Google+

Sonic Generations review

AT A GLANCE
  • Best Sonic game since Sonic 2
  • Frequently spectacular and thrilling
  • A speed-runner's dream
  • Low-speed 3D control is still bad
  • Filler mission quality varies massively
  • Classic Sonic won't be returning (sniff)

Get get get get get over it

Sonic fans are the hardest bunch to please in all of gaming. If Generations still makes you sad, despite the speed, spectacle, beauty and fan-service, I suggest forgetting all about 3D Sonic games and sticking to the 16-bit originals. As we revealed (and I couldn't tell you at preview stage), the original Sonic The Hedgehog is in the game, unlockable after about an hour's play if you save up your points for a Mega Drive controller. You don't get anything for completing it, but it's still a great game.

Above: You can't lose the borders. But you can play in 1:1 pixel ratio by hitting L1. It's tiny

But when you put the past to one side and look at the new game in isolation, there are essentially two games on show here - and I don't mean the classic/modern divide. The first is the one that stumbles on the things that Mario does so well. The attractive yet haphazard experience ridden with missed platforms, unexpected deaths and awkward low-speed movement in 3D space.

Then there's the other game. The one that's cruising by on the grind rail above it all, pulling tricks through bonus hoops with stars in its wake, locking onto secret ziplines and waiting for the split second where Sonic completes an aerial somersault to face the next platform before boosting away for another S grade. The one that's everything fans have wanted for so long. You can guess which one I've been playing.

Above: Look, it's Show-off the Hedgehog! Pushing L+R in the air pulls the Sonic Adventure pose

The finesse and subtlety of the moveset reward practice and close attention. So once you're past clumsily tripping up on low-speed hazards (which won't take long), the game flows like water.

Nobody likes padding

Sonic Team once complained that the action stages take too long to develop because all that painstakingly-rendered scenery flashes by in seconds. That's why the Werehog was put into Sonic Unleashed – to slow it down and pad it out. Well, looking back through my save file, totting up my times for finishing the main levels (excluding challenges and even boss fights), there's over 80 minutes of non-repeating, 'premium' gameplay in here. That's longer than any of the old games take to finish and it's 50 times more spectacular. Not to mention I've been caning the game for a couple of weeks now and I'm still not bored with any of the main stages.

Above: You won't find a more thorough review of Sonic Generations anywhere. Fact

To be honest, if the main stages were all the game had to offer, I'd be happier with it. But the game has literally talked itself out of a '9' from me, as the side challenges rely too heavily on the weakest aspects of the game. You could ask 'how can extra content bring the score down?', but there are hours and hours of these things – some of which are compulsory. And when you have to play them to unlock the best skills, you can't just pretend they're not there. They are there, and they're 7/10 stuff. Still addictive and entertaining (and incredibly challenging if you insist on getting an S grade in every one), but mechanically dubious.

If Sonic Team had just spent their time on tightening up the low-speed control in the main levels rather than churning out some 90 levels of 'filler' content, this would be magnificent. As it is, it's 'merely' the best Sonic game since Sonic 2. That means it's better than Sonic 3, and therefore damn essential for anyone with even the slightest interest in the hog.

Is it better than…

Sonic the Hedgehog 4: Episode 1? Yes. OK, so the scores are the wrong way around, I know that, but I still maintain that Sonic 4 is exceptional value for money and deserved its 9 at the time. It's also more direct in what it gives you. That said, Sonic Generations blows it out of the water in every single respect. Better fan service, better graphics, better audio… better everything.
 
 

Super Mario Galaxy 2? No. Super Mario Galaxy 2 is the best 3D platform game ever made and, while Generations rivals it in terms of variety (again, thanks to taking the best bits from 20 years of content), Super Mario Galaxy 2 contains no filler whatsoever, and its post-game Green Star Challenge is far better than Generations' patchy Challenge gates.
 

Sonic's Ultimate Genesis Collection? Yes. Even though the 16-bit retro-fest has just as much nostalgia and contains all three classic original Sonic games, Generations brings the retro love into the modern era with an incredible realisation of the old-school worlds. By all means, play through the originals to get in the mood for the new game, but it's time to accept gaming has moved on.
 

For those who skipped straight to the end

RTFA! Sorry, what I actually mean is: This is easily the best Sonic game since the hog's Sonic 2 glory days. Surprisingly, modern Sonic's levels are the more impressive and fun and, while low-speed control is still clumsy, the wealth of quality action scenes cherry-picked from the past two decades make the overwhelming majority of Sonic Generations an absolute blast.

More Info

Available Platforms: PS3, Xbox 360, 3DS, PC
Franchise: Sonic the Hedgehog

66 comments

  • Darkhawk - January 17, 2012 12:33 p.m.

    howlongtobeat.com has it pegged at 6 hours. Not sure if I'm willing to bite at such little content.
  • Jaces - November 4, 2011 3:21 p.m.

    BUT WHAT ABOUT THE CHAOs?!! THE CHAOs!!!! Last best sonic game was Adventures 2, end of story. Aside from that, great review and I'm stoked to get back into the Sonic universe, getting this for sure.
  • rongunz - November 3, 2011 5:42 a.m.

    to the reviewer, NOTHING touches Sonic 3 & Knuckles. NOTHING. Seeing Super AND Hyper Sonic (as well as Knuckles) was like seeing Super Saiyan 1 and 2 Goku from DBZ -- EPIC. Get Blue Spheres was THE GREATEST way to get emeralds and the elemental shields consisted of awesome. I don't recall Sonic 2 having ANY of those.
  • mothbanquet - November 5, 2011 3:08 a.m.

