Google+

The Secret World review

AT A GLANCE
  • Original world-building, fun writing
  • Tons of valid build possibilities
  • Promise of long-term updates
  • Flimsy, unsatisfying combat
  • Repetition kills the fun factor
  • Some free-to-play titles execute better

Incredibly lackluster combat was the sledgehammer that broke our camel's back. While you can wield a variety of supposedly deadly weapons, few offer much sense of oomph or impact. We played primarily with the blade / assault rifle combo, but we might as well have been slashing that sword at thin air for all the visual and aural feedback it offered. On-hit effects didn't even wait for their animations to connect; the very instant we triggered our stun ability enemies would freeze, well before our character actually executed the attack's visually dramatic animation.

Once you assemble a stable build, combat devolves into cycling through the same few abilities over and over, ad nauseam, until the enemies drop. Many MMOs feature skill cycling and the resultant repetition, but even eight-year-old WoW (not to mention Funcom's more recent Age of Conan) do a better job of making combat seem believably physical, with blades that feel cutty and blunt objects that go thunk. In contrast, TSW’s combat looks and feels like a weightless pantomime. Apply 2-10 button cycles until enemy drops; repeat. All RPGs are repetitive on some level, but TSW's repetitive, bloodless encounters become mind-numbing.

Between the superficially novel but ultimately familiar questing and the utterly uninvolving combat our initial wellspring of bonhomie and goodwill dried up, leaving us going through the same motions over and over just to get to the next slightly different quest giver. By the time we got to Egypt (about 80 hours logged) we were spent, leaving us in an odd position. TSW's fiction and atmosphere are so novel that we'd really like to see what happens in the rest of the game, in Transylvania and beyond. The problem is that this would require playing for another 100+ hours, and at this point that doesn't seem appealing.

The Secret World is admirable for attempting to inject much-needed originality and life into MMORPGs, but while its fiction and theme succeed, its mostly derivative questing and stale combat fail to justify the steep time investment. Funcom is committed to The Secret World and will undoubtedly make many changes and improvements over the coming months and years. But given the current shortcomings, up-front cost, and the monthly fee, a wait-and-see approach seems wise. Given time, The Secret World will only get cheaper - and better.

More Info

Release date: Jul 03 2012 - PC (US)
Available Platforms: PC
Genre: Role Playing
Published by: Electronic Arts
Developed by: Funcom
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood, Partial Nudity, Strong Language, Use of Drugs, Violence, Sexual Content

16 comments

  • vincent-wolf - July 23, 2012 12:22 a.m.

    TSW really hooked me up in first few betas and I don't regret buying it one bit. However I do not expect to buy even 1 more month of sub. All the new positive sides end very quickly as usual and negative things catch up. Lack of LFG tool is gamebreaking. I'm not going to go through the same old "prove that you're good enough to join my manual party" sh*t. That's too 2009. What's that? Don't want to play manual way don't play at all? Yes, that's what I would do. Along with many other ppl. How's that good for business? Characters are ugly and badly animated. I need to like my character to be interested in playing the game. It must be alive and pretty. Not usual random gal with bland appearance from the streets. Especially weird since they added a cash shop that mostly sells clothes. Nuh-uh, Funcom, doesn't works this way. Bugs, crashes and over the top system requirements. Don't even need to explain that. Guild Wars 2 looks much better, has sexy characters, pretty graphics, good animations and much simplier graphics and still looks better.
  • JVNT - July 24, 2012 10:29 a.m.

    Alright, as far as the LFG tool, chances are that will be added. It's not a standard. For example, WoW didn't have it for the longest time and it was a pain getting a group. I haven't had a problem getting a group in TSW for something. No one questions my character or requires me to prove I'm good. The only reason you'd be complaining is if you tried to bring a QL 0 character into a QL 5 dungeon and were told you were good enough. I like the character models. But someone used to the perfectly pretty stuff like guild wars might not appreciate something that doesn't look like a fairy.
  • tim-benson - July 20, 2012 8:02 a.m.

    This is one reason why I don't read reviews anymore. They are Biased and some people may not agree. I do enjoy the game, but to be honest EVERY mmo that is out has some form of clunkyness. Every mmo will ALWAYS have the kill x and kill x. That is just natural. Even the most action based mmo AKA Tera is kill x and kill x. NO MMO will EVER tray from that formula like it or not. This review should be NEUTRAL but you reviewers are rediculously making a Biased review forcing people to believe what you feel how the game is. You need to make it nutraul based and explain how if PEOPLE would like this type of thing NOT HOW YOU FEEL RETARDS!
  • angelusdlion - July 21, 2012 8:10 p.m.

