Google+

Tiger Woods PGA Tour 11 review

AT A GLANCE
  • Ryder Cup competitions
  • Focus Meter keeps you honest
  • Best online options yet
  • Player models are kinda meh
  • Too few courses
  • Career mode needs a reboot

If we could’ve laid odds in Vegas some time between Thanksgiving and Christmas last year against a new Tiger Woods game appearing in 2010, we would’ve jumped on it. Considering the fact that Tiger barely played in ’09, then had a little scandal you may have heard about, we were prepared for EA to pull out of the Tiger business for a summer.

This proves a couple things, of course - we’re hideous gamblers and underestimating the will of EA Sports to perpetuate a brand is a fool’s bet. It’s also pretty obvious now that the development team had big plans for this year’s version, and wanted to show it off at almost any cost.

There are some changes, but longtime Tiger fans should have no fear. Even with the bevy of new gameplay features, much of the underlying action is exceedingly familiar. The new tweaks are welcome, though; the game feels more balanced than ever thanks to an improved stick-swing mechanic and the all-important Focus meter. The days of unlimited awesomeness are (thankfully) over, as you have to pick your spots to use power boosts and spins. The more of those you use, the less Focus you have, until eventually your tank is empty. The only way to recharge is to keep firing the ball at the hole sans Focus, so you’ll think twice before you apply that backspin on a meaningless second shot.

The Ryder Cup is another big addition in Tiger 11, and it definitely adds a wrinkle we haven’t seen. Team-based golf is a different animal than your normal weekend on the PGA Tour; it’s all about matchups. Want to pair a great putter with a big boomer? Or should you put a couple of short game masters together to try and box in their opponents? There is no right answer, of course; it all depends on how you execute.

The opportunities for exploration in the Ryder Cup are exponential, and we found ourselves very drawn to the event. Our only complaint is that the four-man matches take much longer than they should, since we were forced to watch everyone’s shot instead of just our own. Even so, the Cup competition is the most compelling single-player option Tiger has featured in years.

An impressive array of online options are available for those willing to venture into the wilds of multiplayer, but be warned – there are loads of serious guys out there who love to do nothing more than lay a virtual beatdown on unsuspecting duffers. New team-based options are a nifty way for a few buddies to play together without dealing with the unwashed masses, though.

As we expected, Tiger’s polished and predictably good – more so than his real-life counterpart these days. It’s not necessarily a must buy, but has plenty to keep you busy all summer long.

Jun 12, 2010

More Info

Release date: Jun 08 2010 - Wii, Xbox 360, PS3 (US)
Jul 02 2010 - Wii, Xbox 360, PS3 (UK)
Available Platforms: Wii, Xbox 360, PSP, PS3
Genre: Sports
Published by: EA SPORTS
Developed by: EA Tiburon
Franchise: Tiger Woods PGA Tour
ESRB Rating:
Everyone
PEGI Rating:
3+

13 comments

  • TheBoz - June 15, 2010 12:46 p.m.

    I really have lost all respect for this adulterer. He should change his nationality and team up with John Terry and Ashley Cole in the England footie team.
  • itkonlyyou118 - June 13, 2010 3:02 p.m.

    ===== http://www.smalltrade.net ===== Hello! Hot summer, let's dress up now! Tell you a good place to shop for fashion, avant-garde, personality, sexy, mature from here you go! Welcome to { http://www.smalltrade.net } sure you will find what you need. Moreover, the company has a good reputation, product quality standards, at reasonable prices. Over the years, has been well received by overseas friends for their support. Therefore, please rest assured purchase. free shipping competitive price any size available accept the paypal Air jordan(1-24)shoes $33 Handbags(Coach l v f e n d i d&g) $35 Tshirts (ed hardy,lacoste) $16 Jean(True Religion,ed hardy,coogi) $30 Sunglasses(Oakey,coach,gucci,A r m a i n i) $16 New era cap $15 Bikini (Ed hardy,) $25 FREE sHIPPING ====== http://www.smalltrade.net ===== ` ╰—┘ 。 ┅★`_、 │\__╭╭╭╭╭__/│    │           │   │           │  │ ●       ● │  │≡    o    ≡│ │           │  ╰——┬O◤▽◥O┬——╯    |  o  |    |╭---╮| ┌┬┬┬┐  ╞╧╧╧╧══╧╧╧╧╧╧╧╧╡
  • dfjkj - June 13, 2010 12:33 p.m.

    Welcome to----------------- http://www.traderwear.com ---------------------------------- All kinds of world brand shoes,jeans,t-shirts,bikini,beach pants,handbags,wallets,sunglasses,belt,caps,watches etc..Nike shox(R4,NZ,OZ,TL1,TL2,TL3) $35,Sunglasses(Oakey,coach,gucci,Armaini) $16,Sunglasses(Oakey,coach,gucci,Armaini) $16 New era cap $15 --------------- have some cheap things ...--------------------- --------------- have some good gift ...--------------------- --------------------------- free shipping! ----------------- http://www.traderwear.com ----------------------------------
  • jiajia - June 13, 2010 2:19 a.m.

    input this URL: http://www.fashionsports.org you can find many cheap and fashion stuff (jor dan s-h-o-e-s) (NBA NFL NHL MLB j-e-r-s-e-y) ( lv h-a-n-d-b-a-g) (cha nel w-a-l-l-e-t) (D&G s-u-n-g-l-a-s-s-e-s) (ed har dy j-a-c-k-e-t) (UG G b-o-o-t) WE ACCEPT PYAPAL PAYMENT YOU MUST NOT MISS IT!!
  • Spybreak8 - June 12, 2010 9:53 p.m.

    I picked up 09 a while ago and have highly enjoyed it since. I think I'll be fine for some time which is nice.
  • CaptainPrice87 - June 12, 2010 7:57 p.m.

    @ nicoleyue 12 Are you trying do get kids raped?
  • JADENkOTOR - June 12, 2010 5:22 p.m.

    09 is still the champ... I wonder if tiger is still slammin it in 18 different holes
  • Ampatent - June 12, 2010 1:22 p.m.

    Boy those Air Jordans will go great with my new handbag, sunglasses, and New Era cap! Seriously... wtf?!
  • DarxStar - June 12, 2010 10:49 a.m.

    You can't fool around with women? But that's what Tiger's all about! I'm not getting this.
  • Mexicutioner - June 12, 2010 9:49 a.m.

    Wow, reading my comment made me kinda mad lol. Sorry if that sounded negative, but I just don't care about this game.
  • Mexicutioner - June 12, 2010 9:48 a.m.

    A GamesRadar article posted by the U.S. side after midnight? And it's a review of a game that some people care of?! Oh man, I'm glad I stayed up this late.....

Showing 1-13 of 13 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000