GR+ Live: Fighting Street walkthrough celebrates 29 years of Street Fighter 1

Street Fighter 5 characters keep trickling out. People are still celebrating Street Fighter 2's 25th anniversary. Even a brand new Street Fighter 2: The Animated Movie Blu-ray is on the horizon. In this year of Street Fighter, though, let us not forget another important birthday: this week, Street Fighter 1 turned 29 years old. To celebrate, we're looking back at the series' very first home release: Fighting Street for the Turbo Grafx CD. After our Street Fighter walkthrough, we dig into the truly bizarre Street Fighter 2: Championship Edition PC Engine port.

Dig the show? We broadcast live on Twitch at 1:30PM PT/4:30PM ET/9:30PM GMT.


I've been playing games since I turned four in 1986, been writing about them since 1987, and writing about them professionally since 2008. My wife and I live in New York City. Chrono Trigger is my favorite game ever made, Hum's Downward is Heavenward is my favorite album, and I regularly find myself singing "You Won't See Me" by The Beatles in awkward situations.
We recommend