Google+

The Beatles: Rock Band review

AT A GLANCE
  • Beatles love in every little detail
  • A blast to play with friends
  • Amazing set of unlockables
  • Strictly linear campaign
  • Expensive
  • Paying extra for DLC tracks

The Cave-Dweller


Who you are: We’re not really sure. Maybe you’re, like, a bar owner or something and you’re looking for some game to bring people in on a Saturday night. Or maybe you’re thinking of giving the game as a gift to someone. Or maybe you’re reading this review because you saw the big box at Wal-Mart and thought it was some sort of add-on for Wii Fit. Don’t worry, it happens to the best of us.


Above: “I don’t see how this is going to help me lose weight”

What you should know about The Beatles: Rock Band: No, the bundle does not contain the Xbox 360, PlayStation 3, or Wii needed to play the game. And no, the bundle does not include a bass and guitar - only one guitar, a microphone and a drum set, which you’ll have to assemble yourself. And no, the bundle does not contain the actual members of The Beatles. We’re being sarcastic, of course, but trust us: some Cave-Dweller somewhere is going to try and start a lawsuit over this crap, and we want to be the first to say we called it.

What we’re getting at, though, is that TB:RB is expensive, and we’re not sure we’d trust our grandparents or bar patrons with it. The $250 price tag for the limited-edition bundle is more than a new Xbox 360 Arcade, and it’s a major investment any way you look at it. You’ll definitely enjoy the game if you can get everything needed to set it up, but it’s a lot of money to pretend to play “I Me Mine” on a plastic toy guitar.

That said, many Cave-Dwellers who tested this game were pleasantly surprised – a common comment we got was, “I had no idea The Beatles wrote this song!” and “Wow, I didn’t realize how interesting their later stuff is!” The Cave-Dweller may actually be the most likely to enjoy TB:RB, if only because he/she is most likely to go in with zero expectations.


“Wait… This WiiStation 360 needs electricity, too?”


We can’t recommend The Beatles: Rock Band to everyone. If you’re indifferent towards The Beatles, you might become a fan once you’re thrust into their beautiful little universe, but if you hate mop-tops with a fiery passion, all the peace and love in the world isn’t going to change your mind. Likewise, the game is not going to appeal to those expecting Metallica-esque difficulty or the good ol’ sex, drugs, and rock and roll approach of the earlier Guitar Hero/Rock Band games.

We’re not giving the game a perfect score, because we can understand why some people might hate it, or feel like it’s a step back from earlier Rock Band games. But if you asked us what we would’ve wanted to change about the experience, we’d be hard-pressed to come up with any significant edits. The joy you can get from playing The Beatles: Rock Band is simply immeasurable… provided, of course, that you’re coming to the game with the right expectations.


Is it better than…

Guitar Hero: Aerosmith? Dear God yes. Even though GH: Aerosmith had some neat tunes by artists that inspired the band, the Beatles are, well… The Beatles. And even if they weren’t, the care that’s been put into the presentation and extras in TB:RB obliterates GH: Aerosmith and its eerie ragdoll-Steven Tyler.


Rock Band 2? Maaaaaybe. You don’t feel like you are the Beatles, but you do feel connected to them, regardless. Rock Band 2’s campaign is much better, though.

 

 

Guitar Hero: Metallica? It’s a subjective call, obviously, but we’ve never met someone with equal affinity for both The Beatles and Metallica. Most people have a preference, and at least TB:RB doesn’t give you as many hand cramps.



Just for you, Metacritic!

Not everyone will love The Beatles: Rock Band, but everyone should love it, because it’s amazing. It’s everything a Beatles fan could want, and even if you’re not a fan, you may find yourself converted after a few songs.

Sep 8, 2009

More Info

Release date: Sep 09 2009 - Wii, Xbox 360, PS3 (US)
Sep 09 2009 - Wii, Xbox 360, PS3 (UK)
Available Platforms: Wii, Xbox 360, PS3
Genre: Other Games/Compilations
Published by: EA GAMES, MTV Games
Developed by: Harmonix
Franchise: Rock Band
ESRB Rating:
Teen: Tobacco Reference, Mild Lyrics
PEGI Rating:
12+: Bad Language, Sex

50 comments

  • D0CCON - July 16, 2010 5:22 a.m.

    I like Beatles and I wouldn't mind a game with less difficulty. It would be better than getting through 83 songs and then realizing you're incapable of playing the last two on expert, making all that work towards beating the game on expert worthless (damn you Visions! You're keeping me away from platinum and sounding like a god-awful song of gurgling and moaning into a mic with no coherency whatsoever!) So yeah, I guess I'm a giddy fanboy.
  • GrandMoffBubbles - September 16, 2009 1:04 p.m.

    Ok, I git the last word for Beatles haters out there. I have a CD in my collection by Laibach that covers the entire "Let It Be" album. Check it out. Its awesome!!!!!!!!!
  • Craza - September 15, 2009 4:43 a.m.

