Google+

Uncharted 3: Drake’s Deception review

Excellent
Back to Article

102 comments

  • Stridefizzel - October 24, 2011 10:55 a.m.

    I will wait to give my full opinion about this review until I've actually played the game, but I do have to say that I suspect Gamesradar just reviewed this game the way they did to be different. Early reviews, especially at IGN, seem to be heaping a LOT of praise towards this game even over Uncharted 2 (Which was my GOTY in 2009 by the way).
  • GamesRadarMikelReparaz - October 24, 2011 12:21 p.m.

    That's a little offensive. Even if I was disingenuous enough to review the game the way I did to be "different," that would have been difficult, as all the reviews (including this one) went up at the same time - 9 a.m. PST. (And besides, if I was the kind of reviewer who'd base a score on a desire to stand out from the crowd, I think I'd go at least a little lower than a 9.) The criticisms as written describe how I feel about the game; it was great, but it wasn't the same obvious, grab-you-by-the-balls greatness that Uncharted 2 delivered. Played through it a second time just to be sure, and felt the same way. Giving it a 10 wouldn't have felt completely honest.
  • metalgatesolid - October 24, 2011 10:29 a.m.

    I had to choose between this and batman. I stick my this as my choice. The uncharted series has become one of the best on any console and as a PS3 fanboy, love anything Sony does. Cant believe how spoiled us gamers are over the next month. I will get batman though but for adrenaline fueled action, uncharted is unparalleled.
  • lazer59882 - October 24, 2011 11:27 a.m.

    wow way to be so far up sony's ass that you'll literally buy a sh!t game just cause they put it out. nice job being totally beholden to a massive corporation. for the record, anyone with a brain will say arkham city FAR surpasses this uncharted nonsense, but I'm sure when your done with uncharteds 3 hr superlinear campaign you'll have moved on to batman anyway. then you'll see.
  • heznave1 - October 24, 2011 12:28 p.m.

    ok now I think you're ridiculous. Quit attacking everyone for being excited about a game they like, it makes you look stupid.
  • lazer59882 - October 24, 2011 12:38 p.m.

    he literally said he loves "anything Sony does", and will thus buy it. for YOU to be attacking ME for calling out this idiot for being so beholden to a massive electronics corporation, makes YOU look stupid, and now i think you're ridiculous. anything else?
  • wadesmit - October 24, 2011 12:39 p.m.

    Yeah man, I don't like Uncharted either, and the only comment I make here is to tell you to stop hating on it. So stop it.
  • MouseKlok - October 24, 2011 10:27 a.m.

    Great review. Next up, Uncharted Cart Racing.
  • CitizenWolfie - October 24, 2011 10:18 a.m.

    Sort of sums up how I feel about this game really - I'm excited for it, but not as much as I was for Uncharted 2. I remember being blown away by the helicopter fight footage but I've not seen anything close so far to rival it. However I've been keeping away from Uncharted 3 news lately to avoid spoilers so hopefully I'll be pleasantly surprised. I wonder if there will be any odd supernatural stuff this time round... It seems a lot of the AAA releases have had anticlimactic endings lately - Gears 3, RAGE, Uncharted 3. I finished the main story on Arkham City earlier today and found that a bit anticlimactic. Don't want to give too much away but after beating the last boss I was expecting to at least have one more pop at his master. Instead it seemed to end really quickly and on comes the credits...
  • CitizenWolfie - October 24, 2011 10:41 a.m.

    By the way, just read CVG's review and it's full of spoilers. Now I remember why I stopped reading CVG and started sticking to GR...
  • Grif - October 24, 2011 10:02 a.m.

    Sounds like Uncharted 3 is going to be a great game. Enjoyed the review Mikel. I might have to wait for a price drop before I can get this, but that's okay. I've only played the single player in this series.
  • NanoElite666 - October 24, 2011 9:51 a.m.

    Given that the choppers in co-op seem to be piddly little things, I don't think there's any way that they could hope to stand up to the mighty Hinds of the last game if they were in the campaign.
  • Ultimadrago - October 24, 2011 9:49 a.m.

    You totally caught me red-handed...as I skipped to the end.
  • ultimatepunchrod - October 24, 2011 9:41 a.m.

    good stuff. i wanted more of the same with U3, i'm sure it'll revamp itself in future outings but this works for me! great review by the way.
  • sternparez - October 24, 2011 9:38 a.m.

    Cool review, about what I expected, only one minor fanboy-based pickle I have is that while I love Arkham City, it's visuals don't come close to Uncharted 2 let alone 3.
  • lazer59882 - October 24, 2011 11:28 a.m.

    WRONG.
  • Moondoggie1157 - October 24, 2011 4:38 p.m.

    I know I shouldn't, but Lazer? Just, go away. Will you disappear when Skyrim hits? Please?
  • bigwill1221 - October 24, 2011 9:32 a.m.

    In b4 the console fights... lol
  • Austin_SJ - October 24, 2011 9:28 a.m.

    Good review Mikel. The tone of your review suggests that you were disappointed with the game, and giving it a 9 means it must have been pretty exceptional regardless. I'm looking forward to getting hold of this on day one.
  • mothbanquet - October 24, 2011 9:26 a.m.

    Yeah, I adored Uncharted but it's in danger of being put back til next year thanks to The End of Year Crush(tm). I've got Battlefield 3 eating into this month's wages, along with Arkham City most likely tempting me further into my overdraft, then Skyrim in November and I still haven't gotten Gears 3 or Forza 4. Then there's AC Revelations and then Mass Effect 3 still to come...arrrgh! Sorry Nathan, as much as I love ya, you're waiting in a long, long line...
  • garnsr - October 24, 2011 9:25 a.m.

    I remember reading something Naughty Dog said, while they were doing the Crash Bandicoot games, about having a plan for game layout, running level goes here, vehicle level goes here, ice level goes here, and so on, that sounded too formulaic and has always kept me from being able to love Naughty Dog, even though the first two Uncharteds never felt like they fell into that too much. Maybe now they have. I still expect to enjoy this game, but I've always wanted more exploration, and less combat. I hope the next Tomb Raider does that for me.

Showing 81-100 of 102 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Available Platforms: PS3
Genre: Action
Published by: SCEA
Developed by: Naughty Dog
Franchise: Uncharted
ESRB Rating:
Rating Pending
PEGI Rating:
Rating Pending

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.