Google+

Tales of Symphonia: Dawn of the New World review

AT A GLANCE
  • Occasionally snappy, fun dialogue
  • Some scenes animated surprisingly well
  • Cool main story
  • Occasionally awful, stilted dialogue
  • Some scenes barely animated at all
  • Main story buried by pointless meandering

 We don’t want to come down on it so much, but here the mediocrity, which might have flown anywhere else, mucks up the works even more than usual, thanks to the parts of the game that work quite well. Collecting monsters, visiting old Symphonia locations, listening to the dialogue scenes and watching the motion-captured characters act out the drama suck you in like few other Wii games can, only to have the hackneyed plot devices and persistently obnoxious sidetracking annoy the living crap out of you.

If you can look past the last-last-gen flaws that absolutely should be gone by now, there’s a totally playable bit of gaming here that’ll scratch your RPG itch for the time being. But if you’re unsure as to which new Tales game you should play, Vesperia or Dawn of the New World, go Vesperia.

Nov 13, 2008

More Info

Release date: Nov 11 2008 - Wii (US)
Available Platforms: Wii
Genre: Role Playing
Published by: Namco Bandai
Developed by: Namco Tales Studio
Franchise: Tales of...
ESRB Rating:
Teen: Alcohol Reference, Fantasy Violence, Suggestive Themes, Mild Language

13 comments

  • MaxPower - December 6, 2008 1:25 a.m.

    I know exactly what you mean Coolbeans69, The first one like practically changed my life forever since it was embarrassingly to say the first every "RPG" type game I ever played and it was what got me interested in other RPG's, even final fantasy. This review is dead- on like other games radar reviews but It isnt a whole disappointment, I have the game and atleast the nostalgia keeps me going lol
  • Coolbeans69 - November 30, 2008 11:35 p.m.

    Biggest disappointment in my life
  • GamesRadarBrettElston - November 20, 2008 10:55 p.m.

    I'm only responding because it seems like you may have missed the point of the review. It's entirely true that HALF of everything is cool and the other HALF is awful. Not all scenes are animated with the same fluidity and the dialogue suffers as well. Similarly, the main storyline is quite interesting but you spend so much time farting around with other entirely UNinteresting nothings that you lose sight of the goal. If you don't want to listen to my review, as someone who played through Symphonia years ago and plays just about every JRPG I can get my hands on, trust the 68 Metacritic average. Also realize that a 6/10 means "decent," and is still worth looking into. Just be aware of the shortcomings.
  • lenitao - November 20, 2008 8:17 p.m.

    you stupid suckers,don't listen to reviews this game rules!! i've got both Tales of Symphonia and the new one is much better!! i give it a 9.6/10!! also, this review is awful, dialogue is occasionally snappy and occasionally awful, whadda hell?? can't you decide?? scenes are some animated and some not!! for god's sake, all scenes are great! cool main story but pointless meandering?? as you've said, the story is cool, because of the meandering you stupid! buy this game, you don't know what you are missing, trust me, this game is one of the best on Wii!
  • Hurricrane - November 14, 2008 5:45 p.m.

    mmmm more Symphonia... but I think I'll pass on this to keep the original untarnished
  • iluvmyDS - November 13, 2008 9:36 p.m.

    That was a well written review. But "it’s like they were pulled from a third-rate, Japan-only RPG for Saturn."? Ouch.
  • Coolbeans69 - November 30, 2008 11:40 p.m.

    I mean just look at my picture. I fucking loved the first one. I'm probably still going to get it but still.....
  • CashWheel - November 15, 2008 2:55 a.m.

    This should've been mentioned in your Worst Release Dates article - after a far superior game in the same franchise was released, Namco decided to release this.
  • NESman - November 14, 2008 7:12 p.m.

    Unfortunate. I got my hopes up. All the reviews I've read said the same thing.
  • ikillchicken - November 14, 2008 8:52 a.m.

    Yeah, I think I'll definitely pass on this. I was a little undecided but seeing it stacked up next to Vesperia... I'd rather play through that again.
  • DEATHWISH - December 17, 2008 2:19 a.m.

    Nice comeback, Brett. n_n" Geez, some people get pissed quick. >.> While it is true that this game has some flaws, It's still good enough to pick up. It's not such a touchy subject. -__-
  • nguy123 - January 11, 2009 3:24 a.m.

    I agree that this one wasnt NEARLY as good as the first, which is the best game ever made in all of time, but it's actually still really good. My only real pet peaves were the fact that they changed some of the voices, the lack of free roaming map, and the sometimes meaningless tasks.
  • Coolbeans69 - December 27, 2008 10:04 a.m.

    Coolbeans again, i just got this game and i love it! I agree it sidetracks a lot with the story and at times the dialogue is weird. Also, the monster capture system is kind of meaningless considering once ur about 2 hours in the game u only need 1 monster in ur party! But this is definatley a great game in my opinion, so no, I'm not dissapointed in this like I said like a month ago

Showing 1-13 of 13 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000