Google+

Uncharted 2: Among Thieves review

AT A GLANCE
  • Voice acting and scripting are of an award winning standard
  • The action just keeps on coming
  • Attention to detail
  • Some jump and grab sections can be a bit tricky
  • There are enemy types that are a pain in the ass
  • It has to end :(

Back to the gameplay then, take a look at some of the new stuff you’ll find in Uncharted 2...

360 rope swinging mechanics - You can now use Drake’s momentum to swing in any direction from a rope dangling from a ceiling. This is handy for grabbing hidden treasures.

Fluid climbing - You scale walls far more easily than in Drake’s Fortune. If a ledge is close enough to reach simply steer him across the surface and he’ll reach out and grab it.

Snow effects - Best. Snow. Ever. Even better than Lost Planet.

Create cover - Not only can you hide behind riot shields from time to time, but Drake is adept at turning over tables to create cover too. Handy when surrounded by goons.

Red-dot sight - Like in Modern Warfare, Uncharted 2 has an assault rifle - the FAL - that has a red dot sight to make headshots easier.

Monkey bars - Like an overhead ladder that you’d see on a kid's playground.

Twitter integration - Automatically let your friend’s know how far you are and how much you’ve earned in 140 characters or less.

Armoured goons - These juggernauts come in two varieties: shotgun wielding or minigun blasting. You're going to have to think on your feet when taking these boys one.

Notebook - Hit Select and Drake will delve into his notebook like in the original, but with a twist. Move left and right with the stick and not only will you see clues to puzzles, but an array of in-jokes, photos and even sketches of Sully's powerful moustache.

Plus lots, lots more. And the set-pieces? Just wow! We’d be giving away massive spoilers if we mentioned them but around every corner is a standout moment that you’ll be mightily impressed by. Here’s one to whet your appetite...


<object width="416" height="347"><param value="http://www.youtube.com/v/OOe6Ed29v3M&amp;hl=en&amp;fs=1&amp;color1=0xe1600f&amp;color2=0xfebd01"><param value="true"><param value="always">

So finally, Sony get its long-awaited killer-app. And what a beauty it is. Uncharted 2 not only sets benchmarks for visuals (the lighting effects alone are stunning), story and sheer fun, but it also sets a worryingly high target for all that follow it to match. Simply put, Uncharted 2 is a reason to own a PS3.




Tomb Raider Underworld
 

Oh yes. Miss Croft has had her time in the sun and it’s time to get back to the drawing-board we think. Drake sprung from nowhere and beat Lara at her own game. It looks better. It plays better. And you just find yourself rooting for Nathan more than you ever did with the Tomb Raider’s heroine.




Batman Arkham Asylum 

Yes, just. And before you Batman fans get your knickers in a twist, let us explain. AA's combat system is fantastic and the world they've created around the Dark Knight is well realised, but it is relentlessly dark and bleak. The variety of environments and the aformentioned story-telling in Uncharted 2 snatches the victory.



Gears of War 2 

Yes. The games are almost poles apart. Gears is all about shooting and taking down massive bosses, Uncharted 2 isn’t. But in terms of scale and the satisfaction of gunning people down they are in the same ballpark, and Drake takes the win here.

Just for you Metacritic

Brilliant, brilliant, brilliant. It looks amazing, plays like a dream and the voice-acting/story-telling will hook you in right from the off. PS3 officially has its killer-app and a million tears are shed by 360 fanboys.

More Info

Release date: Oct 13 2009 - PS3 (US)
Oct 16 2009 - PS3 (UK)
Available Platforms: PS3
Genre: Adventure
Published by: SCEA
Developed by: Naughty Dog
Franchise: Uncharted
ESRB Rating:
Teen: Blood, Language, Suggestive Themes, Violence
PEGI Rating:
16+

123 comments

  • MerylsHers12 - February 7, 2014 3:34 a.m.

    The game is great! I would recommend also does play a refreshed version of the PC from the PlayGameHacker .. Link to the manager so that we retrieve the game: http://playgamehacker.com/uncharted-2-among-thieves-pc-version/ Link to Film from the action: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x7X5srYaKcw
  • Darkhawk - January 10, 2012 7:10 a.m.

    Nearing completion, my two complaints: 1) No puzzles. Are there any in this game? There are definitely environmental puzzles - Get from Point A to Point B - but almost nothing in the way of turn this dial, match these symbols, etc. 2) The story and dialogue are SO cliche. Heck, it's still better than the last Indiana Jones, but video games need to come a long way still if this is the pinnacle of story-telling. Yes, it repackages every action-adventure cliche out there, but it's laughable how unoriginal the whole is.
  • majamaki - November 15, 2011 6:16 p.m.

