Google+

The Conduit review

AT A GLANCE
  • A Wii game with challenging difficulty
  • Incredible roster of online options
  • Customizable everything
  • The bland environments online and off
  • Talented voice cast squandered on ho-hum plot
  • Far Cry Vengeance (trust us)

But we don’t review games in a vacuum. The truth is you probably wouldn’t bat an eye at The Conduit had it appeared on PC, PS3 or Xbox 360. But there are millions of Wii owners out there starved for a classic FPS experience, and it’s beyond fair to say that hardcore hopes ride high upon the game’s success. The scores will undoubtedly differ, but rest assured we all want see the Wii become a system where traditional genres proliferate even if we can’t reflect that in the score. So, taking a page from The Conduit itself, we’re giving you the option to adjust our review score:

That leaves a possibility of an unprecedented 12 score! You go, Conduit!

 

Is it better than...?

Metroid Prime 3: Corruption
Nah. The controls are on par, but the lifeless corridors of Washington DC have nothing on the cosmic scope of ‘Troid. There’s just more to do in Nintendo’s FPS, and most of it is more interesting, even without multiplayer. Worst of all, The Conduit didn’t have presence of mind to launch its franchise into our hearts two decades ago. Shame!

Red Steel
Of course! Built on a promise, Red Steel was essentially a game designed on spec that failed to deliver due to technology it didn’t yet understand. Motion controlled shots are leagues ahead of this forgettable launch title. Even if the sequel rights previous wrongs, it’s still pretty astounding what The Conduit pulled off without Wii Motion Plus.

Killzone 2/Halo 3
No

 

 

 

 

Just for you, Metacritic!

Few developers bother to utilize Nintendo’s aging guts and motion controls to churn out exclusive, traditional content, and fewer still refine that into anything resembling a meaningful experience. The solid, yet unremarkable single-player won’t win any awards, but The Conduit still features the most finely honed online outings available on Wii, thus making it supremely worthy of our third highest score. We can’t wait to see what else the Quantum 3 engine has in store.

Jun 23, 2009

More Info

Release date: Jun 23 2009 - Wii (US)
Jul 10 2009 - Wii (UK)
Available Platforms: Wii
Genre: Shooter
Published by: Sega
Developed by: High Voltage
ESRB Rating:
Teen: Blood, Violence, Mild Language

70 comments

  • trode73 - January 15, 2010 5:38 a.m.

    I love the Conduit especially online send me your friend code
  • trode73 - January 15, 2010 2:56 a.m.

    i must compliment the grenades, they are awesome
  • sharklion - September 3, 2009 3:22 p.m.

    its this or 'troid prime trilogy
  • marluxia2500 - July 23, 2009 1:02 a.m.

    youll hate: Far Cry Vengance lol
  • OmegaRedHead - July 21, 2009 9:03 p.m.

    If you think this games story is genaric, check out this topic on the GamesFAQs Conduit board: http://www.gamefaqs.com/boards/genmessage.php?board=947068&topic=50295705
  • Xeacons - July 1, 2009 1:59 a.m.

    Not bad. Gameplay-wise, the weapons have a Halo-feel (only a couple at a time; you get new guns/ammo mostly from dead, regen health) in a solitary environment with a if-it-breaths-kill-it objective. Not a lot of strategy. The plot and environments seem ripped-off Deus Ex. Agent hired by secret government agency gets hired and betrayed, and ends up working for the "terrorists" he thought were the enemy. Recognizable national landmarks torn by war make up most of the levels. Final assessment: Is this the "console-affirming" hardcore title that will prove the Wii's "superiority"? No. But it is a clear message to most 3rd parties who blame the shovelware (tossed out to fund their 360/PS3 projects) on the Wii's lack of hardware: Now there is NO EXCUSE for shovelware!
  • ChristianWitzel - June 30, 2009 2:58 p.m.

    This actually looks like a decent title, even if it is on a system that mimics the dinosaur era of gaming at times. The controls are solid, the gameplay is fair, and the online side is just plain fun!
  • TIEREN - June 27, 2009 4:26 a.m.

    It's a good game. FOR WII
  • Smash_Bro - June 26, 2009 3:19 a.m.

    Team Deathmatch, King of the Hill, Capture the Flag, Sci-Fi FPS with schweet multiplayer... So this is Halo Wii. Ossim. Why wasn't this shown at the E3 press conference??
  • sharker - June 26, 2009 1:21 a.m.

    the average mite can't jump over a 6 inch step
  • TheCommunist - June 25, 2009 6:58 p.m.

    This is how you make a first-shooter for the Wii. I hope more shooters like this come out for the Wii.
  • oscarpiggy - June 24, 2009 7:04 p.m.

    wow im actually going to buy a wii game or at least use my wii
  • Life - June 24, 2009 6:19 p.m.

    I think now all we need is a Metroid game with online multiplayer, Wiispeak, no friend codes, and done with Quantum 3 (done by Team Ninja of course), and I think you'll have the end all be all of Nintendo/Shooter fanboys.
  • thor0997 - June 24, 2009 5:51 p.m.

    And then a shining light of hope ignighted above the murky sea of sorrow that was Nintindo's stock of games. Pull back the hard core with quality and not quantity. Recaptch: courierjournal kinko (Longer ever)
  • xXHaloKillerXx - June 24, 2009 1:32 p.m.

    IGN gave this an 8.6 and now GR an 8.Is it me or do you think it could go even lower.
  • flyawave - June 24, 2009 1:03 p.m.

    cool, it gets 10 from me as i only have a wii and need better 3rd party shizz for wii
  • VikVik - June 24, 2009 8:46 a.m.

    now, its a plus 1 when you only have a wii, is it a -1 when u have the 360 and ps3, just asking????? lol, might wait on it and try to get it used
  • ChrisAntistaSmellsLikePizza - June 24, 2009 5:11 a.m.

    I might buy this even though I don't own a Wii. I can give it to my uncle; he'll enjoy it.
  • MotionlessxXx - June 24, 2009 5:10 a.m.

    This is a impressively written review! with out a doubt the best i have ever read. Who exactly wrote this? oh and my opinion on the game, by this review i would buy it and more than likely enjoy it... if i had money...
  • Gahmah - June 24, 2009 4:36 a.m.

    poor condi, woulda been pretty nice on the last gen by the sound of it. Not sure if it's just my screen, but it doesn't even seem to look as nice as hello deux. Seems like it should be fun though wiht some of the less intense fps crowd... or just me and my friends griefing new people.

Showing 1-20 of 70 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000