Google+

Super Mario Galaxy 2 super review

Astonishing
Back to Article

60 comments

  • Cyberninja - May 23, 2010 5:36 p.m.

    just played the first one today to get ready for this when i get it soon
  • BIOSback - May 24, 2010 12:08 a.m.

    Ahh I'm glad I stil have my Wii.
  • reaperman22 - May 24, 2010 11:47 a.m.

    wait, wait, slow down a second. Bowser kidnaps the princess!!! :O i never would of expected that to happen, that there is some groundbreaking story telling
  • Bhup666 - May 24, 2010 6:48 p.m.

    Question to anyone: Just wondering about the Rosalina guide help-thingy.. when it takes over and you get a bronze star and it counts as if you completed the level.. does it mean you can do that to all the galaxys and actually play through all the game without getting one single gold star? My question is actually if Rosalina only guides you to the star or to the Comet medals as well? Does she show you how to get that? And does she do the comet medal galaxys also? Is it possible to get 240 bronze stars? Thanks for your answers, I live in Norway so were not tgetting this game until 11th June!
  • CAPST3R - May 24, 2010 8:48 p.m.

    Not got a Wii, not buying one. It's missing HD graphics, and has motion control. If I wanted to get up off my keester to game, I wouldn't be gaming. Even the Sixaxis is too much. It's as ridiculous as 3D tech; What's the point? I don't want the picture to be out of the screen, I want to be in the picture, which I think they'll find works better. They'd better come up with VR tech, because until then, I ain't moving.
  • Churze - September 21, 2013 7:05 p.m.

    "It's missing HD graphics" No HD graphics allow for larger and longer games. HD costs a LOT to make. I would rather play a 100 hour game in SD rather than a 20 hour game in HD. Also, SMG2 has better art direction than almost every game of the generation, rivaled only by Bioshock and Xenoblade. Also, people who don't own wii don't understand motion controls. For 90% of the Wii games I own I never need to stand up. The motion controls are never exhausting and not used nearly as frequently as everyone acts like. Instead motion controls are used to make games more satisfying and feel more real. Despite HD graphics, I never feel like I'm "in the zone" quite like I do while playing. And HD is just as much of a gimmick as 3d and motion controls. It is not necessary to play any games on the system (only a few Wii games take full advantage of the controller). I highly recommend you pick up Wii, it is the single most underrated console of all time. I know a lot of people say there are not any good games on the system because 60% of it's games is shovel ware, but the same thing can be said about PS3 and Xbox. There are very few truly high quality games on each system, totaling only about 50 for each system (not including downloadable titles. People tend to not search for any good wii games, opting instead to pick up shovel ware sport/party games. If you are worried about a lack of games, I would recommend TONS of games, but if you bought the console for about $70 pick up these some of these games with it -Xenoblade Chronicals (best JRPG of the generation) -SMG 1+2 (best 3d platformers of all time) -Mario Kart Wii (best kart racer of all time) -MadWorld -Red Steel 2 -The Legend of Zelda:Skyward Sword -Metroid Prime Trilogy -Donkey Kong Country Returns -The Little King's Story These are just to name a few.
  • shawksta - October 28, 2013 10:55 p.m.

    Dude Your replying to a 3 year old comment
  • fartinapot - May 24, 2010 9:05 p.m.

    This game looks awesome! I want to get it so bad!
  • GR_HenryGilbert - May 24, 2010 9:52 p.m.

    @bhup666 You have to reeeeeeeally suck for the Rosalina guide to show up. Though several stars took more than a few tries for me, I only failed at one enough time (about 12) for her to show. She will get you to a star, but it will be a bronze one, reminding you that you took the easy way out. Also I don't believe she helps on prankster comet stars. I did one purple coin collection I swear 20 times and she never showed, so I bet she shows on normal ones, not challenge ones. And no, she doesn't get the comet coin for you.
  • Elementskater - May 25, 2010 5:34 a.m.