    I'm not a big fan of the Beatles, but I happened to see a gameplay video of TB:RB at Wal-Mart, and the visuals just floored me. I do really like Rock Band, and I have always wanted to get more acquainted with the Beatles music. I'll have to pick this up eventually, but it won't be for a while. AC2 is higher on my list at the moment. XP
  • TestDDs - September 13, 2009 12:05 a.m.

    @doomdoomdoom and @YOURMOMONTOPAllDay nice songs but my rap song is better Yo Yo Yo Rap is crap Rap is crap don't listen to that yo pwned bitches
  • venomman01 - September 12, 2009 6:07 p.m.

    The beetles are so gaaaaaay mettalica is way better.
  • doomdoomdoom - September 12, 2009 3:04 a.m.

    @YOURMOMONTOP Nice Thrice Your head is full of lice go die like mice Your name must be mitch Your just another itch I'll make you my bitch That i can just go and ditch Your just another snitch I'll own you I'll pwn you But i won't give you a loan because you'll just get boned My grammar is a slammer it wiil feel like hammer. can you do any badder
  • doomdoomdoom - September 12, 2009 2:23 a.m.

    @YOURMOMONTOPAllDay I have a poem just you fuck face Your mom is on top Your Dad is below Were is jr. i don't know You wear ladies thongs in the middle of the night You gave your neighbors a good fright You must be a fool that can not fight me I can Bench 230... bitch You must feel all dirty reading this letter go on show me can you do any better
  • Thequestion 121 - September 12, 2009 12:20 a.m.

    I just got The Beatles: Rock Band last night and I absolutely love it! I even got my mom to sing the songs, too!
  • zigs - September 11, 2009 11:54 p.m.

    regarding this: "the start button was extremely squishy and often didn’t register our attempts to press it at all" - it's possible that maybe you just didn't realise this; "It means that you need to hold the start button/navigation button down for a little while to make it function. Why is this good? No more butter fingers accidentally pausing the game or bringing up the console navigation thing and stopping the music with their floundering." http://www.rockband.com/forums/showthread.php?p=3017068#post3017068
  • doomdoomdoom - September 11, 2009 9:35 p.m.

    My grammar will never change, meaning it will always be bad. The reason i hate people for there taste in music is because... i blame the socialist.
  • FLEXO94 - September 11, 2009 12:15 p.m.

    Sweet game but costs to much but i still think its pretty cool good review too
  • GrandMoffBubbles - September 11, 2009 9:14 a.m.

    Great Article. Yes, I know its a review but the only review I'm interested in is mine and its an 11! I can't really say any more than the reviewer cause he really nailed every good thing and potential bad thing about the game (well done mate!). The only thing that I can add to the conversation is that I am one of the rare souls that loves The Beatles AND Metallica equally. Madness you say? Its true and I appreciate them both at their appropriate times. Impress girls? The Beatles. Impress my friends? Metallica.
  • skippy101 - September 11, 2009 3:16 a.m.

    HA I HAVE EQUAL AFFINITY FOR METALLICA AND THE BEATLES TAKE THAT GAMESRADAR I LIKE ALLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL MUSIC ESPECIALLY THE BEATLES AND METALLICA YOUR WRONG YOUR WRONG (Have not played The Beatles)
  • Linken4 - September 11, 2009 12:18 a.m.

    Oh the irony, because the beatles did ridiculous amounts of pot, but hey, whatever.
  • doomdoomdoom - September 11, 2009 12:11 a.m.

    @kenjum wow... can i ever change my ways. Can i get rid of drug or get rid of the Beatles? should i stop hate people because of there taste in music? Short Answer- No. But i can change my grammar. beetles i hate i don't know why there music makes me want to cry To say i love them is a lie i scream this out for you all to hear i going to drink one more beer this song is giving me a tear oh why do the Beatles stay so long Can't they just been and gone They could be smoking from a bong but they had to sing along I don't know why i hate the Beatles Oh F*ck it where are my needles there that should be the next beetle song on rock band ha.
  • doomdoomdoom - September 10, 2009 10:32 p.m.

    @LScollard Sex and drugs rock but Beatles should not even be called a rock there the worst rock i have ever heard. Only old people listen to it, generation youths are realizing how boring there music is. I hope for newer music not old $hit like this.
  • Spybreak8 - September 10, 2009 5:12 a.m.

    I'm a guy who views the water with no glass around it. ^^
  • Useoam - September 10, 2009 1:55 a.m.

    Not a fan of the beatles. Give me back my sex and drugs.
  • Doctalen - September 10, 2009 1:27 a.m.

    My friend made is mom go to Best Buy and buy him a PS3(a late birthday gift) and Rockband: Beatles (he has to pay for that) right after he left for school. As soon as we got out we raced to his house and for the past 4-5 hours played Beatles. It is awesome. Personally my favorite song would be ether "I am the Walrus" or "While my Guitar Gently Weeps". I also managed to go from sucking at drums to playing on hard in that span of time. The opening was trippy as hell and awesome because of that.
  • DrDevious - September 10, 2009 12:53 a.m.

    Love it! so fun!!!

Showing 1-20 of 50 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000