Google+

Uncharted: Golden Abyss review

AT A GLANCE
  • Stellar graphics
  • Strong gameplay
  • It's Uncharted!
  • Poor level design
  • Lack of cinematic feel
  • Unmemorable encounters

A sight to see

Above: Look at that shirt, all perfectly half-tucked and everything

Golden Abyss proves what we all hoped: the Vita is almost as powerful as the PlayStation 3. It's not quite up to par with the home console, and some small concessions will likely be noticed (such as occasionally pixilated backgrounds and weaker facial animations), but it's really close. Uncharted features graphics that are leaps and bounds beyond what the PSP could handle, and a good deal better than some of the games released earlier this generation.

Everything about the game screams high production values, and it managed to pull off the console-like experience without many graphical hiccups or framerate drops. It's remarkable how little had to be cut in order to get the game working on the handheld. You're still exploring lush jungles with wonderful views, fighting dozens of enemies at once, and chatting with likable, well-designed characters.


Missing the ledge

And then there's the caveat. The asterisk. The thing that keeps Golden Abyss from being among the best in the series, despite having a strong story and great gameplay. Though it brings nearly every element of the console versions to the portable there's one huge, glaring omission: the cinematic camera. It's a cornerstone of the franchise, and seeing it left out entirely was extremely disappointing. We kept hoping that it would eventually show up, maybe later in the game, but as the credits rolled we looked back and realized that they were missing entirely.

Above: Drake's adventure feels less adventurous without any cinematic sections

Without the cinematic camera there's no cinematic action. There was nothing even remotely like the airplane segment in Uncharted 3, or the train car opening of Uncharted 2. There were a few times where it looked like things might be leading up to an awesome cinematic moment, but they'd end up fizzling out, replaced with a cutscene or an uninteresting camera angle.

Instead of an enemy shooting a rocket next to Drake and having control as he stumbles off the ledge, the camera would just swing back and show the rocket hit. The camera would fade to black. Drake would get up off the ground, quip about the fall, and then we'd be given control. We don't know if Sony Bend couldn't develop it, or if the Vita couldn't handle it, but whatever the cause is we were definitely sad to see it missing.

Above: You'll be climbing more ladders than falling trains

In many ways, these cinematic moments are Uncharted. They're the thing everybody talks about after they finish an Uncharted game. It's the reason people say that playing Uncharted is like watching a movie, and without it, well, it's just not the same. It might seem like a small complaint, but it's actually a pretty big deal that the closest thing the game has to the cinematic adventures of the console versions are some mediocre quick-time events - something that everyone seemed to agree the series was much, much better without.


Is it better than...

Uncharted: Drake's Fortune? Yes, but not by much. Uncharted was great when it released in 2007, but it had a number of issues we were able to overlook. Namely, the gameplay wasn't the strongest, and there's little doubt that Golden Abyss - which cribs most of its gameplay from Uncharted 2 - handles the shooting and climbing much, much better. 

Uncharted 2: Among Thieves? No. Though it's likely closer to Uncharted 2 than Uncharted 3 when it comes to gameplay, the overall experience falls short of Drake's second adventure. Everything that Uncharted 2 did perfectly Uncharted: Golden Abyss stumbles on, from the level design to the cinematic feel.

Uncharted 3: Drake's Deception? No. Some elements of the gameplay are better thanks to the motion controls making shooting segments more fulfilling, and the ability to use the touch screen to climb is certainly fun. Still, Drake's Deception had many more memorable moments, and a story that was simply stronger.


For those who skipped straight to the end

If you boot up Uncharted: Golden Abyss expecting the full console experience you might be disappointed. It's mostly there - the charm, the gameplay, the visual presentation - but there are some key elements missing. The level design leaves much to be desired, and without the cinematic moments the experience simply isn't incredibly strong. It's still an extremely solid cover shooter with a strong story and some fine platforming elements, but as far as an Uncharted game, it comes up short of what we've come to expect.

More Info

Release date: Feb 14 2012 - PS Vita (US)
Available Platforms: PS Vita
Genre: Adventure
Published by: Sony Computer Entertainment
Developed by: Naughty Dog, SCEA Bend Studio
Franchise: Uncharted
ESRB Rating:
Teen: Blood, Drug Reference, Language, Violence, Mild Suggestive Themes

23 comments

  • alexandre-bret - February 19, 2012 5:12 a.m.

    Never liked Uncharted all that much, the graphics were awesome but there were issues that annoyed. Would never get this but the graphics look amazing
  • ItBurnsWhenIWii - February 17, 2012 11:54 p.m.

    I disagree. This game was a seven at best. It was over all really forgettable, and it does not deserve the same score Twisted Metal got.
  • R-ape - February 17, 2012 3:38 a.m.

