Google+

Tron: Evolution review

Troubled
AT A GLANCE
  • Voice acting from the original cast
  • The visual style of Tron is still cool
  • Did we already say Jeff Bridges?
  • Confusing and poorly written story
  • Awful combat and platforming controls
  • A thoroughly disappointing multiplayer

There are a lot of things that Tron: Evolution tries to be. For one, it really wants to be a Prince of Persia-style adventure through the Tron universe that bridges the gap between the beloved 1982 film and its upcoming sequel. It also wants to be an updated version of the classic Light Cycle sequence from the film and seemingly every other Flash game in existence. As you may have surmised from our introduction, it doesn't quite live up to the expectations it lays out for itself.

It starts off well by managing to get Jeff Bridges and Bruce Boxleitner to reprise their roles as voice actors, lending a sense of legitimacy to the game and its story. We only mention this because we'd love to blame the lackluster story and dialogue on poor voice acting, but this time around it's legitimately because of the poor writing and incomprehensible plot. The story has something to do with multiple factions of programs (designated by their different colors), some being infected by an evil virus and others wanting to take over the system and, by extension, its user Flynn. And… that's really all we were able to suss out. It's an overly complicated setup to the film that ultimately feels completely unnecessary.



That over-complexity is a running theme for the rest of the game. Where other parkour-influenced action-adventure titles like Assassin's Creed or Prince of Persia keep their controls simple and therefore make it easy to traverse their particular landscapes, Evolution overcomplicates it. Why do we have to hit one button to wall-run, then turn the super inconsistent camera to see where we’re going to jump, then push the left stick in the direction of the wall, only to find that it's too far away and fall to our death? It's all too complex for such a simple action.

And then there's the combat. It's your fairly typical Prince of Persia-style fighting with the Identification Disc as your projectile weapon. Throwing the Disc feels like it should: it's fast, can hit multiple enemies with one throw, and is open for tons of combos. The problem is that all the enemies have Discs too. There's no real way to detect when you're about to get hit from behind, so you can't lock on to enable the dodge move (another terrible design move) leading to some horribly frustrating combat situations.

Boss fights are even worse. One early boss in particular stands out. Fighting against a tank may sound interesting, but when you realize that there's no way to take cover from the tank's blasts and once again find yourself dying repeatedly, you'll begin to suspect that your controller thrown at the television may do more damage than your Disc.

The famous Light Cycles make a return, but not in the way that anyone was hoping. Rather than the timeless battles between the right-angle turning foes, they've been subjugated to simple escape sequences down narrow passages. It's really a shame to take one of the coolest and most recognizable sequences from the films and turn it into something so bland and uninteresting.



What's worse, the Light Cycles are even questionable in the multiplayer, where we were hoping that they'd be able to shine. The way we see it, it's fine if the single-player lets players turn in anything less than 90-degree angles, but as far as we're concerned once we're on The Grid, it's serious business time. We want sharp angles and an ever-decreasing area for the Cycles to make their way around in. Here, the maps are too big, the combat too clunky, and the Light Cycles barely distinguishable from way across the map. And you can't even get destroyed by your own light tail. What gives? Even with a full match (a rarity even so soon after the game's release), it's bogged down by poor design and a lack of urgency.

Tron: Evolution is a mess of poorly implemented ideas and sloppy mechanics boiling down to a game that offers very little even to its most hardcore fans. Its story is barely there, and the exploration of the universe isn't one that is worth traversing the problems that it wallows in.

Dec 23, 2010

More Info

Release date: Dec 07 2010 - Xbox 360, PS3, PC, DS, PSP (US)
Nov 26 2010 - Xbox 360, PS3, PC, DS, PSP (UK)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PS3, PC, DS, PSP
Genre: Action
Published by: Disney Interactive Studios
Developed by: Propaganda Games, n-Space, SuperVillain Studios
ESRB Rating:
Teen: Fantasy Violence, Mild Suggestive Themes

We Recommend By ZergNet

18 comments

  • CaptainSalmon - December 24, 2010 10:05 a.m.

