Google+

Uncharted 3: Drake’s Deception review

Excellent
Back to Article

102 comments

  • Hig1134 - October 25, 2011 8:15 a.m.

    No way is Batman AC better than this, I don't care what you say.
  • ToZanarkandy - October 25, 2011 12:46 p.m.

    Thanks for your opinion, I'm sure that everyone on this site is better off for it. If you 'don't care', you don't have to accept this review as the 100% truth. Go to other sites until you find your 10 out of 10.
  • Cloud1Fair3 - October 25, 2011 3:14 p.m.

    Thanks for your opinion as well, if you want to criticize everyone for stating their opinion go on youtube or somewhere else. He, you, and I all have a right to opinions and they are open to be scrutinized for what's being said but not for just stating an opinion. I'm sure that we'll all be better off at your calling his opinion out with your own as well.
  • Hig1134 - October 30, 2011 10:02 a.m.

    Well said
  • CaptCOMMANDO - October 25, 2011 1:22 a.m.

    Man...I should not have read this review. I was really looking forward to UC3. Even if Mikel gave it a 9 with high praise, I'm just going to go into it thinking of all the let downs he pointed out. :( Thinking bout "Oh, heres a part where it falls flat like he said." Thanks Mikel. Thank you for doing your job and ruining a perfectly superb game for me.
  • minimaxi - October 25, 2011 3:55 a.m.

    fight the power, man. if you think it's a 10 game it'll be. reviews for known franchises like this is pretty much moot, unless they seriously botched up a sequel like DMC2. no, I'm not the biggest uncharted fan so I won't buy it new I think, lol.
  • mjgconcepts - October 25, 2011 6:57 a.m.

    How is it "ruined" he gave it a 9??? Not every game is going to live up to expectations, but to say the game is ruined from this review is way off base.
  • hackerman1219 - October 24, 2011 9:40 p.m.

    Why do they even need to review Uncharted 3? Everybody with a PS3 is going to buy this game.
  • HaVoK308 - October 25, 2011 12:05 p.m.

    Simply not true. Uncharted has never been a blockbusting seller. I have friends who play on PS3 exclusively and never heard of Uncharted, nor do they care to play it. No matter how much I try to convince them otherwise.
  • Fox_Mulder - October 24, 2011 9:37 p.m.

    I think Mikel's shortcomings come from the fact that the first Uncharted while still a great game, did not have a ton of action-movie set pieces and near escapes. Then when Uncharted 2 had them in droves, it amazed people to the point of getting very good reviews. There are a bunch of times in this review where he mentions set pieces, "because they were expected". I think that has a lot to do with the impact of them and kind of takes away from the draw of heart-wrenching goodness that the set pieces in Uncharted 2 had. And it's perfectly understandable. I was not expecting anything in terms of epic train falling on Drake like there was in U2, and that made it so much better. So, in Uncharted 3, I AM expecting such things, which will make them ever so slightly less amazing. How's my aim?
  • buttfaceninja - October 24, 2011 7:14 p.m.

    I so excite!
  • ThatGamerDude - October 24, 2011 6:12 p.m.

    I was definitely one of those people who skipped to the end!
  • Thequestion 121 - October 24, 2011 5:32 p.m.

    I'm gonna have to play the campaign myself before I can make any judgement. But I think that this game is still gonna be steller regardless.
  • kingsmikefan - October 24, 2011 4:36 p.m.

    I had a feeling this would happen; it would be considered "excellent," but not as good as 2, because this is what I experienced with the Jak games. Jak II was amazing; it reinvented the series and focused on characters. Jak 3 was better from a technical standpoint, but lacked that story prowess. Naughty Dog shooting their load early.
  • newgames128 - October 24, 2011 3:56 p.m.

    Sleeper92ismypsn- Different reviewers = different opinions/scores. That's what I'm taking away from it.
  • newgames128 - October 24, 2011 3:55 p.m.

    Also odd how this review seems to be a case of, "If UC3 was released in place of UC2, it would've been better". Especially when it's stated to be technically better in every way, but...too familiar. We'll see.
  • sleepy92ismypsn - October 24, 2011 3:40 p.m.

    God, Gamesradar are such Batman fanboys. JK, great review. I'm not sure about the score though. If it's better than Uncharted 2 it deserves a 10. You gave KZ3 a 9 and I find it hard to believe that Uncharted 3 isn't better than KZ3.
  • lukel - October 24, 2011 7:11 p.m.

    Here we go again. If 2 games get the same score, that does not mean they are equal. UC3 is a Tomb Raider style action adventure. KZ3 is a first person alien shooter. If Madden 13 got a nine, it would not be comparable to UC3 or KZ3
  • newgames128 - October 24, 2011 3:37 p.m.

    Some comments here are pretty subjective. The reviewer says it's unfair to compare Batman (open world) and UC3 (linear) but then goes on to compare their melee and platforming which is equally as pointless. Nate isn't supposed to fly through the air and effortlessly climb/grapple buildings like Batman. Even in UC2 you get the sense that such actions are difficult for normal human beings. Also, the story has been getting across the board praise by other review sites. Hell GT gave it a 9.8 and mentioned it almost breaks the fourth wall on occasion. Does Batman do that? Don't get me wrong, both games are awesome must plays but lets think a little more critically before rushing to off-based judgments.
  • Doorstop - October 24, 2011 4:41 p.m.

    Breaking the fourth wall? How about Riddler explicitly telling you not to look up solutions on the internet? Honestly, just having played Arkham City and Uncharted 2, I can't see Uncharted 3 wowing me any more than Batman.

Showing 21-40 of 102 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Available Platforms: PS3
Genre: Action
Published by: SCEA
Developed by: Naughty Dog
Franchise: Uncharted
ESRB Rating:
Rating Pending
PEGI Rating:
Rating Pending

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.