    Would've been funny if you guys had said "be prepared to poke, tap, and rub Drake a lot."
  • brickman409 - February 16, 2012 5:21 p.m.

    lol there was a resident evil 3DS ad before the video
  • talleyXIV - February 15, 2012 5:01 p.m.

    That is pretty cool to see a game compared to all three of the games from the series. Anyway, no I am not getting a Vita.
  • gilgamesh310 - February 13, 2012 1:14 p.m.

    @christain-shaffer, the games don't even have a good story though. They just present it in a very cinematic fashion that draws people in. All the stories really just involve, is you following a trail of macGuffins in search of treasure, while killing 100s of baddies along the way. Games like Silent Hill tell very good, deep stories and do it mostly through the medium itself. Silent Hill tells most of it's story visually for example. Half Life 2, even though it doesn't have a particularly good story, tells it through the gameplay and doesn't mimic the conventions of cinema like Uncharted does. It's not something that anyone should be championing for the medium.
  • Tranquilbez34 - February 13, 2012 11:26 a.m.

    Still not stopping me from buying it!
  • Triscuitable - February 13, 2012 7:22 p.m.

    An 8 makes you doubt if a game is worth buying?
  • gilgamesh310 - February 13, 2012 11 a.m.

    I think gameplay is actually starting to take a real backseat in modern gaming. All everyone seems to talk about these days are story and graphics. Ive seen a range of shooters critisised in most reviews because the stories aren't up to standard, even though they might have very solid shooting mechanics. It's just stupid! Still Demon's Souls and Dark Souls do show that not every developer runs gameplay into the ground to make way for other, far less important attributes.
  • ChaosEternal - February 13, 2012 1:10 p.m.

    I wouldn't say storytelling is far less important. While it is less important, as I wouldn't slog through terrible gameplay for a good story, it still is pretty important to me. A good story is pretty important to me depending on the game type. For some games, it can be just as important to me as the gameplay.
  • ChaosEternal - February 13, 2012 1:11 p.m.

    Whoops, restated myself there. Probably should have proofread that. >_>
  • The_King_of_Nothing - February 13, 2012 6:11 p.m.

    Which sucks. Gameplay has always been the most important factor in my liking or hating a game. Followed closely by story. Without those, I cannot get into a game no matter how pretty it looks.
  • Corsair89 - February 13, 2012 10:46 a.m.

    Actually, the whole cinematic feel of the Uncharted series is the biggest reason I got sick of it. To hear that there is an Uncharted game without that cinematic Hollywood wannabe bullshit and it actually treats itself like a game is nothing but good news to me.
  • gilgamesh310 - February 13, 2012 10:37 a.m.

    The fact that the cinematic 'camera'is supposedly the best thing about the Uncharted games, really speaks a lot about how mediocre all the games must be beneath all the polish. Games aren't meant to be about 'watching a movie'. The gameplay is supposed to be the main reason why people play them. Everything else is just secondary and tertiary. When playing a game of choice, you wouldn't complain that the game is poor because you don't like the shape or colour of the pieces!
  • christian-shaffer - February 13, 2012 10:47 a.m.

    I do think that gameplay is one of the most important aspects of video games. However, I am just as likely to buy a game for the story even if the gameplay isn't at it's best. It's all a matter of opinion, but one person cannot say what a game is meant to be about. It's different for everyone. One of the main reasons I bought the Uncharted games in particular was because of the story, not the gameplay. I am not saying gameplay is not important, but it is not the only reason to buy a game.
  • majormoses117 - February 13, 2012 1:01 p.m.

    Firstly, how is an 8 mediocre? Second, you must not have played an Uncharted game before. Yes, it's fun to watch the cinematics and essentially let the game-world play out without you in it, but Uncharted is so much more than that. It's the culmination of great graphics, fun, fluid gameplay and an engaging, immersive story that make Uncharted games feel like a movie. They aren't perfect, but they're damn close. I bet that the game would have been given a lesser score if it were missing a coherent story or fun gameplay than just the cinematics.
  • Burdmayn - February 13, 2012 5:16 p.m.

    To even make a comment like that proves that you've never played a game in the Uncharted series. Calling things mediocre without experiencing them yourself is the disease that plagues most of the internet. Congrats on falling victim.
  • festerblatz82 - February 20, 2012 6:15 a.m.

    How about trying the games before making an uninformed assumption?
  • rainn'sgaydar - February 13, 2012 9:34 a.m.

    I wish it was better (and maybe it will be for me), but at least it's not a bomb. Definitely looking forward to this!
  • AquaPimp82 - February 13, 2012 8:30 a.m.

    This is the only launch game I'm picking up. Nothing else is really tickling my fancy.

Showing 1-20 of 23 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000