GR+ Live: Why Super Mario RPG still holds up

After more than a decade of Mario & Luigi games and sixteen years of Paper Mario games, you would think that people would have moved past Super Mario RPG: Legend of the Seven Stars for Super Nintendo. Why do people continue to latch onto this one when there are so many other plumber role-playing games after twenty years? It's because Super Mario RPG captures the very best of Nintendo creativity and Squaresoft's 1990s RPG design skills. Newly released on Wii U Virtual Console, it's high time to dive back into Super Mario RPG to see what it does so well.

Dig the show? We broadcast live ever Tuesday and Thursday so make sure to follow us on Twitch

We broadcast live every Tuesday and Thursday at  1:30PM PT/4:30PM ET/9:30PM GMT.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

I've been playing games since I turned four in 1986, been writing about them since 1987, and writing about them professionally since 2008. My wife and I live in New York City. Chrono Trigger is my favorite game ever made, Hum's Downward is Heavenward is my favorite album, and I regularly find myself singing "You Won't See Me" by The Beatles in awkward situations.
We recommend