Google+

Titanfall review

Back to Article

89 comments

  • BladedFalcon - March 10, 2014 9:11 a.m.

    So... I have to ask what is no doubt in everyone's minds: IS IT BETTER THAN HALO REACH??? IT GOT THE SAME SCORE SO SONY AND NINTENDO MUST BE BUYING YOU OFF RIGHT GR??? /Tired old joke
  • BladedFalcon - March 10, 2014 9:18 a.m.

    Also, I've noticed a lot of other sites have decided to wait on posting their reviews to properly judge how the servers will hold up. I know Cooper dedicated a space to address that concern... But isn't this still jumping the gun a little to post this review without waiting even a day or two to see if the servers won't flat out shit the bed like they did with SimCity?
  • FoxdenRacing - March 10, 2014 9:49 a.m.

    Not saying I approve of it, but it's probably the same conundrum faced by any news source. If they wait a week to see how the servers pan out, then the page views aren't going to amount to anything, and the ad money won't amount to anything, and that means the staff don't get paid. I wish it was possible for a reviews site to exist so bang-on, so trusted, that people would rather wait the week or two for their review, rather than gobble everything up the day the embargo lifts and then not think about it again.
  • BladedFalcon - March 10, 2014 9:54 a.m.

    True I suppose, and I mean, I guess it's also valid to operate under the assumption that even if the servers don't work for shit at first, the idea is that the game SHOULD work in the state it was reviewed today sooner or later. Still, it is a bit of a conundrum, since back when Simcity Launched, I remember a LOT of sites jumped the gun with early reviews, giving the game 9s and 10s... Which are kinda ludicrous looking back now, seeing as it wasn't just the server problems, but from what I've heard, even with online working as it should, the game isn't really very good on it's own.
  • GR HollanderCooper - March 10, 2014 10:51 a.m.

    Honestly, I don't see the point in holding a review to check servers. Do the servers work? Great! Then I stand by my score. Do the servers not work? Then it's a 0/5. It either works or doesn't.
  • The_Tingler - March 10, 2014 11:23 a.m.

    Yeah, agree. The game is still the same whatever the condition of the servers. But you guys need to do some sort of day one news report on the servers. Please? :)
  • GR HollanderCooper - March 10, 2014 11:24 a.m.

    k
  • bebl09 - March 10, 2014 5:53 p.m.

    IGN told people for ages that their review was going up this morning (same time as GR) only to then pull the old bait and switch and put a 'review in progress' article instead, pissing off everyone who was expecting the proper review score. Classy as always on their part.
  • rainn'sgaydar - March 10, 2014 9:29 a.m.

    I don't know. I'd say his score is a bit of a...reach. I take it by your abilink level that you beat Bravely Default?
  • BladedFalcon - March 10, 2014 9:44 a.m.

    Lol, actually, not quite XD I've been completing every single sidequest there is, (Which is an exhausting task once you hit chapter 5...) so I'm only on chapter 7, but I have a feeling it shouldn't be much longer now. And thankfully, every new chapter makes it so the sidequests are harder, but fewer and faster to go trough.
  • rainn'sgaydar - March 10, 2014 10:17 a.m.

    I'm in chapter 6. I hit a huge wall when the vampire sidequest first came open. Those dragons were wasting me and it took quite a grind to be able to handle them. I almost quit on the game, but then I found the Utsusemi, turn tables, comeback kid combo that lays waste to any physical attacker. I don't know how you're doing all the sidequests every time. I've been picking my spots, going up against the bosses I liked. And I do the dragons every time since they gave me such grief. I do think you're close to the end though.
  • GR HollanderCooper - March 10, 2014 10:51 a.m.

    OH SNAP I FINISHED IT LET'S TURN THE TITANFALL COMMENTS INTO A BRAVELY DEFAULT SPOILERCAST.
  • BladedFalcon - March 10, 2014 11:07 a.m.

    YEAH LET'S.
  • rainn'sgaydar - March 10, 2014 12:07 p.m.

    WHERE THE FAIRY FLIES
  • GR HollanderCooper - March 11, 2014 2:34 p.m.

    THERE'S A HIDDEN MESSAGE IN THAT TITLE RAINN YOU'RE GONNA SHIT YOURSELF WHEN YOU FIND IT.
  • rainn'sgaydar - March 11, 2014 3:20 p.m.

    I DID WHEN I FOUND IT AND THEN I CRIED FROM EMBARRASSMENT AND THEN I PEED FROM THE CRYING AND OH NO I'M A MESS
  • Cyberninja - March 10, 2014 9:46 a.m.

    Your right it does have the same score, heck going by score by the same reviewer its worse then the stick of truth!
  • Vonter - March 10, 2014 10:22 a.m.

    Nah lack of local multiplayer is a bummer for anyone who don't likes online play, especially in a game that is supposed to be aimed at playing with friends. I don't really get the other joke shouldn't it be M$ or EA paying for the review? What is actually in my mind is why does this game is getting a patch to increase resolution in X1. Sounds a bit lazy looking to polish a game after it has been released, and will it be noticeable? Maybe if you have a big TV.
  • bebl09 - March 10, 2014 5:57 p.m.

    He means Sony and Nintendo paying them not to give it a better score. And yeah it does seem like they've really rushed the game out if they're still talking about changing the resolution and not having even settled on a final resolution yet.
  • lemur - March 10, 2014 3:39 p.m.

    Man, I remember when that joke was the shit back in 2011.
  • bebl09 - March 10, 2014 5:51 p.m.

    Ah the Halo Reach joke, that's how to tell a proper GR'er ;)
  • mafyooz - March 11, 2014 4:59 a.m.

    I reckon if there is going to be any of that pathetic kind of bleating from the people who take review scores far too seriously it'll come now that Dark Souls 2 has been given a higher score ;)
  • pl4y4h - March 8, 2014 1:23 p.m.

    It'll probably get a 4
  • Errrrbo - February 13, 2014 10:51 a.m.

    This game doesn't look that interesting to me.
  • shawksta - February 12, 2014 9:32 p.m.

    Cant wait to play it.
  • Shigeruken - February 12, 2014 6:03 p.m.

    These burn cards sound like a terrible idea to me. Hopefully they work well in practice.

Showing 41-60 of 89 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Mar 11 2014 - PC, Xbox One
Apr 08 2014 - Xbox 360 (US)
Available Platforms: PC, Xbox One, Xbox 360
Genre: Shooter
Published by: Microsoft
Developed by: Respawn Entertainment
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Strong Language, Violence