could, not the game that game you tha best value for money. I'm sure enough work is in there to be stretched out into a 15 hour game, but because it's so fast paced all of that work is compressed into a small window of time. But because it's so short and offers no multiplayer or co-op, I just can't afford to buy it.
  • Crabhand - October 19, 2010 8:48 p.m.

    I played the demo and I did enjoy the gameplay, it's just not very high on my priority list. Maybe after some of the games I anticipated more, but at the moment it looks like I'm going to wait for a price drop.
  • Lionzest7 - October 19, 2010 8:45 p.m.

    @n00b he's saying that because he got trophies like the enzo bronze statue at the end of the level. "What a day" I personally bought this game pre-order, I think this review might be accurate, but until I play it through the game tonight I'll reserve judgement.
  • Jacko415 - October 19, 2010 8:34 p.m.

    glad to see this didn't dissapoint. i wonder how many people are gonna rage that this got better than Reach.
  • Denrok - October 19, 2010 8:31 p.m.

    I respect Gamesradar's opinion to a far larger extent than any other game reviewer but I have to say I can't get excited about this game. I played the demo which only lasted like 20 minutes and was completely bored before it was over. It really seems like a one-trick pony to me. A very repetitive one-trick pony that doesn't have a very interesting trick yet thinks it just reinvented the wheel.
  • OnyxOblivion - October 19, 2010 8:27 p.m.

    Bayonetta mocks you? Anyway, Bayonetta is my GOTY, this isn't breaking that. This is still great, though. A must-rent, at the least.
  • SausageLozenge - October 19, 2010 8:27 p.m.

    A 9 for a 6 hour game? This game looks really cool, but 60$ is a lot to ask for just 6-8 hours. As a gamer with a budget, Fallout seems to be the better choice. I'll probably check this out next year when I find it in a used bin.
  • gilgamesh310 - October 19, 2010 8:13 p.m.

    I am actually glad that Shinji Mikami had the balls to fly in the face of convention and not include multiplayer. Not every shooter needs to have it! There was a time when gaming was all about the joys of the single player campaign. For a game to get critisised for not having it is stupid and it also convinces other devs with less integrity to shoehorn multiplayer into games where it has no place at all, like dead space and bioshock
  • Pyrovizard - October 19, 2010 8:10 p.m.

    friggen games industry is gonna put me in the poorhouse, new vegas, black ops, medal of honor and now vanquish my poor wallets gonna starve T-T
  • PlainLikeVanilla - October 19, 2010 8:04 p.m.

    Can't wait to play this, great review Mikel.
  • Bitchslapthehomeless - October 19, 2010 8:04 p.m.

    @db1331 After playing Vanquish, it's not just another "space marine taking cover game." It plays so much faster and amazing. In fact, the jetpacking mechanic in the game I've yet to really see implemented in another game. Sure Gears has the roadie-run, but no where near as fast or as exhilarting as this game. Your opinion on whether the game is good or not is valid, but pre-judging the game as just another "generic" cover-based game is not.
  • JADENkOTOR - October 19, 2010 8:01 p.m.

    This game is fun and frantic and far better than both Gears combined. I wish it had a multiplayer but the pacing and set pieces are so good that it doesn't even matter. Once again this game is FUN!!! Where is the New Vegas review. I rented it, but Im not playing till I beat Vanquish.

Showing 41-60 of 81 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Oct 21 2010 - PS3
Oct 19 2010 - Xbox 360 (US)
Oct 22 2010 - PS3, Xbox 360 (UK)
Available Platforms: PS3, Xbox 360
Genre: Shooter
Published by: Sega
Developed by: Platinum Games
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Strong Language
PEGI Rating:
18+