    A review is an opinion, so what, he's just supposed to ignore that he found the combat boring? Doubly so when it's a MAJOR part of the game? Seriously dude, take a chill pill and relax a little. Your'e starting to sound like someone mentioned the ending of Mass Effect 3.
  • Myko - July 23, 2012 8:07 a.m.

    haha your picture looks goofy.
  • GojuSuzi - July 28, 2012 6:35 a.m.

    To be fair, they are showingexactly how people of the same type as them would like it. And since these are the sort plaguing modern WoW, expecting to be spoonfed xp and have quest instructions no more complicated than "go over there, hammer two attacks, then come back for lewt", it's completely accurate that these kind of people will not enjoy TSW, and better for everyone if they steer clear. The shards are filling up faster than Funcom can open them. TSW is not going to die for lack of players. We do not need to trick the instant-gratification-seekers into playing a game that is neither designed for nor desireable to them. Everybody wins.
  • AuthorityFigure - August 29, 2012 4:48 a.m.

    There's no such thing as a neutral review. If there were, it would be meaningless because it would have its point of view made a priori. Your comment itself is biased, so how would you express your view if you re-wrote it neutrally? Ridiculous.
  • JonnyBigBoss - July 19, 2012 9:59 p.m.

    Your review echoes my experience exactly. The Secret World is bold and it's hard to deny that it strays from the norm, but its foundation is weak. I can't recommend any game, particularly an MMORPG, that doesn't have a strong foundation. World of Warcraft may have been missing content and balance when it came out, but its gameplay and engine were fantastic. The Secret World's combat is clunky and the entire experience feels unexciting. Great work fellas.
  • etherealshadow - July 19, 2012 5:25 p.m.

    I'm really torn with this one. I love the concept and the art. I've loved the videos I've seen of it and the in-depth and endlessly customizable talent system they made. However, the gameplay doesn't cut it for me, and it seems to really lack polish. I've already pre-ordered GW2, and I just can't justify paying a subscription for TSW. I played in the betas for both games, and GW2 is much more polished and an all around better value. If it didn't have a subscription I probably would have gotten it. As it stands now, though, I'm going to have to pass. I just can't see enough value in it.
  • Person5 - July 19, 2012 3:08 p.m.

    I been playing the game for a while, and besides the combat being kinda weak, I quite enjoy the game, plus I forsee the game being Free to play soon enough, I think its worth its initial price, and maybe one or two extra months, at least for now.
  • dcbernman - July 19, 2012 2:29 p.m.

    Totally saw this coming. Although, I suppose that that could be the result of honest advertising. If you couldn't see that the game had weak and repetitive combat, but great story, atmosphere, and art, then you really didn't look close enough...
  • griffinkat - July 19, 2012 2:23 p.m.

    a 2.5 out of 5? Oh run the the hills before the fannatics find out. >.> GameRevoltion got flamed for giving the same score. ;p To the point there's a whole forum page on TSW site about how horrible they were at reviwing it. ;p
  • JonnyBigBoss - July 19, 2012 10:01 p.m.

    GameRevolution got flamed for sharing its opinion which went against the die-hard TSW fans. MMO gamers can be a bit fanatical.
  • StonedMagician99 - July 9, 2012 6:54 p.m.

    I know we're both waiting for the official GR verdict, but having bought it and played almost 20 hours so far, I can say yes, it is worth buying. The PVP could be better handled, and a few early quests are bugged, but the story, graphics, and art direction are incredible. I think it's worth buying, for whatever my recommendation is worth.
  • Salazans - July 9, 2012 7:37 a.m.

    One question, is it worth buying? I've already got 90% of the preorder goodies sitting in my account but have been dissuaded by a friend to buying the actual game now.
  • FoxdenRacing - July 20, 2012 9:03 a.m.

    That wholly depends on what you want from it...if the game provides what you want, then it doesn't matter what the reviews say. The reviewer doesn't think it's that great; you might! I've loved games that reviewers have hated, and have hated games that reviewers loved. I've loved games that other gamers pile on, and and hated games that other gamers gush over. It's all about getting to know who you're listening to, knowing whether you and they look for the same thing in their games. Justin Towell, for example; He and I have very similar tastes in racing games, so I take him at his word when he's put on a racing game review.

Showing 1-16 of 16 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000