Google+

The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion review

AT A GLANCE
  • Character and geographic freedom
  • Never a dull moment
  • Startling amount of content
  • End-game frustration for stealth folks
  • Occasional framerate dips
  • Say goodbye to everything else

Furthermore, leveling up - the heart of any RPG - is skill-based, meaning you simply practice what you like doing in order to get better at it. You'll rise quicker if you hone your character's core traits (i.e. a thief who frequently sneaks). Interestingly, Oblivion's bestiary levels up with you, further adding to the freedom as there are no "high-level" dungeons that are off-limits until you've played for 40 hours.

So like Homer, once you've begun to consume what this eternity has to offer, you'll have no desire to stop. The fourth Elder Scrolls entry is utterly brilliant and should not be missed by any adventure-spirited gamer. It serves notice to the rest of the role-playing world, unabashedly boasting, "Can you top this?"

More Info

Release date: Mar 21 2006 - Xbox 360 (US)
Mar 24 2006 - PC, Xbox 360 (UK)
Available Platforms: PC, Xbox 360, PS3, PSP
Genre: Role Playing
Published by: 2K Games, Bethesda
Developed by: Bethesda
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Language, Sexual Violence, Use of Alcohol, Violence

11 comments

  • Misemono - December 16, 2014 10:43 p.m.

    beat it and got all achievements. definitely has a better and more throught out storyline than Skrim.
  • james-payter - June 2, 2014 2:35 a.m.

    Obviously a bit late to the party here, but how is the reviewer saying that the leveled enemies is a good thing!? This essentially removes the challenge of the game. If the enemies level with you, then your character leveling-up is a useless mechanic. One of the things I loved about Morrowind was that there were certain places you had to avoid, as there were badass enemies in there. This is how it should be, and it meant that if you braved it you could get your hands on some awesome item early on in the game. In Oblivion I beat some 'boss' type characters and kept getting crap from them, but then later in the game every bandit suddenly starts having full sets of Glass armour. How is that even right!? The enemies leveling with you broke Oblivion as far as I'm concerned, and I had to use Oscuros Oblivion Overhaul to fix this massive fuck-up by Bethesda. I just feel sorry for people who were stuck with this terrible game mechanic on consoles...
  • ArcaneGhost - September 19, 2010 9:38 p.m.

    Snapped it up at Blockbuster, $15. Thank you for the reassurance on my purchase, GamesRadar. :)
  • tomxxjoker - July 12, 2010 2:25 a.m.

    This game rocks
  • D0CCON - February 21, 2010 5:32 a.m.

    @mrskullz915 if you have a PC that can run it (which shouldn't be too hard now-a-days), get it for PC. The Wii won't be seeing this anytime soon.
  • D0CCON - February 21, 2010 5:30 a.m.

    When this game came out it musta been a freakin revolution. for anybody who thinks games need multiplayer to have value, I've put in 130 hours into this game and have yet to finish the main quest (ok, so I've been ignoring the main quest). That's more than Halo 3, Team Fortress 2, Uncharted 2, and all of the Battlefield games I've ever played combined. It's absolutely amazing (and a steal used at Gamestop, $26 GOTY edition)
  • AlexMercer1337 - January 4, 2010 6:38 a.m.

    The greatest game ever. Watch out for the glitches though.
  • GameLegend08 - February 14, 2009 2:29 a.m.

    I agree....the best game ever.
  • gamer49 - January 11, 2009 10:37 p.m.

    the best game ever.
  • mrskullz915 - September 18, 2009 2:08 a.m.

    THEY NEED TO GET THIS ON THE WII SO BAD!!! HELP ME SPREAD THIS!?!?!?
  • sk8rdude - August 13, 2009 4:25 a.m.

    im still workin on it but its freakin amazing!!!!!!(but right now im a vampire)

Showing 1-11 of 11 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000