Google+

Super Street Fighter IV 3D Edition review

AT A GLANCE
  • Amazing graphics and fluidity
  • Moves, combos are 1-1 with console version
  • Online multiplayer kicks ass when it works...
  • ... but is a huge downer when it lags
  • Hard to find comfortable control setup
  • Left-side hot keys are a dead zone

3D Edition offers a simplified control scheme for beginners. This “Lite” mode lets you map any special move or Ultra Combo to any button; in a way, this makes the game play more like the stripped down (but still fun) iPhone version of Street Fighter IV. It’s still a compromise though, as you’re sacrificing normal moves for supers and Ultras, and charge moves (Blanka’s ball, Guile’s sonic boom) can be fired off with no recharge. Obviously this configuration is not going to satisfy a serious player, so Capcom included the the ability to filter online players by Pro and Lite type - a smart way to separate those who want to stick to the usual six button layout.

Regardless of which control mode you choose, the touch screen is divided into four hot keys you can assign to various moves. In Pro mode, you can set these four buttons to throw, triple kick/punch or focus attack, while Lite continues to allow any and all moves to rest there. Mapping triple kick/punch to the top right and bottom right buttons seemed to work best, allowing for somewhat easier Ultra Combos. However, the other two touch buttons are on the left side of the screen, meaning you’d have to take your thumb away from the d-pad or analog nub to hit them. In that moment, you are neither moving nor blocking – a bad move in any street fight.

Outside of the one on one fights, there’s a new wireless mode called StreetPass that pits teams of Street Fighter figurines against each other. Once activated, the 3DS scans the area for other systems using StreetPass, then engages in a mock battle between the two teams based on each figure’s stats. Winning a match accumulates Figurine Points, which can then be spent on higher-ranked figurines. Higher ranks have different attributes, so there’s definitely a collectability factor in addition to their stats.

It’s amusing to open the 3DS at the end of the day, see I’ve battled four other people in the building and then spend my points on new figures, but other than spending coins this is a very hands-off, secondary mode. It’ll be interesting in heavily populated, 3DS-centric areas (like PAX, Comic-Con or school if you’re fortunate to have a class full of early adopters), but if you’re just poking around town I can’t imagine you’ll have to settle for collecting trophies, not fighting them.


Above: Figure collecting, as summarized by Capcom

Super SFIV 3D is a commendable achievement, and absolutely contains everything that made the console version great. However, our recurring problems with multiplayer (online and off) and the unavoidable concern of button layout hindered an otherwise amazing experience. The result is still arguably one of the best portable fighters of all time and undoubtedly a showpiece launch title for 3DS, so it still comes highly recommended. And if the online smoothes out in the coming weeks, consider one of our biggest concerns moot.

Mar 25, 2011

More Info

Release date: Mar 27 2011 - 3DS (US)
Mar 25 2011 - 3DS (UK)
Available Platforms: 3DS
Genre: Fighting
Published by: Capcom
Developed by: Capcom
Franchise: Street Fighter
ESRB Rating:
Teen: Violence, Mild Suggestive Themes, Mild Language

Topics

Capcom

20 comments

  • Claymore17 - April 2, 2011 6 p.m.

    Thanks brett
  • EVtrainer - March 28, 2011 3:36 a.m.

    got this game with my 3ds today and played it for hours and love it. i play it without the 3d on most of the time looks great plays great. first time ive played a street fighter game since the sega saturn, other than the few min i played SF IV on my friends xbox 360. oh and its a 8 so its as good as halo reach :P
  • Strangleme - March 27, 2011 10:08 a.m.

    I would love this. Still not getting the 3DS on launch day. That battery life is really pushing me back from getting it.
  • GamesRadarBrettElston - March 26, 2011 10 p.m.

    @jmcgrotty The game does support 3D, but as a 2D fighter there's only so much that can be done. Yeah the backgrounds have depth but uh, you shouldn't even be looking back there in the middle of a fight. In fact, here's a cool trick - go into the game's options and turn off the 3D entirely. You'll notice the 3DS "3D" light turns off - that means the functionality is completely shut down, and is no longer eating up the 3DS' processing power. Now that it doesn't have to create two images (to overlay into a 3D image), the game now runs at 60fps. Beautiful!
  • philipshaw - March 26, 2011 12:56 p.m.

    Great review, it's definitely the best launch game. I have already went through the arcade mode with Ryu and it felt great to play,only problem like you said is the having to take your hand off the dpad to use a button on the touch pad. Also the 3D while cool doesn't really add to the game
  • NightCrawler_358 - March 26, 2011 11:31 a.m.

    Great Review, looks sweet! Funny thing is, I actually just picked up the PS3 copy new, for 17 bucks, at a Staples! I had always meant to buy it but im stingy and didnt want to pay 40 bucks. Capcom is the king of fighting games!
  • jmcgrotty - March 26, 2011 9:14 a.m.

    OK, I am thinking/guessing I am just overlooking something, but I read the article and then scanned it 3 more times, and I can't find something. Does your review of the 3D mode of this game really only say "even if the main point of the system (3D) isn’t harnessed particularly well" and then 3D is never mentioned again? I even went to other websites to read their reviews and see if maybe it just wasn't included in the final game (which I would hope would have been said before release).
  • GameManiac - March 26, 2011 6:56 a.m.

    Now I know for SURE what game to buy.
  • Shatgan - March 26, 2011 4:52 a.m.

    I preordered this one and pilotwings even though I already own the ps3 version...
  • theretrofish - March 26, 2011 3:09 a.m.

    OMG A 8? I didn't know you guys hated this game. Calling something great is no compliment, but an insult to the series!!!!!1111!~!!~~~!!!! It's probably just because this is a nintendo exclusive, and every single person who has been in the same state as the Gamesradar offices is owned by Microsoft and a huge X-box fanboy.
  • bobbybroccoli - March 26, 2011 2:55 a.m.

    Plus you guys are one of the few people complaining about the on-line. Still agood review though.
  • bobbybroccoli - March 26, 2011 2:52 a.m.

    Never played original, so I think I'll be fine with controls. And I have a strong urge to play as Zangief.
  • ChiChiRocket - March 26, 2011 2:03 a.m.

    Not enough Cammy.
  • ichigoame - March 26, 2011 1:50 a.m.

    I want 3rd strike on 3ds or psn for gods sake,I think it only came out on dreamcast in the eu
  • Mexiflan - March 26, 2011 1:02 a.m.

    One big very important question: Does it include japanese voices?
  • Overlord153 - March 26, 2011 12:43 a.m.

    I just want to know is the game naturally silent like that or was that only for the video?
  • EwoksTasteLikeChicken - March 26, 2011 12:06 a.m.

    It's good to know that if I ever get a 3DS, they'll be at least one good game out there.
  • awsomemaster - March 26, 2011 12:02 a.m.

    i'm wondering witch game to get at launch, i've never got a fighter other then SSBB but all the other games at launch don't look very good so i decided that i would get this game since it seemed like the best value. is this a good idea? like i said i've never played a fighter other then SSBB, but this game seems interesting and as i've heard it's really good.
  • shawksta - March 25, 2011 11:58 p.m.

    I think the left side hot keys can be overcomed if you set them for moves you wouldnt need to block to use them, or just be fast. Im buying this at launch for sure, great to know its just as great as the console, the issues can be overcomed im sure. Great review like always Brett
  • deadpool125 - March 25, 2011 11:48 p.m.

    First. This would probably be the only game I would pick up on the 3DS on launch.

Showing 1-20 of 20 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000