Google+

Star Wars: The Old Republic review

Back to Article

41 comments

  • TheZigMan - January 9, 2012 9:59 p.m.

    Good review. To any readers..if you really want a solid PVP experience, just play EVE. No other game has better PVP combat than EVE. The PVE isn't great but the game itself is probably the best MMO on the market
  • minimaxi - January 9, 2012 9:21 p.m.

    on the fence but overall pretty interested. will wait for the technical aspects to mature, like long server queues, or, god forbid, glitchy billing (I'm being paranoid). but Diablo 3 would make me forget about all MMOs anyway, so if there is no trial in the future I think I'll never play it :P
  • D0CCON - January 9, 2012 8:47 p.m.

    I normally dislike MMO's, but this game's emphasis on story intrigues me and the fact that you will be in solitude a lot helps too. I may have to look into this, but I still don't think I can get past subscription fees just to play 1 game.
  • ObliqueZombie - January 9, 2012 8:40 p.m.

    Okay, first off: DIDN'T READ IT YET. Yet. I gotta get my ass to bed for classes tomorrow. Secondly, fantastic and well thought-out review, Cooper. I read all the review diaries you posted, and I could tell you loved it. It's sad to see that people STILL gripe over high score, and though personally I'd give SWTOR a higher initial score (though I'm a lower level, I've been playing inarguable one of the best games in existence: Arkham City), nothing was left out in this thorough four-page review. I can't wait to delve into every bit of input you had to say. Incredibly professional, Cooper, and I do hope the number gets bumped up when they polish a lot of things. Personally, I've never been in an MMO launch so smooth and relatively cue-less, before.
  • Octaviux - January 9, 2012 8:24 p.m.

    "For those who skipped straight to the end" Caught Meh!!!
  • comaqi - January 9, 2012 8:09 p.m.

    Looks amazing Coop! I'm definitely going to read this!!!!!
  • ihopethisisnotantistasblood - January 9, 2012 7:45 p.m.

    OMG it's a living thing!! kill it!!!!!
  • xerroz - January 9, 2012 7:26 p.m.

    An 8? Gamesradar is trolling. This game is at least a 9.5.
  • ObliqueZombie - January 9, 2012 8:32 p.m.

    I guess you misunderstand that 8's are "better than average," and that it's really, really, good. And it's subject to change, if you'd read at least ONE word.
  • farsided - January 9, 2012 8:40 p.m.

    Might I refer you to this? http://www.gamesradar.com/gamesradar-anti-awards-2011/?page=2 Scroll down to the part about "fanboys totally losing it". And being someone who played it and stopped both due to the fact that the UI was migraine inducing, and that it felt like nothing more than a wow clone: as the biggest budget game of all time, it should have been a lot better.
  • minimaxi - January 9, 2012 9:13 p.m.

    again with the '8 is meh' conundrum.
  • playswithsquirrels - January 10, 2012 11:16 a.m.

    hmmm... with no avatar, I'm gonna go out on a limb here and say you made this account just to complain about an 8. 8 is great. You're the troll, sir.
  • BladedFalcon - January 9, 2012 7:23 p.m.

    Despite having no plans whatsoever to play this game. I felt compelled to read the review, and it was a pretty good read. Sounds like you did a very great and thorough job cooper ^^ (And it shows, with all the other extra content he released.) Also, i gotta say... being so story focused, and obviously more polished in the less populated sections... This might have ended up being a better single player RPG than an MMO, just saying >>
  • shawksta - January 9, 2012 6:41 p.m.

    Couldnt have a more trustworthy review,especially since you put ALLOT of time on the game. Awesome job cooper!
  • GR HollanderCooper - January 10, 2012 6:04 p.m.

    Thank you!
  • Cyberninja - January 9, 2012 6:35 p.m.

    sounds fun maybe when i upgrade my computer
  • ItBurnsWhenIWii - January 9, 2012 6:13 p.m.

    Hey Cooper great review! I really want to play this but I was wondering how good should my PC be to run it? My computer is old as hell and ran the first Portal game chuggy as shit but it does run downloadable games fine. Is there a super low setting that I may be able to run this game in so that I can enjoy the story?
  • GamesRadarMatthewKeast - January 10, 2012 10:17 a.m.

    If your PC can barely run Portal then no, it probably can't handle TOR. Look for a free trial first so you can test it out.
  • Rubberducky - January 9, 2012 5:53 p.m.

    An 8?? Thats like a turd in a box, why should I buy a turd in a box Coop?? Actually it sounds interesting, still waiting on the free trial though so maybe one day.
  • profile0000 - January 9, 2012 5:38 p.m.

    Four pages? Well done, Coop. You put a hell of a lot of effort into this review, and it really shows. Excellent read, I gotta say. I really want to play The Old Republic, as KOTOR is one of my favorite games of all time, but I can't justify paying for an MMO. Perhaps later in the year.

Showing 21-40 of 41 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Dec 20 2012 - PC (US)
Available Platforms: PC
Genre: Role Playing
Published by: LucasArts and BioWare
Developed by: LucasArts and BioWare
Franchise: Star Wars
ESRB Rating:
Teen: Blood and Gore, Sexual Themes, Violence, Mild Language