    Wow McSpermie you are pretty lame. If RDD is so good, than why aren't you just playing that "all summer" rather than looking on a Wii game's review, if you never plan on picking it up anyways because its a Wii game. If you dont like it, stay out of the article. I mean yeah, every Mario game is basically the same, but yet they sell MILLIONS of copies because they are still fun. And i'm sure RDD will sell millions of copies too, it's not like that people buying this game will mean Rockstar will just die out. How about diversify your outlook on video games, because nobody wants to hear your opinion about if "Wii Sucks" or whatever.
  • TheElephantManchurianCandidate - May 25, 2010 12:40 p.m.

    Nicely written review! A few more weeks for us here in the UK can't wait
  • guiarherodrummer1998 - June 9, 2010 8:51 p.m.

    WAHOO!!! Best game ever and its finally here. Thank you Nintendo!
  • Kikyabut2 - June 15, 2010 11:59 p.m.

    Lol. I read the review after I bought the game. I still have to give you guys credit for accuracy. I love reading u guyses reviews.
  • fartinapot - June 17, 2010 5:21 p.m.

    I just got this game a few days ago. It is super fun. One or two levels so far were fustrating, but they are still possible to beat. I just finished world two.
  • GreenEyedGamer - June 24, 2010 11:50 p.m.

    I finished the game 100% in 33h 'cause I just couldn't stop playing it! I still play the game 'cause it is AWESOME!!!
  • redalert3 - July 19, 2010 6:54 p.m.

    it looks great, but the bad news is that i can only get this on my birthday, which is right after summer ends. this still looks great, and i can't wait to get it. the level designs look better and it looks more challenging that SMG1, and those star bunnies idea in SMG 1 got annoying. Hope no more bunnies in this one. this loks like something to get my wii ready for, now i've just gotta find batteries and other stuff for this game... See you soon SMG2... (P.S, they better make a SMG 3)
  • fartinapot - July 23, 2010 8:05 p.m.

    This game is great because even when the challenge seems impossible to beat, you always find a way to win it. in fact, right now i have 105 stars, and the game isn't getting any easier. I have beaten SOOOO many levels that were difficult and fustrating. In a way, this game is mostly fustrating instead of fun, but boy, is it addicting! :P
  • Octoboy - July 26, 2010 5:11 p.m.

    So, ... SMG 2 gets a 10, but Red Dead only gets a 9? There's something seriously wrong about that.
  • EricGirasole - November 20, 2010 9:41 a.m.

    This is personally MY favourite game ever. The graphics ARE next Gen and they ARE Beautiful . The game has nothing to complain about except some minor Camera and View issues. Having Yoshi in the game made it feel special becuase Yoshi hasnt stood out for a long while now. The later level's are much harder and frustrating , you guys are completely right there ( Pyramid-Esque level boss battle Dare Devil run Dont even bother) But it's not that hard either and this time round the Prankster comets have a MUCH MUCH more role to play like beating the level with the giant enemies on a timer run was Great fun . But ... Bowser really hasnt changed ... the Bowser Jr Boss battles were inventive enough ..but Bowser is the same old bowser.... I felt one good moment with the Final Battle and that was when I fired the Last comet into him Straight in the face . But this game is perfect.... the flying level's cpuld have been better but heck.. better than Screaming at a Fish isnt'it? All in All I think I can say... the game was The best the Wii has to got I Enjoyed it very much but .. Story was a bit short but I'd rather Jump on Goomba's heads without having to worry "Oh I gotta beat this level and kill Bowser) It's more relaxing the second time round and believe me I doubt anyone has found all the secrets.

Showing 41-60 of 60 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: May 23 2010 - Wii (US)
Jun 11 2010 - Wii (UK)
Available Platforms: Wii
Genre: Action
Published by: Nintendo
Developed by: Nintendo
Franchise: Mario
ESRB Rating:
Everyone: Mild Cartoon Violence
PEGI Rating:
3+

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.