    Couldn't have said it better myself. Who can forget soaring through space itself in the final, secret Doomsday Zone, always a few rings away from plumetting to the planet below? Simply amazing stuff.
  • GR_JustinTowell - November 11, 2011 6:19 a.m.

    S&K with Sonic 3 *used* to be the game I held up as being the greatest platform game ever made, and I agree that stage is awesome. But I feel time has been kinder to Sonic 2. Its zones are more memorable, it's still super-distilled, compared to Sonic 3 having the elemental shield powers etc... and the Sonic 2 special stage is SUPERIOR to Sonic 3's globe/orb challenge.
  • Dere - November 2, 2011 5:20 p.m.

    I stopped reading when the reviewer implied that Sonic 2 is the best Sonic game ever. Best Sonic game MY ASS. Sonic 3 & Knuckles is superior in EVERY possible aspect, and Sonic 2 the most overrated game in the series, as it doesn't have enough speed for a Sonic game. No, seriously. The only "speedy" Zones in it are EHZ, CPZ and CNZ. That means that only 3 out of its 11 Zones are speedy, with the rest of them being slow and boring as ****. People just can't see this because they're blinded by nostalgia. I loved Sonic 2 when I first played it as a kid, but I can't stand playing it anymore due to the aforementioned fact that most of its stages are dull and slow, and the fact that they take longer to complete than the fast ones makes them feel like they're longer. S3&K > Sonic 2
  • Fruitbat - November 2, 2011 7:57 a.m.

    I just polished off Sonic Colours 100%, and despite its annoyances it's been a blast. Here's hoping for a Sonic Colours 2. Speaking of which, how many of the Wisp powers are present in the Generations version of Planet Wisp? And do they have the magnificent accompanying riffs from the Wii game?
  • GR_JustinTowell - November 2, 2011 3:25 p.m.

    You get the rocket as Modern Sonic and the spikes as Classic, if I remember correctly.
  • Vordhosbn - November 1, 2011 4:11 a.m.

    I would have been surprised if anyone else was chosen to do this review. Been looking forward to it, and the only thing I was hoping for in a new "classic style" game is plenty of challenges and rankings to perfect, filler or not, it's what keeps me putting a game back in the system rather than selling it on completion. Going by this review, it'll definitely be one of the 3 or 4 "awesome" games I get before next year, which means some other AAA title is going to have to be left for the bargain bin days. I just started playing Timesplitters again, so I guess MW3 can wait :P
  • heznave1 - November 1, 2011 4 a.m.

    Great review, Justin! Very thorough indeed.
  • psycho ninja 4 - November 1, 2011 2:03 a.m.

    I'm still debating piking this up but this looks like it actually might be worth it, and i've been waiting for that for years.
  • Phoenix_Gamma - October 31, 2011 6:10 p.m.

    Yea...I'm gonna take the opinion of someone who gave Sonic-the-Less-Inspired-Than-New-Mario-Wii a 9 with a shot of penicillin. I'll wait for this to hit the bargain bin.
  • Thequestion 121 - October 31, 2011 2:35 p.m.

    That was an excellent review :)
  • soranamineforever - October 31, 2011 12:36 p.m.

    I'm rather glad my pre-order didn't go to waste here; I almost talked myself into cancelling it and going with Uncharted. But honestly, 20 years of Sonic in one game is too awesome to resist, especially considering its actually playable. And yes, Do A Barrel Roll indeed.
  • 510BrotherPanda - October 31, 2011 11:59 a.m.

    I don't mean to sound like a cynic, but this review smells a lot like excretions taken from Towell's big blue Sonic suit... Also, Page 2's "movement stats" section read like a piece of Towell's race car game reviews...
  • XanderGC - October 31, 2011 11:58 a.m.

    Fantastic review. This might be a Sonic game worth picking up for me if it wasn't for the fact that when I played the newest demo I breezed through Classic Sonic with ease and I didn't die once, but Modern Sonic was way too unwieldy for my taste and I had far too many unexpected deaths. Oh Classic chubby Sonic how I miss thee.
  • taterboob - October 31, 2011 11:44 a.m.

    Holy crap! The best since Sonic 2? The game that caused me to abandon Nintendo in the 16-bit era? That's pretty high praise. Between the incredibly positive reviews and finally getting around to playing the awesome demo, I'm really hyped for this game. I'm actually kinda looking forward to it more than Uncharted 3 now. What's this? Me excited for a Sonic game? Did I time travel back to 1994?
  • Squander - October 31, 2011 11:25 a.m.

    awesome review, Justin!!! how about trophies and achievements - are they motivating?
  • GR_JustinTowell - October 31, 2011 12:06 p.m.

    The trophy list is pretty standard, rewarding you for bringing colour back to each area etc. But there are about four hidden ones that I didn't find. However, while there is a trophy for getting S grades on all the main levels, there doesn't appear to be any reward whatsoever for S-grading the whole game. I even drew a little map to make sure I had S-graded all 90 gates. Sure enough, I counted 90, but nothing happened. I was hoping for another megaton unlockable like the Green Hill Zone at the end of Sonic Adventure 2. But then... I suppose *everything* is as fan-pleasing as that single level was, so I don't know what else I could have really expected! Aside from Sonic X-Treme. I know it was never going to happen, but I still hoped, just in case :)
  • Squander - October 31, 2011 3:39 p.m.

    wow, thanks Justin for your prompt answer!! mate, u spent quite some time with that game - everything S-graded: amazing :o no reward for that sucks big time. Another megaton...hmm I just imagine playing as modern Sonic the "Green Hill Zone" with a badass version of that trashy "Sonic Boom"-Song (Sonic CD) :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ugrbwst7foI awesome <3 However, as long as no one platined that game there is still hope :) Waiting for my special edition that I ordered at Amazon Germany! Hell yes!

Showing 1-20 of 66 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000