    Damn, after seeing all the trailers, I'd hoped this would at least be a mediocre 6 or 7. But a 4? Phew. Maybe I shouldn't be disappointed... Saying that, I'll probably still rent it.
  • kyle94 - December 24, 2010 12:17 a.m.

    @Pots555: Yes, people should judge it before they play it. I did not heed the warnings. And the reviewers were forced to play it. Honestly, the majority of the game is just a crappy version of Prince of Persia. If you want to play PoP, play PoP.
  • pots555 - December 23, 2010 11:37 p.m.

    I have played the game to it's completion 3 times. Never got stucked on a wall because of the controls. Come on! Just because it's based on a movie, it doesn't mean it's bad. I really enjoyed it. Don't judge it before you play it.
  • Jackelsburg - December 23, 2010 10:39 p.m.

    kind of dissapointing but kind of expected too, oh well...
  • sweetzombiejesus - December 23, 2010 10:12 p.m.

    I have no nostalgia for Tron and wasnt expecting anything great, but the trailers for this game looked cool and I was hoping it would be good.
  • ultimatepunchrod - December 23, 2010 9:29 p.m.

    i think ill still rent it. from what ive heard elsewhere the story is pretty interesting. ill try it but never buy it...probably.
  • EricBratcher - December 23, 2010 9:19 p.m.

    I have to say, I was crushed to see this one turn out so poorly. But I played it all the way through myself, and I agree with the score. The camera and controls are awful, the lightbike sequences are excruciating ... even the story is broken. It starts off interestingly enough and fits in okay with the film, but then it swerves in ways that don't make sense any more, and you can see the "surprise" right at the end coming several levels before it happens. When the highest praise I have for the game is "it only takes 5 or 10 seconds to reload after you die", there's just not much there.
  • Darkhawk - December 23, 2010 8:14 p.m.

    If you want light cycles, play Armagetron: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Armagetron_Advanced Online multiplayer, right angles, and fully customizable gameplay options (i.e. making it slower, allowing some "wall" riding so you don't blow up right away).
  • FoxdenRacing - December 23, 2010 8:01 p.m.

    This is a huge shame; I would've settled for a game that was purely and simply just 'the games' segment from the new movie. Plot only in cutscenes, no elaborate backstory, just battles. 5-on-5 cycle battles in the massive, multi-tiered arenas from the new movie. One-on-one [or free-for-all] disc battles in small, contained spaces with plenty of room for rebounds. Even throw light-jet battles in there, possibly with a light-glider 'boss battle' [dodging twin tails and a couple guns? I'm in!]. If you want to get really creative, de-rezzed riders drop their cycle bars and can be picked up if you manage to bail before slamming the wall, disc usage on the bikes, and even the lightrunner or vintage cycle as rewards. Freeform riding, or push a button to instantly turn 90*. It could've been so cool...
  • HDBawllz - December 23, 2010 7:52 p.m.

    Bummer..
  • mynameisjay - December 23, 2010 7:45 p.m.

    So a game based on a movie is crap? This NEVER happens.
  • PushesPaperInACircle - December 23, 2010 7:37 p.m.

    So its a video game, about a movie, about being in a video game, from the 1980's... and its bad.
  • DanglyPEEnutz - December 23, 2010 7:33 p.m.

    HAHAHAHAHAHA TAYLOR COCKE
  • kyle94 - December 23, 2010 7:29 p.m.

    I played the game for a while. Then stopped playing after the character decided not to vault off of a ledge and instead run off a cliff the 50th time.
  • tareq - December 23, 2010 7:27 p.m.

    Unfortunate last name for the reviewer lol Good review though
  • bitchassafriBLAMamericANTISTA - December 23, 2010 7:25 p.m.

    i don't think jeff bridges was actually used in this game. very disappointed about the 4.
  • yoyoguy - December 23, 2010 7:25 p.m.

    not surprised by this one, good review.

Showing 1-18 of 18 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.