Sundance 2014 full winners list: Whiplash reigns supreme

Sundance 2014 has announced its Grand Jury and Audience Award winners.

And while the overall list is as varied and interesting a list as you'd expect, there was one movie that stood out on top.

Whiplash won both of the highly coveted Drama awards, nabbing the Grand Jury Prize (Dramatic) and the Audience Award (Dramatic).

We were blown away after seeing it on the opening night (see tweet below), and our full mini-review/reaction is coming soon.

In short, the tale of a young jazz drummer and his hardcore music teacher is far more electrifying, adrenalising and stunning than any simple synopsis could ever convey, with amazing turns from Miles Teller as the drummer and J.K.Simmons as his terrifying music teacher. Throw in an accomplished and confident turn from young director Damien Chazelle, and it's easy to see how it won over both audiences and critics alike.

For the full list of the winners (along with reaction tweets/mini-reviews), just look below.

And for the full rundown of all our Sundance coverage (including 12 reviews, and many news pieces), just click here .


Grand Jury Prize (Dramatic): Whiplash

Grand Jury Prize (Documentary):   Rich Hill

Audience Award (Dramatic):  Whiplash

Audience Award (Documentary):   Alive Inside: A Story of Music & Memory


Directing (Dramatic): Cutter Hodierne, Fishing Without Nets

Directing (Documentary): Ben Cotner and Ryan White, The Case Against 8

Waldo Salt Screenwriting Award (Dramatic): Craig Johnson, The Skeleton Twins


Read our The Skeleton Twins reaction/mini-review .


Cinematography (Dramatic): Christopher Blauvelt, Low Down

Cinematography (Documentary): Rachel Beth Anderson and Ross Kauffman, E-Team

Editing (Documentary): Jenny Golden and Karen Sim, Watchers of the Sky

Special Jury Award for Breakthrough Talent (Dramatic): Justin Simien, Dear White People

Special Jury Award for Musical Score (Dramatic): The Octopus Project, Kumiko the Treasure Hunter


Special Jury Award (Documentary):   The Overnighters

Special Jury Award for Use of Animation (Documentary): Watchers of the Sky

World Cinema Grand Jury Prize (Dramatic): To Kill a Man

World Cinema Grand Jury Prize (Documentary):   Return to Homs

World Cinema Audience Award (Dramatic):   Difret

World Cinema Audience Award (Documentary): The Green Prince


Best of Next Audience Award:   Imperial Dreams


World Cinema Directing Award (Dramatic): Sophie Hyde, 52 Tuesdays

World Cinema Directing Award (Documentary): Iain Forsyth and Jane Pollard, 20,000 Days on Earth

World Cinema Screenwriting Award: Eskil Vogt, Blind


World Cinema Cinematography Award (Dramatic): Ula Pontikos, Lilting

World Cinema Special Jury Prize (Dramatic):   God Help the Girl

World Cinema Editing Award (Documentary): Jonathan Amos,  20,000 Days on Earth

World Cinema Cinematography Award (Documentary): Thomas Balmes and Nina Bernfeld, Happiness

World Cinema Special Jury Award (Documentary): We Come as Friends

Alfred P. Sloan Feature Film Prize: Mike Cahill, I Origins


Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000


Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.