    Finally finished Uncharted 3: Drakes Deception and I wrote up my thoughts on the entire series. The Uncharted series is easily one of the best action and adventure games made to date. The developers at Naughty Dog continue impress gamers and the industry with their vision for the perfect form of cinematic interactive entertainment. Their latest release, Uncharted 3: Drakes Deception raises the bar to new heights for gamers to enjoy, appreciate, and drool over. Read more @ http://majamaki.com/2011/11/drakes-uncharted-adventures/
  • redalert3 - August 12, 2010 7:47 p.m.

    is the multiplayer only online? i need to know, i don't have internet connection and the multiplayer looks cool
  • BIOSback - March 1, 2010 11:41 a.m.

    Amazing game/movie just beat it.
  • Mirako - January 9, 2010 4:56 a.m.

    Games Like this make me cry... for not having a Ps3 :(
  • mattdark - October 21, 2009 6:29 a.m.

    Just got this monday (Thankyou play for your excellently slow console delivery times) Havent gone that far into it yet, but Im loving what I have played so far, definately a major step up from the original.
  • sklorbit - October 21, 2009 4:22 a.m.

    great game, best of the year so far. actually one of the best this decade. best graphic, great gameplay and amazing voiceacting and cutscenes. also the multiplayer is great, this game is the full package! campaign is the best i have played since half life 2
  • BigBertrum - October 19, 2009 11:35 p.m.

    umm just attacking the part where you talked about the kids behind the wall in the scene in the tibetan village if you hit triangle near anybody in that scene you will say "hi" and shake their hand and ask if anybody speaks english and you can kick a ball to children and pet yaks and ask for phones if you press near people, yaks or certain objects
  • hardcore_gamer1990 - October 18, 2009 9:19 p.m.

    @manmeatpizza - That was teh point, well done for getting the punchline
  • mikkdc - October 18, 2009 1:55 a.m.

    The first game was ground breaking. This.... this is MORE. Without a doubt, game of the year so far.
  • AaronTheGamingGeek - October 17, 2009 1:55 a.m.

    Suck it 360
  • boxmeizter - October 16, 2009 4:59 p.m.

    No other game has giving me this odd lovable feeling after completing it... When you play it for the first time - enjoy it the best you can because it has to end! The story is compelling, the characters is so true and the graphic is jaw dropping. It is a must-buy, even for 360-owners!
  • GamesRadar_NathanIrvine - October 16, 2009 10:43 a.m.

    @dalua360 Hello there. In terms of comparisons for the Better Than... bit I obviously needed to find similar games from any platform to go up against Uncharted 2. I didn't take this decision lightly and polled opinions from the members of GamesRadar and other magazine based colleagues and GOW2 was the closest. Like a proper journalist would do. As for the quip about 360 fanboys, it was meant as a tongue-in-cheek statement and nothing more. Cheers, Nathan 'PS3-blinded-fanboy' Irvine
  • wrapdump - October 15, 2009 11:09 a.m.

    Visuals were always going to be good, but unless this game ships with it's own controller (unlikely) then the controls, especially the shooting, ar going to suffer from how light and vague the PS3 sticks are. I'm going to get the first one when I can find it for about £3. I'll gladly pay a tenner for this, so that's progress.
  • 1BASE - October 14, 2009 1:53 p.m.

    Read lots of reviews for this ..non of them bad....gotta get it
  • PS360Rulez - October 14, 2009 12:46 a.m.

    So Ive been playing the game for a few hours now and I havent been able to think of the words to describe it and then they came to me: Fucking Awesome The voice acting and characters are top notch for a big bugit film let alone a video game. The graphics are amazing and the attention to detail is much appreciated. As for the fighting and controls it plays smoother than gears ever dreamed of doing. Game deserved an 11 out of 10.
  • nadrewod999 - October 13, 2009 11:28 p.m.

    Still definitely getting MW2 and AC2, so I am on the borderline between this and Brutal Legend because I have to be light on spending now for Prestige Edition later, although GR has already pointed me towards this game (Read the freaking review scores: 9 is great, but 10 is FREAKING PERFECT). Also, I would LOVE to play through one time as normal Drake, then go through as Doughnut Drake, and just laugh at how differently the other characters react (I wonder if the enemies will do less damage to Skeleton Drake, since there are less places to hit him?).
  • patri0t - October 13, 2009 11:13 p.m.

    YES!!!!
  • PhantomExecutor5 - October 13, 2009 8:04 p.m.

    just got the game, it is so BEAST!!!!

Showing 1-20 of 123 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000