Google+

The Conduit review

AT A GLANCE
  • A Wii game with challenging difficulty
  • Incredible roster of online options
  • Customizable everything
  • The bland environments online and off
  • Talented voice cast squandered on ho-hum plot
  • Far Cry Vengeance (trust us)

Yeah, baddies will mostly sit there and take the hit, yet it almost feels like it’s a balance struck while attempting to wade players into what’s still a remarkably new frontier of controls. Oh, in case you’re not familiar with how to control an FPS with a Wii Remote, it’s all about "The Dead Zone."


Above: How The Conduit works

Instead of a mouse or right analog stick, you’ve got an invisible border on screen. Once you’re reticule moves beyond that perimeter, the screen dynamically shifts your perspective in the direction your crosshairs are headed. In hallways this works fine… In open areas, not so much. Fortunately, the game is linearly designed with that shortcoming in mind. We’d say it takes a while to get the hang of, but it doesn’t. Especially if you’re willing to tinker, since the dead zone is just one of the many things that is yours to adjust!

Stuff that sucks about reviewing games #475: You jot down a poignantly hilarious aside, heroically skewering a game for a specific fault… then you check the menu and realize that it’s optional/adjustable and you look like an asshole for not being thorough. The book hasn’t been written on how Wii FPSs should work, so The Conduit leaves you free tailor the interface to your specific liking.


Above: Our Nation's phallus... those fiends!

Adjust reticule sensitivity, increase player’s run speed, toggle the dead zone – you’re bound to find a control scheme that suits you no matter how meaty and unsightly that thing you call a hand may be. So while we hardly consider the D-pad optimal for weapon selections, quick turns and sniper zooms, at least The Conduit gave us options. Even your HUD is yours to choreograph or even dismiss altogether. 
 

Above: GR's custom interface - not recommended! 

Single-player features some pretty stellar voice work in a shell of rather vanilla conspiratorial intrigue, but that’s probably not what has so many of you interested. To be fair, just about any multiplayer that actually works is going to look pretty damned good on a system consistently starved for it, but Conduit’s still a cut above. The matches we played a few weeks back were both lag free and quick to load - basically nowhere near as horrid just about any other online Wii game ever made. Jump in, jump out – no friend codes required.

Above: Oh, you’d better believe there’s Bio-Nodes! 

With its own spin on Free-for-all, Team Deathmatch, King of the Hill, and Capture the Flag, Conduit’s got online options for days and days. Our favorite, Bounty Hunter, was quite unlike anything we’ve ever seen before. You’re basically charged with killing a specific player, and penalized for killing anyone else. Watching 12 players frantically scramble about trying not to kill one another is truly one of the more interesting modes we’ve ever seen.

Above: Finally, you get to use Wii Speak for something other than teaching a Raccoon to fish 

More Info

Release date: Jun 23 2009 - Wii (US)
Jul 10 2009 - Wii (UK)
Available Platforms: Wii
Genre: Shooter
Published by: Sega
Developed by: High Voltage
ESRB Rating:
Teen: Blood, Violence, Mild Language

70 comments

  • Cyberninja - June 23, 2009 10:10 p.m.

    for me it got that 12 best game ever and first time to take a stab a something now game were reviewing related
  • c03n3nj0 - June 23, 2009 10:23 p.m.

    Nice score, I'll definitely be getting this game. Just need so FPSs besides 'troid 3...
  • ELpork - June 23, 2009 11:28 p.m.

    GASP!!! 3rd party trying!!! WTF
  • JJBSterling - June 24, 2009 12:13 a.m.

    Far Cry Vengeance? That's a valid point.
  • wiirdo - June 24, 2009 12:16 a.m.

    After reading this review, almost want to rent/buy Far Cry Vengeance. Almost. That games gets beat down like it's "My Little Pony: Party Babiez" or something.
  • lava_lamp - June 24, 2009 12:34 a.m.

    "You'll hate: Far Cry Vengeance (trust us)" ha irrelevant but true
  • crabbo - June 24, 2009 1:04 a.m.

    I plan on buying the game solely out of solidarity. With that said, I won't be rushing out the door screaming "OH MY GOD THE CONDUIT!!" So I'll probably wait a while before I buy this one.
  • mastersword369 - June 24, 2009 1:24 a.m.

    i went to gamestop today to pick up my(preordered)copy, and was crushed to hear that it wouldn't be there for another day. christ, i can hardly wait.
  • manaconda - June 24, 2009 1:29 a.m.

    in 20 years a website will make an ugly boxart feature and some asshole will ask in the comments 'you forgot the conduit. FAIL. lulz.' i hope i get to be that asshole.
  • Xtapolapopotamus - June 24, 2009 2:35 a.m.

    "You'll hate: FarCry Vengeance (trust us)" Bless you, Mr. Antista. My favorite part of this article.
  • somthing42 - June 24, 2009 3:33 a.m.

    I'm going to buy this game . . . as soon as it gets to the stores. *sigh* waiting is hard. recapcha: showoff Mr
  • Duckmaster - June 24, 2009 3:46 a.m.

    Can't wait to get it tomorrow!!! I also want to try out playing online using WiiSpeak!
  • IChooseUAntistaMON - June 24, 2009 4:20 a.m.

    you guys are so biased if this was on 360 it would get a 6!...NOT this is a good review not biased at all of course because you guys are never like that/this is not sarcasm
  • ReaperOfDarkness - June 24, 2009 5:39 a.m.

    I sure had my fingers crossed for this game. It s nice to see that thopse of us who stuck by nintendo havent been abandoned entirely. I died a little on the inside when i heard about the pulse monitor. This game kept another part of me from dying and my wii from going on ebay or something.
  • CaptainHead - June 24, 2009 8:08 a.m.

    So... you're saying it's NOT time to throw away my 360 for waggle controls.... blast.
  • Spybreak8 - June 24, 2009 9:05 a.m.

    I really do hope it sells well because there needs to be more, much more.
  • FrozenImplosion - June 24, 2009 2:15 p.m.

    Twilight Princess from what I rememeber had pretty good graphics, and so did Metroid Prime 3, I can't really tell from the trailers where this game stands as far as graphics.
  • CapnCrotchPunch - June 24, 2009 6:20 p.m.

    nice to see that some people on the wii are actually trying, unlike some people (ubisoft, sega, ea, activision... and almost everyone else)
  • Thequestion 121 - June 24, 2009 6:53 p.m.

    Awesome! I want this game!!
  • oryandymackie - June 24, 2009 7:53 p.m.

    Have you SEEN those textures? Look at the first screenshot, look at the desk and the sofa. Ouch. Even the explosion (type thingy, I don't know what it is), is badly done and for such a small blast, why is that dude sailing into a wall?

Showing 1-20 of 70 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000